Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 05:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 24 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 12:27    Post subject:  Getting precise and my printer to talk to each other.  

Hello puppy friends,

Today I am working on geting precise to print. I ran cups and every thing went fine.
Computer found my hp officejet 4315 All in one in a snap. Very nice. I tried to
print something. Nothing happened. However, checking cups, precise says
that it did print.

I tried looking in the Puppy package mangager for a pet that may help. All the
ones that I think might work refuse to download.

So I'm stuck.

Any ideas.


Thanks for helping me out.

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8924
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 13:06    Post subject: Re: Getting precise and my printer to talk to each other.  

Pete22 wrote:
Computer found my hp officejet 4315 All in one in a snap. Very nice. I tried to print something. Nothing happened. However, checking cups, precise says that it did print.

Have you installed an HP printer driver PET?

If not, what printer model did you select in CUPS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 13:37    Post subject: Re: Getting precise and my printer to talk to each other.  

rcrsn51: Thank you for coming to my aid.

quote="rcrsn51"]
Have you installed an HP printer driver PET?

If not, what printer model did you select in CUPS?[/quote]

I used he diver for hp office jet 5105 gutenprinter 5.2.8 pre1
This is also the driver for hp office jet 725.

Precise does not have a pet for hp printers.

Ubuntu drivers refuse to download.

I am using retroprecise if that makes difference.


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8924
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 14:05    Post subject:  

Read here for information about Puppy printing.

Then get the hplip_print-3.12.10a.pet at the end of the post.

You will need to delete your current printer in CUPS, then rediscover it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 19:39    Post subject: It worked  

rcrsn51:

Thank you very much for answering my question.
Your link led to your wonderful pets and to your great explination of how to get
our printers running.

You have gone to a lot work to keep your pets and your forum inforation up to
date and relivant to current puppies.

Many thanks for all your efforts.

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8924
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 19:41    Post subject:  

Glad to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1634
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 15:31    Post subject:  

posted in wrong thread
_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739

Last edited by 666philb on Mon 04 Mar 2013, 16:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 15:37    Post subject:
Subject description: wrong post
 

post moved to another thread.
Last edited by anikin on Mon 04 Mar 2013, 17:21; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1634
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 15:42    Post subject:  

hi anikin

you need to mount the iso 'before' opening the remaster program

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 07:43    Post subject:  

faults in precise5.4.3

i have 2 faults. i set the correct keyboard to the presario for my compaq prasero laptop. but the function key is reversed so i cant type properly.

2nd cant log as user spot in terminal. and i cant run apps as spot. when i try i get permission denied. it is needed to run chromium browser.

any ideas would help.

edit: found problem was first run keyboard setup had number lock selected.

_________________
HiDeHo is an ideas man. loves to come up with ideas that others think are good and can use
if you are a sneeky computer geek check out sneekygeekers click here

Last edited by HiDeHo on Mon 18 Mar 2013, 03:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chaosislife

Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 23:43    Post subject: Resolution changes don't work.  

I just installed precise puppy 5.4.3 in virtualbox and I've got one big problem right off. I can't change the screen resolution using the xorg video wizard. I go through the process,click on 1024 x 768, press ok twice, the screen flashes like it's changing but then goes immediately back to the default resolution of 1600 x 1200. I can just barely read what i'm typing right now so this is a bit of a problem.

EDIT: Ok i got the resolution to change by using the full xorg wizard in the video wizard and going through the setup using the vesa driver. Figured I'd let yall know in case someone else has the same issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 12:03    Post subject:  

I vaguely recall reading that someone had hinted at a 64-bit version of Precise that might be simmering on a back burner somewhere.

This is to encourage that development, either in Barry's or Pemasu's version.

Fatdog 64 is probably the canonical 64-bit option, but it's Slackware based rather than being a upup. More importantly (to me anyway; I realize mine is a minority opinion) it no longer has integral support for a full installation, though a manual full installation is possible.

Lighthouse 64 is another option for wide processors. It's a good puplet, IMO. I tried the 32 bit version a while back, and though didn't adopt it then, that's where I fell in love with Frisbee. Alas, with the health issues its developer faces, I'm concerned about its future (to say nothing of Tazoc's). We all hope for a positive outcome in this matter.

As I've managed to stumble into a 64-bit machine I'm currently looking into light distributions with 64-bit support, to take full advantage of it. Although I prefer a full installation, I admire many other elements of the Puppy "philosophy" and find Precise more interesting than, say, Snow Linux and Crunchbang.

Alas, I don't have the chops (yet) to develop my own 64-bit puplet, and I'm hoping that a 64-bit Precise Puppy variant will surface soon.

Anyone else have interests along those lines? Maybe if enough of us chime in, it will further encourage development.

Thanks again for all the hard work that's gone into Puppy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 21:48    Post subject:  

This is a great puppy build. reminds me of the early upup and lucid puppy. it will be great to see how Precise works out in the long run and the ubuntu apps are compiled into pets and sfs like happened in lucid. then things will be great.

i do think that an xfce pet or sfs would be good idea for Puppy linux woither precise or slacko etc. saluki is a great puppy version with xfce. shame it cant run chromium past version 12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
petan

Joined: 08 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 15:58    Post subject: Screen moved to right on monitor  

Installed Slacko 533 and Retro Precise 543 on SDHC 4Giga card via Yumi.

Reporting difference in screen look.
RetroPrecise has moved screen from monitor to right cca 15 pixels - unadjusted.
( Black vertical strip on left side of monitor )

Slacko is centered OK - adjusted correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4229
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jun 2014, 12:27    Post subject:  

Hello, all.

The original Puppy Precise 5.4.3 has been removed from both the ibilio
and nluug repositories. However, remastered versions of Precise Puppy
5.4.3 can still be found at:

* http://www.canbike.ca/off-topic/linux/puppy-can-bike-5-4-3.html
(Puppy Precise 5.4.3 "Can Bike"; many, many thanks to the enthusiast,
whoever he may be!)

and at

* https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B0uge_imqIdZc1pFaS1QNHZILWc/edit
(This is jrb's barbones 5.4.3, discussed at
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83841)

As far as I could tell, Puppy Precise 5.4.3 is not in ally's PuppyLinux
Internet Archive list at
http://archive.org/search.php?query=puppylinux

Why originals and even copies of good Puppies get scrapped, I will never
understand...

BFN.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 24 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0849s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]