Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 10:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to change drive from root to sda1, from the console?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 645
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 13:25    Post subject:  How to change drive from root to sda1, from the console?  

How can I change drives ?

I want to go from the root to sda1 which is another partition on the same drive.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 838
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 13:32    Post subject:  

I think what you are asking will be found in /mnt/sda1 etc.

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
6502coder

Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 14:24    Post subject: Re: Change drive  

fixit wrote:
How can I change drives ?

I want to go from the root to sda1 which is another partition on the same drive.



It sounds like you are used to Microsoft DOS. In Linux, you don't "change drives." You just cd directly to where you want to be. So assuming sda1 is already mounted, you just

cd /mnt/sda1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11025
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 16:32    Post subject:  

Or click on the sda1 icon in the lower left of your desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 645
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 17:18    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
I think what you are asking will be found in /mnt/sda1 etc.

Smile


That did not work.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 645
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 17:19    Post subject:  

Flash,

I want to change directories from the console.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 17:31    Post subject:  

- run the console
- type 'dir' into the console and press enter

If 'dir' shows a directory Startup (plus some more) then you are in /root

- type 'cd Startup' into the console and press enter
- type 'dir' into the console --> should now show its (Startup) content

If you want to change to another drive/directory

- type /mnt/your-hd/your-directory/your-sub-directories/etc/pp

Example (change to /mnt/sda1/data)

- type 'cd /mnt/sda1/data' into the console and press enter (sda1 has to be mounted first)

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0501s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]