Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 18:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
rwishlaw

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 21:30    Post subject:  

Dear Kernel 3.8.0:

On my Asus A7V400-MX with 500 mb RAM, using Puppy Precise 5.4.93 .iso burned to a DVD, the BootFlash Installer and the Puppy Universal Installer both produce a USB that, when it is booted, unfortunately states

"Searching for Puppy files. puppy_precise_5.4.93.sfs not found."

And, as well, this being Awards Season in North America, I would like to nominate Sage an 'Understatement of the Year' award for the comment

"Remarkably slow loading and initial setup ...."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9220
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 23:30    Post subject:  

That message is usually associated with problems when booting off CD/DVDs. It would be interesting to know if the ISObooter method here gets you a working USB drive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kurtdriver

Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 00:31    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:


OK, SNS now has a scrollbar if more than 11 wifi networks found.

This is in Woof, committed and uploaded.

Oh, thank you, very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kurtdriver

Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 00:43    Post subject:  

I'm getting configure errors, I wanted to learn to make .pets, and downloaded Mplayer, Httrack, and Rhythmcat and in each typing ./configure gets me the same error:
Code:

checking whether we are cross compiling... configure: error: in `/mnt/sdb2/RhythmCat-1.0.0-1':
configure: error: cannot run C compiled programs.
If you meant to cross compile, use `--host'.

I can't recall seeing this on Fedora, but I haven't done much with source, am I doing something wrong, or is GCC?
This is on 5.4.90, with G.C.C 4.6.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5896
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 01:41    Post subject:  

Frugal install of 5.4.9.2....all looking good so far.

# report-video

VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.92

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse record shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory : 3888MB (227MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 21 Feb 2013 11:43:52 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on NV4C
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
-In-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory : 3888MB (227MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 21 Feb 2013 11:43:52 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on NV4C
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 05:01    Post subject: compressed NTFS  

I have found a problem with use of compressed-NTFS and both versions of 5.5beta.

This problem differs from past reports because this problem occurs in the following manner. (As we may remember, the past problem was with SHUTDOWN processing of the save-session)

This problem occurs at boot-time under the following scenario:
  1. Copy the CD contents to a folder on compressed-NTFS
  2. Instruct the GRUB4DOS boot manager to find the files needed at boot.
  3. Boot system with newly changed GRUB4DOS


System appears to start but aborts within 5 seconds as follows:
Code:
(hd0,4)
[Linux-bzImage, setup=0x3e00, size=0s2ce260]
[Linux-initrd @ 0x5e3000,0x1df473 bytes]

uncompression error
--system halted
By simply moving the Precise data folder from the compressed-NTFS to a standard NTFS,and having GRUB4DOS point to its new NTFS location, the system will boot without problems.

This has not happened with Pemasu's versions of Precise.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 07:55    Post subject:  

Hi BarryK,

I upgraded direct from my 5.4 PAE Multi-session-live-CD to 5.4.92 two days ago and, having since used that as my sole OS, I have only good news and praise.

I’ve some minor observations, but 01micko's desktop pet was appreciated:
(a) Desktop icon changes were lost, but “desksetup-0.4.pet” restored them
(b) The file “.jwmrc-tray” was replaced (so I re-entered - maxwidth=”25“)
(c) I had changed the backgrounds - and the new seascape was not added.

My regards and thanks

PS The iso downloaded at some 9 times expected speed. So,
thank you, in case it was not mere luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 09:33    Post subject: Precise 5.4.9.3 (k3.8.0)
Subject description: More on NVIDIA, network, textmaker problems
 

@micko1:

I tried a clean boot with:
Code:
pfix=ram nouveau.noaccel=1
as suggested. This does allow you to load the nouveau driver with the xorgwizard prompting both report-video and xorg.conf to identify the driver as 'nouveau'. Unfortunately, glxgears reports only 38 fps (as compared to ca. 1350 fps with k3.2.29 and the proprietary nvidia driver 173.14.35 in Precise 5.4.92). So at least with my hardware (GeForce FX5200), this does not seem to be a viable solution.

@pemasu:

Unfortunately, linking the missing version.h (or copying it to the expected location does not fix the problem with compiling the nvidia drivers in k3.8.0 as it did in k3.7.2. This produces:
Code:
Error: Unable to determine kernel module filename

This is true for 173.14.35 and the latest driver 173.14.36 (dated October 4, 2012).

@rcrsn51:

Thanks for the explanation. It is too bad that the newer kernels won't work with the Samba-TNG server. I don't have time to mess with the full samba at the moment, so I will just have to roll back to an earlier kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9220
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 09:38    Post subject: Re: compressed NTFS  

gcmartin wrote:
I have found a problem with use of compressed-NTFS and both versions of 5.5beta.

I cannot duplicate this problem. I made a compressed NTFS drive and booted 5493 using Grub4Dos. Everything worked correctly, including saving to /mnt/home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 12:27    Post subject: syslogd & klogd send messages from the future.  

When examining /var/log/messages, one will notice that many messages seem to be coming from some time in the future. If one is not aware of this, it can be very confusing while trying to troubleshoot problems. Even if one is aware of it, it is confusing since not all messages arrive via time warps, so one cannot simply subtract a constant offset to determine the actual time that any given message arrived. It is as if time keeps jumping backward and forward.

(Although I don't have Precise Puppy, this behavior has existed in recent Puppies, and looking at the appropriate scripts in Woof, I see no reason to think that this has changed.)


Here is what is happening:

In order to prevent timestamps from the future from being written to a partition during e2fsck, in the init script in initrd, the TZ environment variable is set to a fictitious time zone 23 hours east of Greenwich ("TZ=XXX-23"). (See Barry's blog: Timezone in the initrd (initramfs))

So if the hardware clock currently says 12:00 noon on Monday, Linux will assume it is 12:00 noon on Monday in that fictitious time zone when init executes "/bin/hwclock --hctosys --localtime", and sets the system clock to 13:00 UTC on Sunday.

This is good. It works as intended.

But the system clock will later be reset by /etc/rc.country based upon the user's actual timezone. If the user lives in London, the system clock will be reset to 12:00 noon UTC on Monday.

Now any process that still believes "TZ=XXX-23" will believe that the local time is 11:00 AM on Tuesday.

Because syslogd and klogd were started with "TZ=XXX-23" in their environment, they still think they are living in that fictitious time zone. So klogd will send log messages with timestamps based on local time in that timezone, which will be 23 hours ahead of UTC. Messages passed to syslogd will also be logged with a timestamp 23 hours ahead of UTC, unless the caller passes its own timestamp along with the message that it passes to syslogd.

The time offset will not always be 23 hours, but will vary depending upon the user's time zone. For instance, in the UTC+1 time zone the offset will be only 22 hours. In the UTC+8 time zone it will be 15 hours. But it can be as much as 35 hours -- that would be in the UTC-12 time zone (although that time zone mostly applies only to folks visiting a few uninhabited Pacific islands or in the radio room of a ship on the high seas just east of 180 degrees of longitude Smile ).


Here is an example:

In the following excerpt from a bash session I run logger to send a message to syslogd; logger knows the correct timezone and so sends a good timestamp. Then I pass a message to /dev/kmsg, which klogd finds and sends on to syslogd; klogd still thinks the timezone is "XXX-23" so sends a bad timestamp. (I am using UTC for localtime.)
Code:
# date
Fri Feb 22 13:49:26 UTC 2013
# logger "Test message via logger."
# echo "Test message via klogd." > /dev/kmsg
# tail -n 2 /var/log/messages
Feb 22 13:49:33 puppypc9902 user.notice root: Test message via logger.
Feb 23 12:49:43 puppypc9902 user.warn kernel: [771703.492205] Test message via klogd.
# date
Fri Feb 22 13:50:11 UTC 2013
#


The easiest way to fix it is probably to simply restore one line of code in /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit that Barry added on 2010-Mar-19, but soon commented-out. This is the line:
Code:
#unset TZ #100319 busybox hwclock gives priority to this (rather than /etc/localtime) and 'init' has set it wrong.

Then, after restoring:
Code:
unset TZ #100319 busybox hwclock gives priority to this (rather than /etc/localtime) and 'init' has set it wrong.

I have not tried this, so this advice comes with no warranty, and I don't know if there might be any nasty side-effects. But I don't anticipate any, since all it does is allow processes started to use /etc/localtime, whatever that may be, or UTC if /etc/localtime doesn't exist, rather the the fictitious time zone.

Barry, I'm guessing that you commented-out that line since the time zone would soon be set in rc.country, based on the next comment in the code:
Code:
#...comment-out for now. note, TZ now set in rc.country.

If I am assuming incorrectly, and unsetting TZ caused problems, a better fix will obviously be needed.

(One minor side-effect of this suggested fix would be that any messages logged by syslogd or klogd in the few seconds before the system clock is reset -- including any in the kmsg queue -- will have a wrong timestamp. As it stands now, if the hardware clock is set to local time, those timestamps will actually be right: since both the system clock and the time zone are wrong, the two wrongs cancel each other out. With the suggested fix, during those few seconds timestamps would seem to come from the past by varying amounts of time, again depending upon local time zone, or by exactly 23 hours on first boot when the /etc/localtime symlink does not yet exist. That's assuming hardware clock is on local time. If it is on UTC, timestamps would seem to come from exactly 23 hours in the past, or by varying amounts of time on first boot when the /etc/localtime symlink does not yet exist. But it seems preferable to have the timestamps correct for all the time between boot and shutdown than to have them correct during a small fraction of the boot process.)


Of course there are alternate solutions:

The syslogd and klogd daemons could be restarted after rc.country sets the clock properly by running "00sys_logger stop" and 00sys_logger start".

Or setting the clock could be moved forward in the boot process so that it happens before those logging daemons are first started. But I don't know what complications might arise from doing that.


Here is an example of someone who ran into this timestamp problem. He reported that restoring the "unset TZ" line in rc.sysinit fixed it.

Time weirdness, reported time is 31 hours into the future

(His local time was UTC-8. 8 + 23 = 31.)

Here is my response.


Another report:
On Jan 29, in Slacko-5.4 feedback and bug reports, ally wrote:
also noticed that /var/log/messages date is one day forward (ie 30 jan)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2391
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 15:18    Post subject:  

kurtdriver wrote:
BarryK wrote:


OK, SNS now has a scrollbar if more than 11 wifi networks found.

This is in Woof, committed and uploaded.

Oh, thank you, very much!

+1 thanks, have that same issue, but on a 1024x600 screen, so may need to scrollbar with less rows... keep a easy to find label tab on that fix if 11 is still too long.
The mouse freeze at first boots seems to have reappeared on the newer kernel version, maybe add a kernel command switch to adjustable timeout increase until the cause is found.
This version seems crisp, clean and more responsive. Like the choice of colors, icons and wallpaper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 15:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
mouse freeze at first boots
Yup! Already reported. Haven't seen this feature for a while. Suggested USB mouse till subsequent boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 16:40    Post subject: Broadcom wl driver  

I have compiled the Broadcom wl driver for Precise 5.5Beta with kernel 3.8.0

Load the delta file from:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76495&start=49

followed by the multi-kernel driver pet from post #1 of that topic

then reboot.

I had some problems compiling which I will record in Barry's blog.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 17:40    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy version 5.4.93 (5.5beta)

Manual frugal to ext3 partition and booting via grub4dos, on my 10yr old Acer laptop.

Exceptional, all the basics work as expected OOTB .

Not quite as nippy as on the newer laptop, but that’s expected.
All things considered - a Luvly Puppy - many thanks.

Hinfo report FYI.
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  not a gz. rename t html.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  44.32 KB 
Downloaded  69 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tater


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 19:23    Post subject:  

I cannot connect to my samba shares. I've tried Pnethood, YASSM, and the scan network in rox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1348s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0214s) ][ GZIP on ]