Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 12:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.5 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 15 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 838
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 18:56    Post_subject:  

powerapplet_tray does not run/display without battery (on dock) as older puppy version did (would show 'no batt' or similar)

powerapplet_tray has nicer icon spacing and mouseover than vattery

have also had a quick test of 5404 on an old IBM T21 and also eeepc 900, everything working so far

Smile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 21:06    Post_subject:  

Yeah, powerapplet is a bit of a mess eh? Doesn't work on half of my lappies. It was the default woof download from wary5 repo, must be the wrong one. The one SFR linked fails too with my dud battery on my compaq-CQ-60. The one in 5.4.0.3 works, and if IIRC was patched by rodin.s and compiled on slacko. I'll post a link soon.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

I reported a bug in the main post for XOR (light) encryption. It actually works fine for ext2 filesystem, and it recommends that in the shutdown GUI, so that is a non issue .AES (heavy) works for ext2,3 and 4. No problem remounting the save file as reported by aarf on my blog late last year, so aarf, if you read this can you please test and post to my blog. Also I'll announce this on my blog and tweet it, never no, might snag a few more testers/users.

The qr-code in my sig is a link to my blog. I can give you an account if you leave a valid email, that way I don't have to srceen your post.

qr-code ----------- VVVVVVVVVV ----- (can scan with phone, droid or iOS with qr app)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2082
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 22:03    Post_subject: Slacko 5.4.1 Beta
Sub_title: 5404 pae remaster
 

After adding quite a few pets I remastered my 5404 pae cd.
I chose the custom option but tried the disk on another pc with an
nvidia graphics card, it didn't go straight to the desktop but went to
the prompt, running xorgwizard,choosing nvidia with the proper
resolution, then xwin to get to the desktop and all is good.
I booted with "puppy pfix=ram"
video-info-glx1.5.1 Wed 27 Feb 2013onSlackoPuppy 5.4.0.4 Linux 3.4.17-PAE i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce8600GT](rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (373x231 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 310.32
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @1603 1: @1603 2: @1603 3: @1603 MHz

Very good, thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   34.13 KB
 Viewed   593 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 22:08    Post_subject:  

I have posted a comprehensive report to Barry on his blog regarding the "BUG". I hope he just doesn't dismiss it.

-----------------------------------------------


Try this power_applet attached, just compiled from rodin.s' source.
powerapplet_tray-2.6-i486-s14.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  powerapplet_tray-2.6-i486-s14.pet 
Filesize  5.44 KB 
Downloaded  99 Time(s) 

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 838
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 23:26    Post_subject:  

noticed a minor problem in pmusic v3.2.1

the music progress bar and track name do not refresh ie bar stays still and track name does not change with changing of track

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 23:54    Post_subject:  

ally wrote:
noticed a minor problem in pmusic v3.2.1

the music progress bar and track name do not refresh ie bar stays still and track name does not change with changing of track

Smile
Curios, working fine here. If it persists post to ziggy's pmusic thread.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 00:23    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
ally wrote:
noticed a minor problem in pmusic v3.2.1

the music progress bar and track name do not refresh ie bar stays still and track name does not change with changing of track

Smile
Curios, working fine here. If it persists post to ziggy's pmusic thread.


FWIW, no problems with Pmusic here either...... appears to be working fine.
Actually, nothing bad to report at all. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 864
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 02:15    Post_subject:  

Posting from Slacko 5.4.0.4 now on my nvidia FX 5200 card computer.

Booted with "puppy pfix=ram nouveau.noaccel=1" all OK. Installed the nvidia driver 173.14.36 .pet from PPM and all went OK too, glxgears gives around 2630 fps.

This machine is also sometimes problematic with the 2 sound cards but I ran MSCW rather than doing my usual edit of alsa-base.conf and have done a few reboots - so far so good.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5686
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 03:45    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
What about a simple button for the mixer like in the main gui?
That was how it was done for 3.2.1, but the frontend file never got into the pet Embarassed .


Now fixed
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 04:18    Post_subject:  

I use this Slacko now and are satisfied with it.
slacko-5.4-firefox-4g.iso

How are these slacko-5.4.0.4-4G.iso and slacko-5.4.0.4-PAE.iso different.

Yes I know there is some explanation on first post but I fail to get it.

One difference seems to be these later ones use Seamonkey.
I prefer Firefox due to it has the extensions that I am use to.

I have placed .mozilla on mnt/home or mnt/sda1 so
that would make it more complicated using seamonkey maybe?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 864
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 05:58    Post_subject:  

Aha! Just booted again and this time the sound cards have loaded with the index numbers (0 and 1) the other way round, so the speaker icon in the tray has a red cross and the settings are messed up despite having run MSCW.

Clicking MSCW to open it is the easiest way to see which way round the 2 cards have been loaded (clicking "cancel" rather than "OK" to just close the window without running the wizard each time).

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5686
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 06:25    Post_subject:  

ally wrote:
noticed a minor problem in pmusic v3.2.1

the music progress bar and track name do not refresh ie bar stays still and track name does not change with changing of track

Smile
Is this a problem for all playing, or is it related to specific files?
- I have seen ffmpeg trouble reading info of some files - it doesn't like it's format. The good thing is that ffmpeg 'always' plays the audio.
- Could it be a naming issue. We have earlier seen that using some special chars in filename could lead to trouble.

Screenshot?


Thanks for reporting
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 838
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 06:54    Post_subject:  

hey zibert

ok, can't reproduce today? system was left up too?

it started when expanding to full screen then back again but working ok now, only small issue today is volume slider is to left (no volume) even though volume not muted, moving slider to right and back again makes volume decrease

I was streaming a video last night so maybe processing issues, will try and recreate and post

screenshot wouldn't show much as the issue was a difference between track displayed and track playing, if I break it again I'll let you know!!!

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 10:13    Post_subject:  

5.4.0.4:
No sound, can't switch it on. SB PCI card.
Still getting USA as locale, even after doing a pfix=ram,nox and setting LONDON in panels. Not a single developer is willing to address this oversight - doesn't happen in other distros. You da man, micko!
Firefox instead of Opera, blue instead of Earthrise. Retrogressive!
Sticking with previous version for the moment.
Otherwise, probably nothing you can't fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 11:15    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
powerapplet_tray-2.6-i486-s14.pet

It's still fine.

nooby wrote:
One difference seems to be these later ones use Seamonkey.
I prefer Firefox due to it has the extensions that I am use to.

If I remember correctly:
5.3.3: Seamonkey
5.4: Firefox or Opera
5.4.0.0 - 5.4.0.3: Opera
5.4.0.4: Firefox

ally wrote:
only small issue today is volume slider is to left (no volume) even though volume not muted, moving slider to right and back again makes volume decrease

Same here (see screenshot).
pmusic --debug wrote:
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 378: kill: (31627) - No such process
/usr/local/pmusic/func_mixer: line 126: [: =: unary operator expected
/usr/local/pmusic/func_mixer: line 127: [: =: unary operator expected
/usr/local/pmusic/func_mixer: line 129: [: : integer expression expected
/usr/local/pmusic/func_mixer: line 135: (200-(*100)/): syntax error: operand expected (error token is "*100)/)")
# grep: /root/.pmusic/tmp/ffmpeg_output: No such file or directory
grep: /root/.pmusic/tmp/ffmpeg_output: No such file or directory
grep: /root/.pmusic/tmp/ffmpeg_output: No such file or directory
grep: /root/.pmusic/tmp/ffmpeg_output: No such file or directory
...

and /root/.pmusic/tmp/VOLUME is empty.
This helped me - /usr/local/pmusic/func_mixer, line 123:
Code:
   if [ ! "`amixer -c $CARD_NR get "$SPEAKER" | grep 'Mono:' | cut -d ':' -f 2`" ]; then #mono

(just added an exclamation mark)
...and now works ok both with Master (mono) as well as, eg. Headphone (stereo, i.e. "balance"), though I've no idea if this won't break functionality for those for whom everything works just as it is...

@Zigbert: sometimes it's hard to tinker in Pmusic's internals, because for some reason (killall?) when I have, for instance, 'func_mixer' opened in Geany and I will close Pmusic - Geany disappears also. Shocked
...or is It some kind of "anti-hacker protection"..? Wink

Greetings!
pmusic.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   89.21 KB
 Viewed   366 Time(s)

pmusic.jpg


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1014s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0110s) ][ GZIP on ]