Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 21:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XFCE/LXDE/MATE Desktops for ArchPup 13.2/13.2.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Author Message
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 594
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 08:22    Post_subject:  

stifiling wrote:

yes the permissions are all taken care of. sorry about the inconvenience.


No worries, these things take time. It's not an inconvenience at all. Thanks for all your hard work to give us XFCE,

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 594
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 06:35    Post_subject:  

Stifiling, the settings manager is missing some categories (see screen shot below). It seems that personal and hardware .directories are missing from /usr/share/desktop-directories. I copied them from one of the old sfs's and I'll edit this sfs later. Other than that,no issues so far.
Screenshot .png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.35 KB
 Viewed   995 Time(s)

Screenshot .png


_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 07:13    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:
Stifiling, the settings manager is missing some categories (see screen shot below). It seems that personal and hardware .directories are missing from /usr/share/desktop-directories. I copied them from one of the old sfs's and I'll edit this sfs later. Other than that,no issues so far.


thanks for finding that fix, rg66.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 594
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 17:31    Post_subject: Thunar custom actions  

Here are some handy right click custom actions for thunar installed with a script, customized for archpup with xfce..

Rc-actions are from Saluki/Carolina, it includes: create symbolic link, create tar.gz, gzip file(s), permanently remove and show full path.

Calculate md5sum: allows for multiple files an copy/paste.

Copy to and move to: copy and move files and folders

Make executable: make files executable

Uca.xml must be put in /root/.config/Thunar first, unless you have already made a custom action which will generate it.

*Make the script executable and run it. Restart thunar for them to show up in right click menu and restart X to get them to show on the desktop.
cp_mv-to.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  cp_mv-to.sh.gz 
Filesize  346 Bytes 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
uca.xml.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  uca.xml.gz 
Filesize  243 Bytes 
Downloaded  93 Time(s) 
rc-actions.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  rc-actions.sh.gz 
Filesize  641 Bytes 
Downloaded  140 Time(s) 
calc-md5.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  calc-md5.sh.gz 
Filesize  331 Bytes 
Downloaded  143 Time(s) 
make-ex.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  make-ex.sh.gz 
Filesize  293 Bytes 
Downloaded  140 Time(s) 

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 11:10    Post_subject:  

the mate desktop was rather difficult to put together because it isn't officially supported by Arch Linux. According to 'my' tests though...it's stable. if there's any problems with it....please report.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 08:40    Post_subject:  

Hello stifiling, I'm testing mate desktop and it is really great Very Happy , maybe even better than the xfce
Boot without save file(pfix=ram), on start it uses only 130 MB of RAM
One minor problem - some icons in the menu are missing, and reason is this; on boot rc.sysinit will launch
Code:
gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor

.. but only if /usr/share/icons/hicolor/icon-theme.cache does not exist, for next version you may want to delete that file
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 09:36    Post_subject:  

simargl wrote:
Hello stifiling, I'm testing mate desktop and it is really great Very Happy , maybe even better than the xfce
Boot without save file(pfix=ram), on start it uses only 130 MB of RAM
One minor problem - some icons in the menu are missing, and reason is this; on boot rc.sysinit will launch
Code:
gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor

.. but only if /usr/share/icons/hicolor/icon-theme.cache does not exist, for next version you may want to delete that file


ok i'll do that. and i was thinking the 'exact' same thing. never thought twice about messing with mate, because xfce is so nice. but when i decided to try it out i got to thinking "Wow, mate is really nice." It seems to be just as fast as xfce though it's bigger. can't say the same for KDE. KDE is a big floppy jalopy, but also nice if you got the processor for it.

i'm not crazy about Marco window manager with mate....so I've got mines mix and matched using xfwm4-tiling window manager. so i can tile the open windows by dragging them to the sides.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
withoutpity

Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 22:38    Post_subject:  

Many thx stifiling, mate here is really GREATE.
I've test it for a day and it work well without any crash.
Really a strong desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 07:24    Post_subject: Ease of use  

Stifling

How easy is archpup + Xfce for a novice linux user?

Does for example wireless work out of the box?

I don't know if you tried Carolina puppy? If so how do you rate ease of use between the two?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
komet

Joined: 12 Dec 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 05:08    Post_subject:  

Hi, I am using stiflings' MATE desktop with Archpup 13.2.2 and I am having trouble getting a screen shot of my desktop. When I press the PrintScreen key on my keyboard, I get an error message saying that mate-screenshot cannot be found. I'm wondering whether I need download a different program to take a screenshot.
@Scooby-Try Archpup with any of the window managers. I tried XFCE before MATE (I prefer MATE or OpenBox) and I can tell you that wifi (for me) worked out of the box. I haven't tried Carolina, but give Archpup a try first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike delaw

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 06:39    Post_subject:  

How come that Grub4DOS is included in Openbox version but not MATE (I haven't checked for XFCE). Or am I blind? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mike delaw

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 05:48    Post_subject:  

Never mind. I found a solution myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 14:01    Post_subject:  

Sorry all, I've been messing around with AlphaOS lately and there's things about it that makes it work better than ArchPup. It does everything that ArchPup can do plus more. So i'm planning to do the desktops on that one.

I know there's been a lot of frequent changes but we should be stabilized there. Pacman works in it. Frisbee works correctly, the kernel is able to be changed without having that one issue where the modules wasn't loading, and wine appears to work better also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0805s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]