Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 23:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Gtkdialog Development
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 48 of 55 [821 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, ..., 53, 54, 55 Next
Author Message
EDDIE_THE_HEAD


Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Posts: 15
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 18:32    Post subject:  

@Thunor

Thanks for everything. I haven't tried that C code you posted 'cause I've been occupied with other things and had no time to fix some issues in the virtual machine where I'm running Ubuntu. I believe that (the fact that I'm running it in VirtualBox) is the only difference in my setup, so it could certainly be the source of the problem. In fact, I've encountered much more trouble than I ever had when Ubuntu was my host OS.

I'll get back to you as soon as I can run the tests you suggested.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thunor


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 350
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2013, 12:57    Post subject:  

Gtkdialog 0.8.3 Released

Changes:
* Solved the hidden widgets leaving artifacts at start-up problem.
* Added support for conditional actions with <action condition="type">.
* Added support for <variable export="false">VARNAME</variable>.
* Added button-press/release-event signals to comboboxentry's entry.
* Added support for break i.e. don't process any more actions.
* Connected-up the realize signal so that it can be used within actions.
* Refreshing markup in a text widget now works as expected.
* Added three new examples including the Pfeme emulator front-end.
* Fixed bashisms within examples where possible and made them portable.
* Fixed three examples.

http://code.google.com/p/gtkdialog/downloads/list

It's gone quiet so it must've matured by now Smile Thanks to everyone who assisted with testing.

If anyone's interested I've written an emulator front-end using gtkdialog called Pfeme. I actually used a very small piece of perl code to merge the times-played data into the games list and it's so fast! I really recommend taking a look at perl to manage the complex parts of your applications.

Regards,
Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
frafa


Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Location: MONTPELIER

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 13:23    Post subject:  

Hi Thunor
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013 :)
Thank you for this new version of gtkdialog,
I put the packages for Ubuntu/Debian Bits 32 and 64 provide a ...
It is here: http://liveusb.info/tmp/gtkdialog-0.8.3/

Last edited by frafa on Fri 11 Jan 2013, 07:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3259
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 21:11    Post subject:  

I put the gtkdialog examples in an easy to install pet package

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82059


__________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 09:08    Post subject:  

Hey Thunor et al

There's ambiguous behaviour of <spinbutton> when floating point values are in use.

Example 1:
Code:
echo '<spinbutton range-step="0.01"></spinbutton>' | gtkdialog -s

works fine with English country settings (dot as a decimal separator), but fails with, eg. German (comma as separator).

Example 2:
Code:
echo '<spinbutton range-step="0,01"></spinbutton>' | gtkdialog -s

and the situation is opposite.

Ref:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=681587#681587
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=682138#682138 (last sentence)

Is there anything what can be done about it, or the only way is to determine which type of decimal separator is in use (btw, what's the best way to do so?), before I export the GUI?

Thanks & Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thunor


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 350
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 17:32    Post subject:  

@SFR: Read from here onwards. Argolance (French user) I believe solves it 8 posts later.

Basically the decimal mark requires internationalising within your script.

Regards,
Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 19:11    Post subject:  

Thanks!

In the meantime I made up an alternative (not extensively tested), "dirty" method based on printf error:
Code:
[ "`printf %.1f 1.1 2> /dev/null`" = "1.1" ] && echo "DOT" || echo "COMMA"

however Argolance's looks more elegant. Smile

Thanks again & Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 06:24    Post subject:  

.
Last edited by simargl on Sun 01 Sep 2013, 10:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
thunor


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 350
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 08:18    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Hello,
Are there plans for gtkdialog to support GTK3?
I want to use gtk3 (3.6) in next release of ArchPup http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84353 and currently
only 3 applications - gtkdialog, geany, firefox - require keeping GTK2.
Kind regard

This is on the to-do list but I'll need to install a GKT+ 3 distro and I've become accustomed to downloading a puppy ISO and extracting the few files necessary, so if it involves burning an oversized ISO image then I'll have to locate my sole CD-RW disc packed away in one of my boxes which likely won't be oversized enough anyway.

Maybe it's as simple as changing the gtk+ and gthread version numbers in configure.in and running ./autogen.sh? I doubt it but it's the first thing I would do.

Regards,
Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 09:11    Post subject:  

.
Last edited by simargl on Sun 01 Sep 2013, 10:36; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
thunor


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 350
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 10:57    Post subject:  

I've found Mageia 2 which uses gtk+ 3.6.2 on a 671MB live CD so I'll dig out my CD-RW over the next few days and partition/install/set-up etc. I'm sure ArchPup is really nice but for me it makes sense to develop on a mainstream distro that is ready to go.

Leave it with me, it'll take some time to get just the development environment running but it might be pretty straightforward after that.

Regards,
Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1026
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 22:20    Post subject:  

@thunor, there is a mage2 puppy in next to final beta out, I'm awaiting a few retro fixes by the mageia people before bringing the final beta out, if it's any help.

The link is below!

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575

Last edited by scsijon on Sun 03 Mar 2013, 21:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
thunor


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 350
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 17:43    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
@thunor, there is a mage2 puppy in next to final beta out, I'm awaiting a few retro fixes by the mageia people before bringing the final beta out, if it's any help.

There's a Puppy ISO and DEVX which includes gtk+ 3 and all dependencies ready to go? If so can I have a link please.

I haven't had any luck yet installing a gtk+ 3 distro because my CD-RW was too small and I got a boot loader up from my SD card + reader but it failed after that so I think it has to be a flash drive. I'm not familiar with installing from SD/flash so I don't know.

I shall have to create another gtkdialog branch because I'll have to purge the code of all the deprecated stuff and widgets (combobox, comboboxentry, list, table) so once I'm up and running it could take some time to complete.

Regards,
Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 20:09    Post subject:  

Thunor,

I don't know what dev box you are using but Slacko-5.5 is ready very soon. It's based on slackware-14.0 bins like 5.4 but with many bugs fixed. Min system requirements are a P3 900 with 512 RAM, unless you want to do a full install then that can be cut down a bit.

I have just constructed an sfs of audacious which includes gtk+3-3.4.4-i486-1.txz and all development headers and libraries plus .pc files, docs and demos.

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/sfs_xz/audacious-3.3.1-i486.sfs 12M

checksum <-- 1b5c7ad0fa837a7bea1071a2610fd012 audacious-3.3.1-i486.sfs

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 04:09    Post subject:  

.
Last edited by simargl on Sun 01 Sep 2013, 10:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 48 of 55 [821 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, ..., 53, 54, 55 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0938s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]