Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 21:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Unable to create a directory with mkdir
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3972
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 09:25    Post_subject:  

By then you may wanna run badblocks:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Badblocks

http://linuxpoison.blogspot.com/2008/01/howto-check-disk-drive-for-errors-and.html

http://go2linux.garron.me/linux/2010/11/badblocks-linux-how-check-disks-bad-blocks-842
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stelvio03

Joined: 08 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 02:39    Post_subject:  

Yesterday evening I made some tests.
Here are the results:
1. the DU command works perfectly.
2. No bad blocks on the HDD
3. I moved the frugal installation directory to three different partitions (2 NTFS and 1 FAT32) trying the mkdir /var/empty command, but the result was always the same "aufs au_lkup_dentry:273:mkdir[5375]: I/O Error, both of real entry and whiteout found, empty, err -5".
4. If I run the same slacko "installation" from a FAT32 usbkey there's no error
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3972
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 06:15    Post_subject:  

For s&g's.. which brand of stick is it? Perhaps it's Pups layering system? Hmm..

If your first choice is to run Slacko from the hd, make your save file an ext3.

And make sure the Win drive's defragged before creation..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stelvio03

Joined: 08 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 09:07    Post_subject:  

Semme wrote:
For s&g's.. which brand of stick is it? Perhaps it's Pups layering system? Hmm..

If your first choice is to run Slacko from the hd, make your save file an ext3.

And make sure the Win drive's defragged before creation..

Tonight I'll try.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 12:26    Post_subject:  

Honestly I would not have any more ideas.
Semme is right to point to the very rare possibility of not enough free space in the pup-save-file with the du command .
I have one failing flashdrive until now , so badblocks might be a possibility , too .
Busybox commads are better than their reputation most of the times (losetup could be written not to depend on devices mentioned in /proc/partitions or before 1.20 acpid was occassionally looping using 100% CPU on one core) .

Code:
type -a mkdir

sh-3.00# type -a mkdir
mkdir is /bin/mkdir
sh-3.00# file /bin/mkdir
/bin/mkdir: symbolic link to `busybox'


is a possibility to check for commands in different locations , though i doubt that coreutils mkdir would handle this issue different .

Hmmm .. dunno, since Puppy usually is root : Maybe aufs handles permission things different with "IO error" instead of "permission denied" .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
stelvio03

Joined: 08 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 18:22    Post_subject:  

stelvio03 wrote:
Semme wrote:
For s&g's.. which brand of stick is it? Perhaps it's Pups layering system? Hmm..

If your first choice is to run Slacko from the hd, make your save file an ext3.

And make sure the Win drive's defragged before creation..

Tonight I'll try.

Thank you

I tried, but without success.
I tried mkdir /tmp/empty and it works perfectly.

Feel free to suggest me every possibile, but sensible, test I can run on the hdd frugal installation.

Thank you

Andrea
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3972
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 18:33    Post_subject:  

Your response is misleading. Ext3 without success?

Make dir works? Under what conditions?
Quote:
I tried, but without success. I tried mkdir /tmp/empty and it works perfectly.

==

Which program created the partitions here:
Quote:
2 NTFS and 1 FAT32
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stelvio03

Joined: 08 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 18:50    Post_subject:  

Semme wrote:
Your response is misleading. Ext3 without success?

Make dir works? Under what conditions?
Quote:
I tried, but without success. I tried mkdir /tmp/empty and it works perfectly.

==

Which program created the partitions here:
Quote:
2 NTFS and 1 FAT32

Sorry for the misleading answer.
1. Ext3 didn't solve the problem.
2. mkdir /tmp/empty worked under the same conditions mkdir /var/empty .
3. I think it was done a lot of time ago with windows disk management tool
4. I have a doubt: after I created the ext3 savefile, I copied all the content from the old ext2 savefile to the new ext3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3972
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2013, 08:44    Post_subject:  

I don't know Pup intimately enough to say whether your issue's Pups layering system or the kernel itself.

Perhaps you need some kind of patch.. something Rerwin was getting at? I don't have an explanation.

Were you hinting at something here? Those badblocks links I left should cover the bases..
Quote:
Feel free to suggest me every possibile, but sensible, test I can run..

Furthermore, you'll wanna run any of those from a *live* boot: puppy pfix=ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stelvio03

Joined: 08 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 03:12    Post_subject:  

I solved the problem.
I created a new savefile (ext2), increased the size, and then I copied the content of the old savefile to the new one, except the /var directory.
It works without any problem.
Is there an automated way to copy data from a savefile to another ?
I noticed that when I shutdown the system, there some error regarding (loop) ext2 sync ....
I couldn't read, because they are displayed very fast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 11:52    Post_subject:  

I believe the dirname /var/empty/ may be locked or reserved in some way.

You should check if you can make a directory in /var/ with another name.

I actually have an empty /var/empty/ dir in my LupuPlus_528, and looking at the date of creation, it is identical with some other version build dates back in 2010.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0734s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]