Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 09:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 47 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 19:21    Post_subject:  alphaOS [closed]
Sub_title: .. new forum is at http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum
 

alphaOS is simple and minimalistic Linux distribution based on Puppy Linux, built from
Arch Linux packages and uses pacman as the default package manager. Unlike official
Puppy systems, it has openbox window manager combined with dynamic menu update
and support for loading up to 20 additional sfs modules.

Homepage:
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/

Downloads:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/alphaos/files

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 05:22    Post_subject:  

How can you call that "from scratch" when you use ages-old code from Puppy? Confused
_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 06:12    Post_subject:  

... compiled from scratch. If you don't know what that means please visit link bellow.
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/lfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 06:23    Post_subject:  

I get curious on if it make you automatically booted as root
what password does root have?
Can you place the files on NTFS and then boot without
needing any linux partition made like ext3 or ext4

what is the menu.lst for grub4dos used for your Lightnix 001

title Lightnix 001 Linux
kernel (hd0,0)/Lightnix001/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=Lightnix001 pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/Lightnix001/initrd.gz

or what do you use?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 06:29    Post_subject:  

Currently it looks like this:
Quote:
title lightnix RAM mode (sda6/lightnix)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /lightnix/initrd.gz
kernel /lightnix/vmlinuz psubdir=lightnix pmedia=atahd pfix=ram,fsck
initrd /lightnix/initrd.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 08:25    Post_subject:  

pfix=ram,fsck

would that mean you have a lightnix save file
and that you don't load it but still check the integrity of it?

Regardless I will test the OS when you have xorg and firefox or chrome going.

You did not answer if it boots with root=root password=lightnix
automatically or if it boot into user=user password=user
or user=live password=live

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 09:32    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
You did not answer if it boots with root=root password=lightnix
automatically or if it boot into user=user password=user
or user=live password=live

It boots without any password to tty1 as user root. But if change to tty2 you need to type
password, which by default is toor, just like in archpup because they are built with same rootfs.

And, thanks for your interest Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 19:25    Post_subject:  

Name is changed to Lightning OS, needs more work but currently system is functioning OK,
meaning that xorg with 3D support (tested with game assault cub), sound and internet all work.

Here is DISTRO_SPECS:
Quote:
DISTRO_NAME='Lightning OS'
DISTRO_VERSION='001'
DISTRO_BINARY_COMPAT='none'
DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX='ltn'
DISTRO_COMPAT_VERSION='none'
DISTRO_KERNEL_PET='3.8.2'
DISTRO_XORG_AUTO='yes'
DISTRO_TARGETARCH='i686'
DISTRO_IDSTRING='0001LGTN10032013XXXXXXXXXXXX1234'
DISTRO_PUPPYSFS='ltn_001.sfs'
DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv-*_001.sfs'
DISTRO_YDRVSFS='extra_001.sfs'
DISTRO_ZDRVSFS='zdrv_001.sfs'
DISTRO_PUPPYDATE='Mar 2013'
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kurtdriver

Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 20:18    Post_subject:  

Do you have a download link? So we can have a look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 04:35    Post_subject:  

seems somebody else?
also thought of that name?

Lightning OS
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lightning-OS/402616869818705

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 06:41    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
seems somebody else?
also thought of that name?

Lightning OS
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lightning-OS/402616869818705

Yes, you are right it is opensuse based distro with gnome 3.
So name is changed to .. .. Alpha OS! What do you think?

First post updated with more detailed explanations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 17:01    Post_subject:  

I have one problem with mount command and different behavior in AlphaOS compared to Archpup.

Problem is with partition /dev/sda5, formatted as NTFS. With command:
Code:
mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/sda5
it is mounted read-write in Archpup but read-only in AlphaOS.

mount command is provided by package util-linux plus ntfs-3g and fuse are installed for supporting ntfs filesystem in both OS'.

Only way to get write access to ntfs partition in AlphaOS is mounting with command ntfs-3g.
... and I don't want that because it breaks earlier scripts that use just mount command for everything.

Edit: Never mind, I've adjusted scripts to check fstype before mounting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 07:03    Post_subject:  

makepfile.sh, save file creator script from Archpup, made by me and much improved by mavrothal
(in his pre theoretical phase) is improved so it will read variables from /etc/distro_specs.
It's now usable in any Puppy linux, on the other hand does anyone really care...

Beta version of alphaOS Laughing will be available today!
Warning: It's not for the beginners!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 10:19    Post_subject:  

I hope it will boot up frugally on NTFS
unless it is impossible or very difficult
to provide that feature. Archpup does
so would it be possible to borrow how
they do it?
Just a friendly suggestion.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 11:21    Post_subject:  

Iso is uploaded, check first post for the link.
nooby wrote:
I hope it will boot up frugally on NTFS
unless it is impossible or very difficult
to provide that feature. Archpup does
so would it be possible to borrow how
they do it?
Just a friendly suggestion.

Thanks for your suggestion.
I didn't test it but frugal installation on NTFS should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 47 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0785s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]