Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 12:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Problems with pcmcia card: crashing, etc
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
carenrose

Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 17:43    Post subject:  Problems with pcmcia card: crashing, etc  

I have a Dell TrueMobile wifi adapter pcmcia card thing. (I'm using it right now so I can't yet pull it out and tell you anything more.)

It works, well, sometimes.

It has the same problems in 431 and in Wary. Most of the time, it apparently cannot scan for wireless networks (or connect to any.) Xautoconnect will give the message "interface does not support scanning." It requires removing and reinserting the card to work properly (sometimes many, many times, checking to see if it works each time. Sometimes it works right away, sometimes I give up and try restarting.) When it works, it works really pretty well! Can pick up networks my phone or my old laptop couldn't.

Sometimes, and this is the big issue, when reinserting the card, it crashes. Everything. As in, holding down the power button to get it to do anything. Sad Sad No chance to find out any info there.

Occasionally, this will happen when booting the OS ... (I've only ever had this happen in Wary, but possibly only because I use it more.)
Then I get potentially useful information. But then I don't know what to do with it. Here it is:
Code:
[<c1039a20>] ? handle_IRQ_event+0x1a/0x96
[<c103ab67>] ? handle_level_irq+0x50/0x95
[<c10041ab>] ? handle_irq+0x17/0x1c
[<c1003dcd>] ? do_IRQ+0x2b/0x76
[<c1002e09>] ? common_interrupt+0x29/0x30
[<c1030000>] ? print_tickdevice+0x124/0x265
[<c103a078>] ? __setup_irq+0x1d9/0x25a
[<f85043f8>] ? orinoco_interrupt+0x0/0x404 [orinoco]
[<c103a1c0>] ? request_threaded_irq+0xc7/0xf4
[<c11e0e67>] ? pcmcia_request_irq+0x107/0x201
[<f851e158>] ? orinoco_cs_probe+0xb0/0x198 [orinoco_cs]
[<c11dfaf3>] ? pcmcia_device_probe0xc9/0x13a
[<c11955de>] ? driver_probe_device+0x75/0xfc
[<c11956a5>] ? __driver_attach=0x40/0x5b
[<c1195073>] ? bus_for_each_dev+0x37/0x5f
[<c11954c6>] ? driver_attach+0x11/0x13
[<c1195665>] ? __driver_attach+0x0/0x5b
[<c1194b3a>] ? bus_add_driver+0x99/0x1c5
[<c11958bf>] ? driver_register+0x87/0xe0
[<c11e05a8>] ? pcmcia_register_driver+0xa8/0xd4
[<f8522000>] ? init_orinoco_cs+0x0/0x1b [orinoco_cs]
[<c100112b>] ? do_one_initcall+0x43/0x11f
[<c1037d35>] ? sys_init_module+0xa7/0x1da
[<c1002794>] ? sysenter_do_call+0x12/0x26

I also attached the picture I took, in case I made any typos.

Anyways, that's it.
thefail.jpg
 Description   I hope it's okay to attach here :O
 Filesize   130.61 KB
 Viewed   212 Time(s)

thefail.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3258
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 18:15    Post subject:  

Hi Caren- to confirm, what do you get for this with the card plugged: lspci -nn | grep -i card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carenrose

Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 18:32    Post subject:  

00:04.0 CardBus bridge [0607]: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller [1524:1410]


Edit: by the way, Dell TrueMobile 1150 Series
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 18:47    Post subject:  

You can do nothing with that kernel output . It shows function names of the kernel and the orinocco driver that are segfaulting . Kernel drivers are getting updated but many stay as they are. The only thing i could advise is to try to recompile the kernel of different versions , or it has to do with the glibc-2.10.x of wary(which is not so easy to compile and install without screwing things).

As a temporary fix i would add panic=15 to the kernel line after vga=normal in the grub menu.lst . panic=SECONDS would reboot the kernel in SECONDS instead of having it to hard poweroff . Have not seen any linux distro adding that parameter by default (!GAMBLERS!) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 774
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 18:52    Post subject:  

just googling around found this:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=279944

HTH

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
carenrose

Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 19:06    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
just googling around found this:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=279944

HTH

Smile


Well ... um ... Embarassed
So far it seems to have worked. Of course, that's just rebooting, and having it work straight away, which sometimes happens. Will see how it goes. Very Happy
Also I had forgotten WPA wasn't working!

@Karl Godt: Thanks, have added that. Very helpful, in fact I have used it before when having problems ... Embarassed
Quote:
(which is not so easy to compile and install without screwing things).

Yeah Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 774
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 19:21    Post subject:  

as long as it's sorted it's all good

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 19:50    Post subject:  

Truemobile 1150 only handles 802.11b.
Old Orinoco, No WPA?

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carenrose

Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2013, 21:35    Post subject:  

No such luck. Still the same problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Fri 22 Mar 2013, 00:46    Post subject:  

Can you type "lsmod | grep yenta" and paste output ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carenrose

Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri 22 Mar 2013, 16:00    Post subject:  

Code:
yenta_socket           16255  3
rsrc_nonstatic          6861  1 yenta_socket
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 04:03    Post subject:  

Can you try the latest puppy like Racy 5.5 ? Maybe this has been solved there ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carenrose

Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 09:31    Post subject:  

Somehow I forgot this bit ...
When I told it to load hostqtip_cs over orinoco it decided not to . . So when I got it to load it didn't work with the card ... ni lights, not registering

Is there anything else I have ti do that maybe I'm missing? Other than just get the module to load



Edit: hostap not hostqtip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 10:56    Post subject:  

carenrose wrote:
Somehow I forgot this bit ...
When I told it to load hostqtip_cs over orinoco it decided not to . . So when I got it to load it didn't work with the card ... ni lights, not registering

Is there anything else I have ti do that maybe I'm missing? Other than just get the module to load

Edit: hostap not hostqtip


Wary:
Run Puppy connect wizard.
1st window "load modules"
find and click hostap_cs pcmcia

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carenrose

Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 23:13    Post subject:  

Ok. Did that. Did not work.

Tried ndiswrapper as well while I was there but "blahblahblah is an invalid driver" whatever.

If I could find another version of the windows driver it would be great, lol ... but every single one I find is the same version that doesn't work. Confused

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Edit:
I bought a newer, faster card that's not a dell (I don't like dell ...) and I'm using it right now! I also found an internal wlan card that I don't know if it will work or not ... going to try it! Very Happy

But yeah, never did get the Dell one to work right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0711s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]