Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 06:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 14:58    Post_subject:  

pedro, BillToo,

Yep, messed it up again. I looked at a couple of the binaries and they where 64bit, so I though all was good. Wrong. Anyway I just re-uploaded them again. I can't run the installer normally because I don't have the hardware. This time I told it to put all the 32bit lib in one file and that did it.

The Nvidia pets have been re-uploaded again.

LateAdopter,

Glad that works, I'll move that pet to the main repo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 683
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 10:50    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Problem with Wine, will not run
 

I am using the Wine1.5.4-i486.sfs and down loaded it from ibiblio. The control panel apply, SYS SFS Loader reports the Wine SFS is loaded. I keep getting file not found when I try to run winecfg or wine. The error message is: No such file or directory. It does not matter whether I use the console, urxvt, and go to /usr/bin. The ls command does show wine and winecfg being there. However, trying to run the files, one gets the error message of not found. The same thing happens in Rox filer. What am I doing wrong.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9160
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 11:04    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Problem with Wine, will not run
 

JustGreg wrote:
What am I doing wrong.

That's a 32-bit app, so you also need the Fatdog 32-bit compatibility pack from here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
picatrix

Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 11:26    Post_subject:  

@kirk
Thanks for the nvidia pet...works great on my hp 8730w laptop!

Great work!

Just an annoying problem:
when ac is disconnectet, the screen is full bright...when I plug the socket screen goes at minimum bright, it's almost impossible to work in normal light condition...

SOLVED: added pci=noapci to the kernel boot parameters!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 683
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 12:06    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Wine Running Problem Solved
 

Thanks, rcrsn51! The 32 bit SFS solved the problem.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 13:00    Post_subject:  

picatrix,

It's best not to disable ACPI since it controls power usage and sometimes cooling. Though disabling it for just the pci bus probably won't do any harm.

The sven keyboard daemon calls a couple scripts to control the screen brightness. Unfortunately this varies a bit between computers. There's three things that can go wrong with this.

1) Sven isn't configured to use the correct keys for your computer.

2) The two scripts that Sven calls (/usr/bin/brightness-up and /usr/bin/brightness-down) could be using the wrong file in /sys

3) The two scripts that Sven calls (brightness-up and brightness-down) could be using too low of a value to increase or decrease the brightness. So it's actually working but it doesn't seem like it because you have to hit the key a hundred times.

So the first thing to do is open a terminal and type:

Code:
# brightness-up


If it changes the screen brightness then it's probably problem 1). If you get an error about file not found , then it's probably problem 2). If it doesn't return an error, but nothing seems to happen, then it's probably problem 3).

The brightness-up script looks like this:

Code:
#!/bin/ash
CURRENT=$(cat /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/actual_brightness)
MAX=$(cat /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/max_brightness)
CURRENT=$(( CURRENT + 1 ))
if [ "$CURRENT" -gt "$MAX" ]; then CURRENT=$MAX; fi


For problem 3) you'll want to change CURRENT + 1 to maybe CURRENT + 100 and try again. For problem 2) you'll need to replace /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/ with the correct path. You'll also need to make the corresponding changes to /usr/bin/brightness-down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
picatrix

Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 14:13    Post_subject:  

kirk,

thank you very much for your kindness and your ability to share your knowledge!

Hopefully the problem was limited at point 1)...I defined brightness-up as Shift+F10 (down as Shift+F9), as Sven keyboard daemon doesn´t recognize the Fn key.

It seems all ok now, it also boots correctly (no hangs) with / without the ac plug in the socket!

All the best
Picatrix
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 15:25    Post_subject:    

Kirk and James,

Thank you for this super distribution, it's the best yet. Very Happy

Regards,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 22:22    Post_subject:  

so far - as above - super good - many thanks
_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2340
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 20 Apr 2013, 01:27    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Wine Running Problem Solved
 

JustGreg wrote:
Thanks, rcrsn51! The 32 bit SFS solved the problem.


Had the same issue but

ftp://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/metalab/distributions/fatdog/sfs/600/32bit-slacko-1.sfs

does not connect just hangs

Code:
Logging in as anonymous ...
Error in server response, closing control connection.
Retrying.

--2013-04-20 00:30:59--  ftp://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/metalab/distributions/fatdog/sfs
/600/32bit-slacko-1.sfs
  (try: 6) => `32bit-slacko-1.sfs'
Connecting to ftp.nluug.nl|192.87.102.43|:21... connected.
Logging in as anonymous ...
Error in server response, closing control connection.
Retrying.

--2013-04-20 00:31:20--  ftp://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/metalab/distributions/fatdog/sfs
/600/32bit-slacko-1.sfs
  (try: 7) => `32bit-slacko-1.sfs'
Connecting to ftp.nluug.nl|192.87.102.43|:21... connected.
Logging in as anonymous ...
Error in server response, closing control connection.
Retrying.

--2013-04-20 00:31:41--  ftp://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/metalab/distributions/fatdog/sfs
/600/32bit-slacko-1.sfs
  (try: 8) => `32bit-slacko-1.sfs'
Connecting to ftp.nluug.nl|192.87.102.43|:21... connected.


does it exist anywhere else?

FOUND:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/sfs/600/32bit-slacko-1.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 683
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Apr 2013, 20:05    Post_subject:  

Ted Dog, I used the SFS Manager applet to down load the 32 bit SFS. I used the ibiblio site here in the USA. I will warn you it is slow. It does take some time, but, I have always gotten what I needed. The data rate is about 70 K.

I hope this helps.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1282

PostPosted: Sat 20 Apr 2013, 21:26    Post_subject:  

Posting now from a test machine with embedded nVidia graphics. (Asus M2N68-VM) Came up automatically w/o any problem -- except that it chose a resolution my SGI monitor can handle, but my eyes cannot. I was able to adjust this by getting up real close.

Question: do we really want to default to vertical resolutions beyond 1080 lines? No argument about supporting 4K resolutions, just wondering if you will always be able to see them to adjust.

Added: Just learned that another person following Fatdog development wants Gimp 2.8, (note: I'm happy with a stable 2.6). Not asking you to do this, just wondering how hard it is to put together Gimp 2.8 plus the associated help files for someone who has a quad core processor with plenty of RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 20 Apr 2013, 21:45    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Question: do we really want to default to vertical resolutions beyond 1080 lines? No argument about supporting 4K resolutions, just wondering if you will always be able to see them to adjust.


That's handled by Xorg, though we do set the font size at 78dpi. You can change that in the Control Panel - Desktop - Set global font size. Then you have to restart X. Of course that won't change the size of the icons. You could also edit $HOME/.Xresources and delete the line "Xft.dpi: 78", then Xorg will set the font size for you based on information from your monitor. We decided to go with 78dpi, because Xorg set the font too big for our taste, but with very high res monitors becoming more common we might need to revisit that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2340
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 21 Apr 2013, 02:43    Post_subject:  

JustGreg wrote:
Ted Dog, I used the SFS Manager applet to down load the 32 bit SFS. I used the ibiblio site here in the USA. I will warn you it is slow. It does take some time, but, I have always gotten what I needed. The data rate is about 70 K.

I hope this helps.


It does, did not know there was a SFS Manager .... I still learning the differences between this spin and regular puppylinux.

As a question does multisession DVDs HAVE to be RW with Fatdog64. The main purpose I use multisession is so I CAN'T accidentally delete stuff. Case in point I've spent multiple hours/Months scanning in material from a governmental agency that I can't physically take from the site. The files are very large and I need to keep raw and resized scans from destruction.

forced into using RW ONLY is a step back.

Or did I break code by using a bluray RW disc as an oversized DVD RW.

Normal code in puppylinux and the stuff I code for is compatible across all types of DVD and Bluray, -R +R, or RW.

I got no results when I hit the save-multisession and the disc is locked into drive, which defeats being able to use the drive for other purposes.

I did notice a quick msg as the computer was rebooting that the save failed and the directory list with the msg did not look like a typical save-file string that I see with puppylinux.

Why is multisession so different?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2340
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 21 Apr 2013, 05:48    Post_subject:  

error captured running dvd savesession while live.There is a mount locked problem.

Code:
find: `/aufs/pup_save/archive': No such file or directory
umount: /aufs/devbase: device is busy.
        (In some cases useful info about processes that use
         the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))
umount: /aufs/devbase: device is busy.
        (In some cases useful info about processes that use
         the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))
Setting input-charset to 'ISO-8859-1' from locale.
ISO-9660 image includes checksum signature for correct inode numbers.
SUSP signatures version 1 found
Rock Ridge signatures version 1 found
Rock Ridge id 'RRIP_1991A'
Using MULTI_FD64SAVE_2013_04_2000.SFS;1 for  /multi-fd64save-2013-04-21T04-41+0000-save.sfs (multi-fd64save-2013-04-21T04-41+0000-base.sfs)
Total translation table size: 0
Total rockridge attributes bytes: 41795
Total directory bytes: 71680
Path table size(bytes): 172
Max brk space used 45000
311 extents written (0 MB)
umount: /aufs/devbase: device is busy.
        (In some cases useful info about processes that use
         the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))
:-( /dev/sr0: unable to proceed with recording: unable to unmount


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1114s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0189s) ][ GZIP on ]