Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 19:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 44 of 99 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Author Message
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 04:36    Post_subject:  

Hi elroy,

I checked the last Carolina 006_rc, it seems a good step ahead Smile

I have seen some strange behavior and maybe they are bugs:
- It's not enough to click on the X at the top right corner of Seamonkey to close it, because in this way it remains active with an icon on the left low corner on panel.
To really stop it needs to select quit on its menu (or the same shortcut on keys, of course).
I don't have the same feel as Sage for Opera, personally I prefer Firefox interface... I see the reason to put Seamonkey instead, but in my opinion it's not so responsive even if it should be similar.
- The resolution change is good and it seems better than the previous, now I found immediately the right one for my needs and it correctly fit the screen, with noveau. But, if I try to change it again, accepting to start xorg wizard the system hangs up.
- Now there isn't the main menu by clicking on any position on screen.
- I still think that it could be better to have a "waiting signal" because there are programs taking some seconds to start.

Just a little last note.
I asked You about the "auto-update" of Firefox... having a look in Preferences-Advanced-Updates, I have seen that the default option is set on automatic, so I think it has been the problem I told You. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 549
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 05:56    Post_subject:  

inoxidabile wrote:

- It's not enough to click on the X at the top right corner of Seamonkey to close it, because in this way it remains active with an icon on the left low corner on panel.
To really stop it needs to select quit on its menu (or the same shortcut on keys, of course).


Got to Tools>Add-ons Manager and disable or remove FireTray, restart browser. This will allow closing Seamonkey normally.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 04:07    Post_subject:  

Thank You rg66 for the note about Seamonkey Smile

About the clicking for menu, I solved by myself (changing the mouse... Embarassed), but I can confirm the other two points:
- The system becomes completely stopped the second time I run the xorg wizard. There are no way to resume it and I have to switch off Sad
- There are some programs and processes requiring some seconds to start. It isn't a problem in itself but in my opinion it isn't good when you click and nothing happens on screen, so maybe it could be better to have any "waiting signal" (like running clock or whatsoever). Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 01:03    Post_subject:  

hello:
I am facing an issue. When ever I want to access a memory stick of my Cell phone as USB Drive, carolina detects it as USB 3G Modem. I checked on different flavors of Puppy Linux. Works only on Lucid 528 (I can access the folders and files of memory stick like a normal USB drive) , but mostly saluki/ carolina and slako detects it as USB 3G Modem. Can anyone have an idea how to force carolina to access the memory card of my cell phone?
Thnx in advance.
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 06:09    Post_subject:  

Hi umair,

It's strange this different behavior and I have to say that I haven't any sure trick to suggest... I'm not skilled enough !
Never the less, in my opinion it could be interesting to check how the system recognize the usb.
The only things I have in mind are:
- to have a look using gparted, and
- to see the result of command lsusb in terminal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shelezyaka


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 37
Location: Ukrainian

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 16:36    Post_subject:  

umair wrote:

When ever I want to access a memory stick of my Cell phone as USB Drive, carolina detects it as USB 3G Modem.

Usually when the phone menu appears with the question - how it wants to use. In a modem or card. In some phones, this switching occurs in the phone settings.
This is it automatically switches to the modem usb_modeswitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 20:01    Post_subject:  

umair wrote:
hello:
I am facing an issue. When ever I want to access a memory stick of my Cell phone as USB Drive, carolina detects it as USB 3G Modem. I checked on different flavors of Puppy Linux. Works only on Lucid 528 (I can access the folders and files of memory stick like a normal USB drive) , but mostly saluki/ carolina and slako detects it as USB 3G Modem. Can anyone have an idea how to force carolina to access the memory card of my cell phone?
Thnx in advance.
UMAIR


I can access my smart-phone (android) as a camera. I can also access the folders by installing an ftp app to the cell-phone, and then accessing it via FireFtp. Either way, there's so much new hardware out there in terms of cell-phones, that it'd be nearly impossible to address each case individually. If you find a solution, be sure to post it; it may be relevant to another user looking to do the same...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 20:06    Post_subject: testing...  

I've uploaded another test delta based off of the 006-rc version. Barring any major bugs that may be discovered, this will more than likely be the template for the release version of Carolina.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 20:19    Post_subject:  

Sage wrote:
Only just noticed your return, el - thought we'd lost Carolina. Great news.

Quote:
replaced Firefox/Thunderbird with Seamonkey

Not so good. Setting aside my own prejudice against SM, you'll have noticed a lot of problems with it recently, along with adverse comments about FF and other Mozilla antics. Micko found one issue with Opera recently, but it's still the fastest, most reliable, and probably smallest. The Norwegian developers are exceptionally responsive to suggestions and assistance, so it's still the best bet, even though BK doesn't use it. All the other browsers have issues, too! Except Dillo?!


Dillo isn't satisfactory for a modern distro...certainly usefull as an html viewer, but not as the default browser...it lacks too much functionality.. Nor is Midori...too many bugs. However, I agree with you in terms of Opera. That said, Seamonkey is a soft landing from the FF that was used in previous versions of Carolina. Also, it takes care of two birds with one stone...namely, the email client. But I'm with you concerning Opera; I think it is underrated. But for Carolina, Seamonkey is the solution to the upgrading woes....however, future versions of Carolina may vary. We reserve the right to change the default browser as we feel necessary..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 23:41    Post_subject:  

@ shelezyaka : when I connect my cell phone through a cable using usb port. the cell phone gave me an option to choose as USB or COMport. I obviously choose as USB.
@ Elroy: I m searching on the web, when ever I solved to do that I will post here.
Thanx & Regards
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 02:15    Post_subject:  

Greetings, el.
Quote:
Dillo isn't satisfactory for a modern distro
Good gracious, not recommending Dillo as a permanent fixture. Means to an end for folks to find and install their preferred apps., ie an adjunct to PPM to enable basic browsing. Someone is reporting the latest Links as a similar interim option. Apparently Links has major strides in development; did I see a graphics version or is those old spots before the eyes?!
Whatever, the Moz. Foundation isn't what it used to be - bloat, crashes, freezing, etc seem to crop up daily in complaints. This morning's radio highlighting the data-mining excesses of Google/Android and Facebook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 17:30    Post_subject: rc 6 issues  

I downloaded rc 6 and checked the md5. All was well.

Frugal install to compaq presario R4000 with adrive, zdrive,
puppy_lina_006.sfs, inird.gz and vmlinuz.

When Booting up I got a message that the main file puppy_lina_006.sfs,
failed to load: invalid argument. However, Carolina does continue to boot
to the desktop.

Stuff appears to be missing from the menu like Office and Internet.
I was able to get online with no problem!.
I downloaded firefox 16 and told it not to update.

I recopied the main file puppy_lina_006.sfs and rebooted.
Still got same message as before.

Tried it with a new savefile still the same message.

What should I do now?


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1433
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 21:45    Post_subject: Re: rc 6 issues  

Pete22 wrote:
I downloaded rc 6 and checked the md5. All was well.

Frugal install to compaq presario R4000 with adrive, zdrive,
puppy_lina_006.sfs, inird.gz and vmlinuz.

When Booting up I got a message that the main file puppy_lina_006.sfs,
failed to load: invalid argument. However, Carolina does continue to boot
to the desktop.

Stuff appears to be missing from the menu like Office and Internet.
I was able to get online with no problem!.
I downloaded firefox 16 and told it not to update.

I recopied the main file puppy_lina_006.sfs and rebooted.
Still got same message as before.

Tried it with a new savefile still the same message.

What should I do now?


Pete


That's strange Pete, if the md5 is correct then it must be ok, the copy I have the md5 is
Code:
986b4f9d8aa8dd81ee99ce4743b02ed7  lina-006-rc.iso
though I did create a new ISO with the latest delta that is HERE which I'm testing at the moment, this version doesn't have any of the problems you mention.
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 350
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 23:56    Post_subject: intel 5300AGN firmware location  

Hi Geoffrey and Elroy,

Firstboot of 006rc (sans adrive) on a fujitsu s6520 lifebook. Gma4500 video, core 2 duo, true synaptics touchpad, 2 Gb DDR3 mem, SATA SSD, frugal Grub4dos install. Everything seems ok ootb except wireless. The intel 5300AGN wireless uses iwlwifi, which is present but mislocated.

The firmware ucode is at: /lib/modules/all-firmware/iwlwifi/lib/firmware
It should be at: /lib/modules/all-firmware/iwlwifi/lib/firmware/iwlwifi

Moving it (adding the missing iwlwifi directory) brought up the 5300AGN wireless straightaway.

Posting from it now using my opera that lives in the commons (boot partition).

Guess I'm on Carolina_006rc Lite Cool

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Apr 2013, 01:25    Post_subject:  Re: rc 6 issues  

Geoffrey wrote:


That's strange Pete, if the md5 is correct then it must be ok, the copy I have the md5 is
Code:
986b4f9d8aa8dd81ee99ce4743b02ed7  lina-006-rc.iso
though I did create a new ISO with the latest delta that is HERE which I'm testing at the moment, this version doesn't have any of the problems you mention.


Geoffrey:

Your new file did the trick. Thank you very much. Very Happy


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 44 of 99 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1232s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0294s) ][ GZIP on ]