Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 03:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ThinSlacko - March 2013 (deltas released May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 5 [75 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2668
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 15:03    Post subject:  

Are there any special considerations to installing the GZ iso? I just did my usual frugal, copying across the sfs, vmlinuz and initrd.gz but it "boots" into a very weird and unusable (but very pretty) kaleidoscope of cyan / white / speckly lines and smudges all over the screen. Had to use hard power off to clear.

This is a Toshiba TE2100 lappy with 2ghz and 512MB and with nvidia GeForce4 420 Go video card (which usually has no trouble running any puppy, including the previous THINslacko - although most of my puppies do not run any acceleration)

md5 checks out.

Will try on a couple of other machines as I really want to use thinSlacko as a base for remastering a special purpose puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 15:25    Post subject:  

greengeek

try:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram nouveau,noaccel=1


failing that:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram nouveau,modeset=0



Let us know Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 15:29    Post subject:  

LOL posting this with the links browser, not as horrible as I recalled it to be. Just remember <Esc> for drop down menu Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1515
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 16:15    Post subject: Broadcom wl driver  

Broadcom wl driver

for ThinSlacko 5.5.01 is available:

here

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 16:28    Post subject: Re: Broadcom wl driver  

peebee wrote:
Broadcom wl driver

for ThinSlacko 5.5.01 is available:

here
Did the sfs load ok in pfix=ram? (I saw your failure in PHAT)
Thanks for the drivers!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1515
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 16:30    Post subject: Re: Broadcom wl driver  

01micko wrote:
peebee wrote:
Broadcom wl driver

for ThinSlacko 5.5.01 is available:

here
Did the sfs load ok in pfix=ram? (I saw your failure in PHAT)
Thanks for the drivers!


No problems on ThinSlacko......with or without the a-drive - I tested both.

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2668
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 19:12    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
try:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram nouveau,noaccel=1
puppy pfix=ram nouveau,modeset=0

Neither worked unfortunately...however, maybe I'm using the parameters in a different way to what you intended? I am simply appending each one to the kernel line of the menu.lst stanza:
Code:
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title thinslackonewGZ frugal in sda1 dir thinslackonewGZ
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /thinslackonewGZ/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=thinslackonewGZ pfix=ram nouveau,noaccel=1
initrd /thinslackonewGZ/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends


(now that I think about it I have no savefile anyway...)

Maybe this would work differently when entering the code manually when booting Live from a CD?

I have another "identical" laptop which seems to work better than this one for some reason so will make some comparisons and post back if I have no joy. Thanks for the suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Adagio

Joined: 06 May 2011
Posts: 126
Location: TerraAustralis

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 20:12    Post subject:  

Heh, what fun using Links browser.
It has improved a bit since I last used it in another lifetime.

Using it now, it makes the appearance of the forum more bearable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 21:33    Post subject: Re: ThinSlacko - March 2013
Subject description: based on 5.5
 

01micko wrote:
This is Slacko designed for slightly older kit. It should run fine on a PIII 600MHz with 256MB RAM, or even lower specs. Flies on fast kit.


Do you think it could run on my Libretto 50ct?
I can overclock it to 166mhz... but I havent yet.
Specs attached.
libretto_50_e.pdf-2.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  libretto_50_e.pdf-2.jpg 
Filesize  169.45 KB 
Downloaded  213 Time(s) 
libretto_50_e.pdf-1.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  libretto_50_e.pdf-1.jpg 
Filesize  109.26 KB 
Downloaded  197 Time(s) 

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3133
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 21:46    Post subject:  

Q5sys, I've sent you a PM.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2013, 22:05    Post subject: Re: ThinSlacko - March 2013
Subject description: based on 5.5
 

Q5sys wrote:
01micko wrote:
This is Slacko designed for slightly older kit. It should run fine on a PIII 600MHz with 256MB RAM, or even lower specs. Flies on fast kit.


Do you think it could run on my Libretto 50ct?
I can overclock it to 166mhz... but I havent yet.
Specs attached.
No, don't think so.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 00:40    Post subject:  

Still doing fine on my Athlon XP box. Smile

Only real thing I've had to do was a bit of tweaking to get some smaller fonts.... otherwise smooth sailing.
5.5.01.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   49.08 KB
 Viewed   777 Time(s)

5.5.01.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1515
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 16:11    Post subject:  

Hi Mick

There is a library: libstartup-notification-1.so

that is present in Slacko 5.5 and in PhatSlacko but isn't included in either sfs for ThinSlacko.....

It's not very big so if it could be included for consistency in the main ThinSlacko sfs in a future version that would be great.

Cheers
PeeBee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 16:20    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
Hi Mick

There is a library: libstartup-notification-1.so

that is present in Slacko 5.5 and in PhatSlacko but isn't included in either sfs for ThinSlacko.....

It's not very big so if it could be included for consistency in the main ThinSlacko sfs in a future version that would be great.

Cheers
PeeBee

Well the main sfs will rather shrink than grow Wink

Maybe it can go to adrive.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lemmy999

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 11:58    Post subject:  

Hi Mick

Nice Pup. Installed nicely onto my EEEPC 1000HG. On the way out it created a savefile ( as you'd expect). On reboot I installed Chromium from PPM. Ran into the usual "running Chrome as root" issue. On exit it prompted me ( again) to create a savefile??. Definitely something not right.

On my next boot Chromium was totally missing!!

Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 [75 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0864s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]