Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 16:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
mpdPup - Simplified MPD Music Server/Jukebox - v0.9.3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 35 [523 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 33, 34, 35 Next
Author Message
lugili

Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 17:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
Another question regarding the setup: the path on my nas to the musicfolders are /volume1/musicserver/mpd_music. What do I need to enter as share?


I think I was able to do it. Plays music now ... sounds better than my voyage mpd setup that I used so far. Atom D510 board with SOTM usb card and linear power supply into a dcs debussy.

Will listen and tweak a bit and report back in a few days.
Thanks again Idolse, great job. And all the others for support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Magellan

Joined: 06 Mar 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 17:37    Post subject:  

I don´t think this has anthing to do with wierd letters. Fact is, I realise now, that I never get to the username/password section, because I am recected at the previous stage, After the validate server IP, share name and directory, I get the message the IP adress can´t be reached.

- Validate the server IP, share name, and directory are correct, press enter
- username password prompt comes up, enter them in, press enter

This is making me MAD. People passing on the street outside my house have to be careful because there will soon be a NAS coming flying out from my window. Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Magellan

Joined: 06 Mar 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 17:41    Post subject:  

lugili wrote:
Quote:
Hi Lugili, the problem is Synology never meant for you to use the root user for file sharing. You need to go into the Synology Web UI, clck 'Control panel', then click 'User'. Create a new User, and when you go through the prompts make sure they have access to the share with the music library. Then put this user/pass in the wizard.


For some weird reason I could not ssh into my synology nas despite the user setup like you described.
I found instructions on the internet on what to do on the Synology NAS:

edit /etc/passwd and replace /sbin/nologin with /bin/ash for users you want allow to SSH into your NAS.

Worked for me, now I can ssh into the NAS with all users. Weird ...

Another question regarding the setup: the path on my nas to the musicfolders are /volume1/musicserver/mpd_music. What do I need to enter as share?

Thanks all for your help.


I guesss you first logged in with SSH as root and changed the /etc/passwd ? My problem is I can´t even log in as root.

YES!!!! After several hours of trial and error and confusion I succeded to make it work at last. I think it was a combination of problems. I had in the end great help of both lugili and Idolse. I changed the passwords to only ascii, and then I could logon to the NAS as root over SSH. I could still not logon as user however, but after editing the etc/passwd I could logon as user also. It took me a while however, until I understod the editor on the nas was not vim or nano but vi. Then I reconfigured the MPD-wizard, and now the NAS did not reject MPD anymoore and I was transfered to the user/password settings. The rest was just easy going. Now beautiful music is streaming from my speakers. But now I must sleep. Thanks for helpful clues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 07:27    Post subject:  

Glad you were both able to get your Synology connected and have got music now! I think you'll find it easier to administer if you stick with their Web UI - all the required configuration can be done from there. SSH is more for hacking on the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lugili

Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 09:53    Post subject:  

Quote:
Glad you were both able to get your Synology connected and have got music now! I think you'll find it easier to administer if you stick with their Web UI - all the required configuration can be done from there. SSH is more for hacking on the system.


Fully agree with you there, but I was not able to do this with DSM 3.2 UI on the Synology. I am quite sure I did everything right there. Maybe a Synology bug ... or maybe I should have restarted the NAS at some point in time.

But glad it is all fine now Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Magellan

Joined: 06 Mar 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 17:57    Post subject:  

ldolse wrote:
Glad you were both able to get your Synology connected and have got music now! I think you'll find it easier to administer if you stick with their Web UI - all the required configuration can be done from there. SSH is more for hacking on the system.

I am not using SSH for configuring the NAS. I use it for MPDpup...BUT, I had to hack the NAS to be able to reach the NAS at all from MPDpup. I suspect there either is a bugg in MPDpup, which explains why the Synology NAS keep rejecting MPDpup, or there is a bugg in DSM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Supersurfer

Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 08:19    Post subject: Unable to mount NFS share  

Hi Idolse,

I am trying to get mpdpup running on my alix board. Going through the graphic interface on ssh works very nice for a linux novice like me.

I am now having trouble to mount to my nas share. I use a synology nas with latest software, nfs share is activated and permission is granted for the alix to access the nas.

When trying to make the connection it says: unable to mount.

I do not know what I am doing wrong. I am also running a raspberry pi that connects to the nas and that works fine.

I hope you can help me with this.

Kind regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 12:19    Post subject:  

Hi Supersurfer, glad the UI is working well for you overall, hope we can solve the NAS issue. mpdPup only supports CIFS/SMB at this time, make sure that's enabled for the music share/user account and you should be good to go. Hopefully that's the root cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Supersurfer

Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 15:03    Post subject:  

Hi Idolse,

The graphical interface suddenly does not work anymore at new start up. It asks me to run xorgwizard to detemine video hardware but there is no video hardware because I am running through ssh.

Can you please tell me how to solve this?

I have adjusted some things in my nas to try to get cifs running, and I want to try it now.

Kind regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 01:48    Post subject:  

Supersurfer wrote:
Hi Idolse,

The graphical interface suddenly does not work anymore at new start up. It asks me to run xorgwizard to detemine video hardware but there is no video hardware because I am running through ssh.

Can you please tell me how to solve this?

I have adjusted some things in my nas to try to get cifs running, and I want to try it now.

Kind regards,
I'm not sure how exactly you're getting that xorg wizard, it was designed to only be displayed if it detects a monitor is attached. If a monitor is indeed attached it could display that wizard over the SSH session. Ctrl-C should break out of the xorg dialogue, then type mpdwizard to get back into the proper one.

It also sounds like you created a save file during your original session, overall it may go more smoothly to load the flash card in another machine and remove it (it's the .2fs file). This will set you back to defaults.

What specific Alix model do you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Supersurfer

Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 04:26    Post subject:  

Hi Idolse,

I am using the alix 2d2, this one has no video output. I have created a save file, I will try to reset and see if I can get the wizard on ssh working.

Kind regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
multiblitz

Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 04:45    Post subject:  

Has anyone tried mpdpup with even smaller boards than Alix ? Like Rasperry or cubieboard or similars ?

Best Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
michele_p

Joined: 03 Mar 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:06    Post subject: Audiodg DI v3  

I am experiencing some issues with mpdpup and audiogd DIv3.
My setup includes also a W4S DAC1 spdif to analog converter.
Basically I am able to play 44khz file but with 96khz no sound comes out from the W4S even if its display shows the correct sample rate.
After this happen I cannot play back 44khz data and in order to recover operation I have to unplug-plug the audiogd.
Any suggestion ?
Has anyone ever tried mpdpup operation with this device (audiogd DI)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
michele_p

Joined: 03 Mar 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:10    Post subject: Re: Audiodg DI v3  

michele_p wrote:
I am experiencing some issues with mpdpup and audiogd DIv3.
My setup includes also a W4S DAC1 spdif to analog converter.
Basically I am able to play 44khz file but with 96khz no sound comes out from the W4S even if its display shows the correct sample rate.
After this happen I cannot play back 44khz data and in order to recover operation I have to unplug-plug the audiogd.
Any suggestion ?
Has anyone ever tried mpdpup operation with this device (audiogd DI)?


Mpdpup is loaded on CF of Alix 3D2 board
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 11:39    Post subject:  

@multiblitz, mpdPup is x86 only, so boards like the Pi won't work.

@michele_p, I haven't seen any feedback from anyone on the audiogd. I see somewhat similar behavior in my home setup, but only for 176/192Khz. Basically I need to unplug/replug my USB to SPDIF converter to get 176/192Khz to work correctly, but after doing that it works fine until the next reboot - I leave my system on all the time so it's not a big deal.

After you unplug/replug will 96Khz and above work?

Other users with different hardware have reported no issues in this area, so it is definitely hardware specific, but something I still want to improve someday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 35 [523 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 33, 34, 35 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1001s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0136s) ][ GZIP on ]