Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 19:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 17 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 909
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 20:54    Post_subject: Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Sub_title: Where to find non-beta Frisbee Pet for Puppy 431?
 

Thank you, Richard.

Can you tell me where I find a non-beta Frisbee .pet that I can try on Puppy 431?


Sky
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 23:18    Post_subject:  

Sky,
I have not yet back-ported frisbee-1.0 to any older puppy but, as I said, I hope to at some point -- lucid pup 528 first, then 4.3.1 if it can be done. Before that, though, I am reworking the network_tray program associated with frisbee, so that I back-port only the final versions of the components. All other Frisbees are betas.

It should be worth the wait, though. You can try out frisbee-1.0 on wary, precise or slacko 5.5, by installing the "kit" I just updated.

BTW, are you aware of my "Upgrade Center" for 4.3.1? Although I have not updated it for 1-1/2 years, there may be items there of interest to you.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=483889&search_id=877517341#483889
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 909
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 13:08    Post_subject: Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Sub_title: Report on Lucid-Puppy-520 and Frisbee Beta 2
 

Here is another report with another machine and OS.

Frisbee Beta 2 is working with no issues within this configuration:

Machine:

Toshiba Satellite M55-s135
765(?) mg RAM
No HDD
Live CD
Flash Drive 8 gb
(setup as ext. 2 and 1.5gb of swap)

Puppy:
Puppy-520

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 12:29    Post_subject:  

Hi Richard,
I tried 0331 in Precise 5.5 and works fine but feels considerably slower from older versions. Particularly from "Requesting IP" till "established".
Is this by design?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 12:51    Post_subject:  

mavrothal,
Thanks for your report. Not by design nor intent, but possibly related to the activation of the dhcpcd dropwait feature. That is the major change from 0325. The other change should be innocuous, because it merely separates the notification dhcpcd hooks into two files but using the same logic as in the combined file. No delays (sleeps) were added.

To check whether dropwait is involved, please try changing the delay value from the default 15 seconds, to zero seconds, in the Diagnostics window. You could also try increasing the value significantly, to see if the slowness worsens.

EDIT: I tried both 0 seconds and 30 seconds. Either way, my eth0 took about 14 seconds from RELEASE to BOUND (no IP address to getting new address). And the version of dhcpcd in the kit is the same as that in precise pup, dated February, 2013. With wlan0 and eth0 active, but with wlan0 not connected to anything:
    Apr 4 15:24:04 puppypc31763 daemon.debug dhcpcd[29483]: eth0: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason RELEASE
    Apr 4 15:24:18 puppypc31763 daemon.debug dhcpcd[3942]: eth0: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason BOUND
With wlan0 "ignored" in frisbee:
    Apr 4 15:27:27 puppypc31763 daemon.debug dhcpcd[3942]: eth0: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason RELEASE
    Apr 4 15:27:37 puppypc31763 daemon.debug dhcpcd[7305]: eth0: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason BOUND
So, it appears that the unconnected wlan0 delays things by 4 seconds. And the dropwait interval seems unrelated to the slowdown.

To test, I used "Restart DHCP" in frisbee and checked /var/log/messages. What do you see for the RELEASE-to-BOUND intervals?

Another edit: I tried the test on a fresh precise puppy 5.5 -- no pupsave file -- and no added pets. In 4 tries, the interval was 11-13 seconds, almost the same as with the "improvements".
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Fri 05 Apr 2013, 01:18    Post_subject:  

rerwin wrote:

To check whether dropwait is involved, please try changing the delay value from the default 15 seconds, to zero seconds, in the Diagnostics window.


That was it. Setting it back to 0 everything goes back to normal.
The slow connecting problem is more evident after boot or after a suspend/resume cycle. When everything is OK and you just "reset networks" it reconnects in 5-6 sec

Actually while testing I noticed that the dropwait generates another problem. If you cycle with `ifconfig $INTERFACE up/down' in less that 15 sec, then frisbee "thinks" it is connected but it is not.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 18:14    Post_subject: New network_tray-2.7 and frisbee-1.1
Sub_title: Replacements for use in all puppy 5.5 distros
 

I have reworked the internals of the network tray program to better handle concurrently active networks. Frisbee is up-versioned because it is required if frisbee is to be used, at all; it no longer sends signals to network_tray, which now does not expect them. Any older F/frisbee will kill the tray icon, so must be removed or replaced before installing network_tray-2.7.

In addition, the network up/down pop-up notifications are completely separate from frisbee, now provided in the woof_updates package. They can be activated without frisbee by the command:
touch /etc/dhcpcd_state_notify
which will retain that setting across reboots.

The tray icon can now show concurrently active ethernet, wifi and mobile/GPRS interfaces, lighting up the cable and antenna graphics when an IP address has been obtained. The "in/out" activity indications now apply to all interfaces instead of only one. Note, however, that these indications do not apply directly to VPN and pppoe connections, but to the activity on the hardware interfaces attached to the PC that support those connections.

The attached "frisbee-1.1 kit" contains the packages: frisbee-1.1, network_tray-2.7 and woof_updates. The entire set must be installed together, unless frisbee is not present nor desired in a puppy distro, in which case it can be omitted.

I am particularly interested in getting feedback from users of GPRS/wireless modems and DSL/pppoe, to verify whether the tray icon behaves as one can expect: it should show the hardware interface in use and some activity when appropriate.

Users of analog dialup modems will see the indicator for a mobile/GPRS interface, but can cause that to change to a telephone by executing the command:
touch /tmp/.network_tray-use_analog_dialup_icons
probably in the /etc/rc.d/rc.local script or elsewhere to execute during bootup. Eventually, I will update pupdial to set it.

I intend this to be the final configuration of frisbee and network_tray (now that I "own" them), but hope to add to frisbee a tab to assist with using GPRS and DSL/pppoe modems. But that may take awhile, after some other projects such as a lucid-pup upgrade package set.
Richard

Additional note (to 01micko): Network_tray-2.7 will accept various types of icon files. It looks at the first file it finds in /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/network_tray (or whatever it links to) and uses its suffix (e.g., xpm) for all icon files it reads, making it unnecessary to modify its source code to accommodate other types of icon files. As a convention, put all icons for it in a subdirectory, network_tray-[suffix of contained files] and set a link to it as "network_tray".

UPDATE 4/20/2013: Re-uploaded the kit (20130419) to improve the icon indication of the "connected" states of the 3 types of interface. Only the network_tray package is changed.

UPDATE 5/6/2013: Re-uploaded the kit (20130505) after download #28 to add the long-promised update to pupdial to notify network_tray of a land-line/analog connection versus wireless, and includes a related addition to pgprs. The only changed package is "woof_updates".
EDIT: Had to re-upload the kit because I had put the updated pgprs script in the wrong directory. Now corrected after download #31. Please replace the versions obtained as downloads 29-31.
frisbee-1.1_puppy-5.5_kit-20130505.tar.gz
Description  Inter-related frisbee and network_tray, incompatible with older versions of each.
Now with increased visibility of the connection "glow".
Now with icon indication of analog connections.
gz

 Download 
Filename  frisbee-1.1_puppy-5.5_kit-20130505.tar.gz 
Filesize  42.24 KB 
Downloaded  583 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2013, 13:49    Post_subject:  

Hi Richard,
tried frisbee 1.1 kit and have nothing to report Very Happy

Tray icon works fine. If you come around to work on this again you may want to add an icon/hook for the VPN connections (usually a tunnel icon)

Latter:almost nothing...
It would appear that the new try icon is too optimistic ie after suspend/resume shows the network as connected as soon as wlan is up regardless if it is associated with an AP or not.The little "connected" green squiggle is too easy to miss and distinguish between associated and non-associated state.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Apr 2013, 12:56    Post_subject:  

After working with mavrothal to verify that the connection-state changes are being communicated to network_tray, I addressed the issue of the visibility of the "connected" indications in the icon. I uploaded the result above.

My original intent was to keep the "glow" graphics modest -- not "in your face". But mavrothal feels "[It] is the icons that are hard to see", leading to his conclusion that the indication was incorrect after a suspend-resume. So, I made them more obvious. The result is that with both wifi and mobile connections operating, there is a lot of "glow".

Now is a good time to point out the difference in icon meanings among the 3 versions of the icons -- original, Frisbee/n_t-2.6, n-t-2.7. Consider that there are 3 states of interest: detected, active and bound (with IP address). Here is how the icons are used:
Code:
State                  Original     Frisbee/2.6  Network_tray-2.7

None detected:  dead         dead           dead
Detected:           dead         dead           dead
Active:                 traffic       dead           active
Bound:                traffic        traffic          traffic  (with bound cable/antennas glowing in cyan)
Translation of icon descriptors:
    dead: red X or slashed circle
    traffic: normal icon showing transmissions, receipts or neither
    active: the original traffic icon (with no transmissions/receipts) with grey cable or antennas indicating active interface types -- those that are operational but not assigned an IP address

Richard

UPDATE 4/27/2013: To facilitate the adoption of this new kit, I have created a supplemental package for those who prefer the "classic" Frisbee icons included in Slacko. It obtains the "svg" icons there and renames them for the new network_tray icon directory for that type of file (without changing the originals). It then makes the "svg" icon directory the active icon set.
network_tray_svg_icons-2.7.pet
Description  Adapter for slacko Frisbee icons, to work with network_tray-2.7.
pet

 Download 
Filename  network_tray_svg_icons-2.7.pet 
Filesize  1.02 KB 
Downloaded  480 Time(s) 

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Sun 21 Apr 2013, 23:31    Post_subject:  

rerwin wrote:
I addressed the issue of the visibility of the "connected" indications in the icon. I uploaded the result above.

Certainly improved. For the wifi connections, they are fine over a dark theme and adequate over a white'ish one. For the modem the opposite is true but I guess providing 20 different versions of the same basic icon is never going to be perfect for all of them.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 11:38    Post_subject: frisbee-1.1 and network_tray-2.7 Ready for Precise 5.6  

I have added to the frisbee-1.1 kit (4 messages above) the fix to pupdial and pgprs to notify the network_tray icon program of the type of dialup connection in use. If a dialup phone/access number contains only decimal digits, hyphen (-) or periods (.) an analog connection is assumed. Other characters such as '*' and '#' imply a wireless dialup connection. In case a comma is used to cause a short pause, the all-digit check is made only on the part of the number following the last comma.

Since there have been no complaints about the "1.1" kit before this latest addition, I conclude that it can now be considered for the upcoming Precise Pup 5.6. If anyone feels otherwise, please let me know. Thank you, to all of you who have tried the "1.1" kit.
Richard

EDIT: Note that I re-uploaded the kit to correct a mistake. Whoever downloaded numbers 29-31 should download again or make the correction: /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs/usr/sbin/pgprs-connect should be in /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs/usr/bin/pgprs-connect. Move the script from ...usr/sbin to ...usr/bin and delete the then-empty ...usr/sbin directory. And move pgprs-connect in /usr/sbin (if there) to /usr/bin.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 13:46    Post_subject: Network_tray source and related difference listings  

In preparation for Precise 5.6, I attach the source tarball for network_tray-2.7 and difference listings for it, as well as one for the "woof_updates" package. (Click on the diff files to unzip them.)
Richard
diff-woof_updates-20130505.txt.gz
Description  Difference listing - from Precise Pup 5.5
gz

 Download 
Filename  diff-woof_updates-20130505.txt.gz 
Filesize  1.28 KB 
Downloaded  426 Time(s) 
diff-network_tray-2.6-2.7.txt.gz
Description  Difference listing
gz

 Download 
Filename  diff-network_tray-2.6-2.7.txt.gz 
Filesize  4.34 KB 
Downloaded  438 Time(s) 
network_tray-2.7.tar.gz
Description  Source code
gz

 Download 
Filename  network_tray-2.7.tar.gz 
Filesize  14.74 KB 
Downloaded  460 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
for_wov


Joined: 10 May 2013
Posts: 25
Location: Europe:Kiev

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 03:59    Post_subject: wep wpa
Sub_title: does wpa_supplicant loads correctly?
 

encryption question. have wep encrypted net but frisbee (original in precise 5.6 final) shows encryption is tkip. will your kit choose right encryption type or that is a system's behavior? if frisbee where to change, if system the same question(8211_crypt_tkip.ko may be mistaken). is it possible without rebooting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 15:26    Post_subject: Re: wep wpa
Sub_title: does wpa_supplicant loads correctly?
 

for_wov wrote:
encryption question. have wep encrypted net but frisbee (original in precise 5.6 final) shows encryption is tkip. will your kit choose right encryption type or that is a system's behavior? if frisbee where to change, if system the same question(8211_crypt_tkip.ko may be mistaken). is it possible without rebooting?
for_wov,
Thanks for posting your question here. Unfortunately, I do not have the answer, as I am not the originator of frisbee and do not fully understand how it should behave. I have taken Jemimah's project and interfaced it into puppy without knowing the details of its workings. However, since Jemimah does not seem to be available for consultation, I will have to support frisbee, learning as I go and depending on users (such as you) for your experiences with it.

So, let's work on this together. I see in the code that saves a profile, that something is done regarding WEP encryption. I need you to tell me what you expect to see happen, and what you actually see with frisbee. Frisbee gets the encryption information from the networks when it obtains the list of available networks from wpa_supplicant. It uses wpa_supplicant for everything it does. I think it uses the listed information to create a configuration entry for a "saved" network profile. So, that is where I would look to debug a problem with WEP.

All I can do at this point is have you try something and report how it works, and whether you expect something different. I have to trust that Jemimah knew what she was doing, until someone reports a problem for me to research. I hope you will pursue this with me.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
for_wov


Joined: 10 May 2013
Posts: 25
Location: Europe:Kiev

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 04:37    Post_subject:  

things are more complicated Smile look here
will be experimenting till the end. Wink [/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1117s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]