Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 01:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Puppy won't see my Sansa mp3 player (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 23:54    Post_subject:  Puppy won't see my Sansa mp3 player (Solved)  

Hello,

Running Puppy 420 Turbo, I plugged my Sansa MP3 player into a USB, but nothing happened and the MP3 player was not listed under drives. What should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11182
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 01:50    Post_subject:  

I bought a Sansa Clip Zip mp3 player and discovered that Puppy can't see it. For some reason, probably stupidity, it has been designed so that only Windows can see it. Worse, there is no way to force Windows to load the files in an audio book so they play in the correct order. Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 09:37    Post_subject:  

Your Sansa is probably in "MTP" mode, in which case it behaves quite differently than a conventional USB storage device.
If so, you need Gnomad2 -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21961
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1041
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 09:40    Post_subject:  

http://forums.sandisk.com/t5/Sansa-Clip-Zip/Sansa-Clip-Zip-Firmware-01-01-18/td-p/254122

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWGIaMBDQ2s

Quote:
Mac and Linux users can connect their Clip Zip in MSC or Auto Detect mode and follow the instructions below.

MSC mode instructions:

Turn on the Clip Zip
Navigate to Settings on the menu of the device
Scroll down to System Settings
Scroll Down to USB Mode
Select MSC
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11182
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 10:30    Post_subject:  

Thanks, I'll try that. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1041
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 11:41    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
I bought a Sansa Clip Zip mp3 player and discovered that Puppy can't see it. For some reason, probably stupidity, it has been designed so that only Windows can see it. Worse, there is no way to force Windows to load the files in an audio book so they play in the correct order. Evil or Very Mad

Let me know if you still have a problem with playing in correct order. I have a bash script I use to load files on my Sansa clip sequentially. This was required by one of my previous players and I have continued to use it. (If it ain't broke)

Cheers, J
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11182
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 16:11    Post_subject:  

Thanks, jrb. I've found that rsync -av does the job perfectly and is super fast as well. But Puppy has to see the stupid mp3 player in order for rsync (or bash) to do its work. Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 22:49    Post_subject:  

Changed MTP mode, and it worked. Thanks!

I haven't tried to load anything onto it yet. But I did check to make sure that it mounts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11182
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 23:43    Post_subject:  

Same here. In Settings -> System settings -> USB mode I found Auto detect was set by default. I changed that to MSC and now Puppy sees the Sansa player and mounts it. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 23:49    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
Same here. In Settings -> System settings -> USB mode I found Auto detect was set by default. I changed that to MSC and now Puppy sees the Sansa player and mounts it. Very Happy


LOL. I'm tickled with Puppy. My antique does everything that I need it to do now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 16:01    Post_subject:  

Are any of you using Rockbox on your Sansa? What do you think of it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
anewuser

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 01:53    Post_subject:  

circularL7 wrote:
Are any of you using Rockbox on your Sansa? What do you think of it?


Sansa c240 with 2gb of internal memory and 8gb of SD memory. Way better firmware than the original lol (cue sheet support, ogg playback, module formats and chipmusic). Games, emulators and other plugins I'm not interested inl. Eventual crashes unexpectedly, the player would just turn off even if on party mode but that's been a thing of the 3.11 upgrade. Before it, it never happened. Hadn't upgraded to 3.12.

Despite the crashes, I'd still (and I will still) continue to use permanently the rockbox firmware. Planning to upgrade my refurbished c240 and get an android system, which is where rockbox is focusing efforts towards lately.

OT, but meh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 11:43    Post_subject:  

I can live with occasional crashes for all the extra features. I got it working yesterday (no easy feat with the computer that I used) and am quite happy with so many options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11182
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 15:49    Post_subject:  

CircularL7, you owe us an explanation of what you did to get Rockbox working on your computer. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
circularL7

Joined: 02 Feb 2013
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 14:24    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
CircularL7, you owe us an explanation of what you did to get Rockbox working on your computer. Wink


LOL; funny you should ask because it was nearly painful, and I thought that it was my inexperience causing the problem. To the best of my recollection, it went like this:

Running Wary 5.5 on an IBM R30 with a 900M Celeron processor and 128M of RAM, I created the directory that Rockbox advises (rbinstall, iirc). I put the rb utility, main rb file, rb pdf, and a sansa update in that directory. I couldn't get the rb utility to run, so I tried to do a manual install, but that wouldn't do anything either. The unzip program claimed that the files had been extracted, but nothing happened. I believe that I either unzipped the utility to the sansa or I unzipped just one of the utility files; whichever one I did, it went on its own from there.

(Edit)Slight correction: because I had recently ran the sansa updater, I tried to get away without the update. The utility stopped and required that I include an update file. I think I might have saved the update to the sansa.(End edit.)

I think that is what happened. It's tough to remember because, by the time that the installer ran, I was just hitting keys indifferently because I had nearly given up. (I was also dealing with a mouse problem.)

So, the utility runs, and it stopped rather abruptly. I don't recall a box stating that the download was complete or stating follow up directions. My recollection is that I was just confused. But, I like to experiment, so I just unplugged it and I might have cycled the power. When I disconnected it (or when the power came back on) it started writing. A few minutes later, Rockbox was running.

To jog my memory, if you like, post a screen shot of your trouble spot (I'm guessing that it's the same as mine.), and I'll tell you whatever I can remember.


On the topic of Rockbox: wow. It's a bit unwieldy at first because there's so many menus and menu options, but I read much of, and skimmed the rest of, the pdf guide, which is over 200 pages, and it's amazing. It's just beautiful. That's all I can say. It's absolutely beautiful.

This program is to MP3 players what Puppy is to computers for me. It is a tool that changes this world from one in which I must conform to the machines to a world in which the machines conform to me.

It's awe inspiring.

Another edit: it never worked on my machine. The installer ran on it but only to install the program in the player. Puppy sees the player, and Rox shows all the files as if it were any drive. I just copy files to the appropriate directory with Rox or a console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0801s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]