Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 20:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620beta1 (Thread closed)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 21:58    Post subject:  

Great, thanks Smokey!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1842
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 22:48    Post subject:  

kirk/jamesbond.

When switching from openbox to jwm, all seems ok however, when switching back to openbox, lxpanel does not start.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 862
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 06:16    Post subject:  

hey jamesbond/kirk

beta1 running well on a lenovo t61, I have been trying to convert my son to puppy on his acer 8735g which currently run win7 64 VERY badly - really slow and constant problems

I have tried the new beta but the system runs really hot (all previous puppy versions would stop within a minute overheating) this kernel seems to be better but runs uncomfortably hot

details: acer 8935g, core2duo T6600, intel mobile 4 chipset, AMD ATI RV730XT graphics

why would puppy/fatdog cause problems? running an anti-x build ok to get system info??

cheers

ally Smile

ps - when fatdog running it's amazing quick!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1842
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 08:16    Post subject:  

The get LibreOffice downloader/installer won't download ver 4.0.0.0

It works fine for 3.6.5.

I have tried micko's version 23 and it didn't work either. Complains it can't get package info.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 09:29    Post subject:  

Hi kirk-jamesbond:

Did a USB install on my Acer5750.
I'm afraid I'm stuck with my wl driver problem again.
The wl driver couldn't be activated in services.

Followed the steps you helped me with in 611 (pages 1.2) which were successful.
Installed Broadcom-wl.pet.
Re-booted:
The wl driver showed up as activated in services but would not connect.
It does not show in network wizard.

Did this just to check:

modprobe lib80211
modprobe cfg80211
insmod /usr/share/broadcom/wl.ko

It told me that broadcom/wl was installed already.

Don't know if you can help but I would like to keep up to date with fatdog.

irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 165
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 09:38    Post subject:  

Hello Kirk

Quote:
Have you tried turning on the samba server and sharing files from your Downloads folder in the past?


I don't use networking, apart from internet access, so I have never tried that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 10:05    Post subject:  

ally,

Try installing the proprietary ATI driver, James says one of his systems runs a lot cooler with it. You'll need Catalyst 12.8 for that one. Here a link to the pet:


http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pets/600/ati-catalyst-legacy-13.1-3.7.7.pet

smokey01,

So far I can switch back and forth between JWM and openbox without problems. I'll try a few other things. Caution about JWM, it's in there just in case openbox has problems. Nether James or my self use it, so it's not really maintained.

irishrm,

Don't use the old pet package. Reboot after deleting your savefile or boot with savefile=none. Then go to Control Panel and click on the System tab. Then click on 'Manage Servers and Services'. Click on BC-wl and click Start and Enable. Then right click on the wpa_gui icon in the tray and select restart connection. After wpa_gui restarts click on the wpa_gui icon and select scan and see if anything shows up.

LateAdopter,

For the next release autochownd won't start if the Downloads folder is some place where ownership can't be set. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 10:56    Post subject:  

Kirk:
Did as you requested.

Manage Servers and services says bc-wl currently running=yes.
Scan shows nothing.

Not showing in network wizard.

Got the same result earlier that's why I tried the old wl pet.

irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 11:44    Post subject:  

Kirk wrote:
gcmartin,
Do you mean "Fatdog64 with multisession support" is giving you the video problems? And the normal boot (first boot option) is working?
I amended the post with add'l details.

You may have already taken a look at the Hardinfo report provided in that post. This X2 system has its video on-board the motherboard and the system did not have problems when it ran FATDOG 5.2+.
  • Should I run TaZoC's sys-info utility.?
  • Is there any other tool that would provide additional useful information?
Lastly, I am running the system via start to xorgwizard. The only driver which starts on the system and does NOT screw the video and lock the system is VESA. (Other driver selections via xorgwizard would end in "Failure ..."

Hope this provides useful understanding

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 737
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 12:37    Post subject:
Subject description: The UEFI Boot Works Well
 

I spent the morning testing on my Compaq CQ-58 using the UEFI "secure" boot process. Fatdog64-620beta1 did work for the CDROM and a USB using my process (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83402). I do have to say thank you for modifying Grub2 to ask how to find the grub.cfg file. It solves the issues of using a USB flash device as a rescue device. Previously, Grub2 would always use the hard drive grub.cfg file.

I did try GIMP and it worked fine.

The only minor problem with a hard drive install was I use a previous save file. Upon startup, the display was highly distorted. I use ctrl alt backspace to stop the x server. After running xorgwizard, everything was fine.

If you use an USB flash drive with an existing hard drive grub2 installation. The grub.cfg file on the USB needs this:

Code:
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set xxxx-xxx
# above line searches for UUID and sets root to device with UUID


before starting the kernel.

I can not test fatdog64 with an existing Windows 8 installation. I got tied of the Micro$oft problems and replaced the hard drive with a new solid state one. No Windows for me.

I do have a question on the beta. Does it contain the kernel modules Ralink_390sta? I need it for the wireless card. It seems the card is sleep mode (or airplane mode) and is not being detected. I need to manually add it. Thanks for any help on the wireless card.

I know it is the year of the snake for the Chinese. For me, this year is turning out to be the year of the Fatdog

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 13:11    Post subject:  

gcmartin,

Sounds like problems with nouveau. You can try booting with nouveau.noaccel=1.

If that doesn't help you can try booting with "Start Fatdog64 with the chosen resolution" boot option (Which uses nomodeset and pfix=xorgwizard) and try the nv driver in the xorgwizard.

If that doesn't work you can try one of the proprietary nvidia drivers here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pets/600/nvidia-legacy-304.64-3.7.7.pet

or

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pets/600/nvidia-310.32-3.7.7.pet

You'll need to find out what chip set your nvidia card has and go to nvidia's web site and see if you need the 304.x or 310.x pet package.

JustGreg,

I compiled all of the wireless modules that are included with the kernel including the staging ones. The only extra module I included was the Broadcom wl module, which has to be manually activated in the Control Panel. If you have a link to the source code for your wireless card. I might include it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 13:34    Post subject:  

looking forward to testing this out when I get home. Smile
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 145
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 16:16    Post subject:  

HI,

Thank you for this new version of Fatdog64.
When my monitor is supposed to sleep, the screen goes black for a few seconds, then turns on again. This is on a desktop, using nouveau driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 737
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 21:50    Post subject:  

Kirk, no need for a new module. If the hardware identifies your wireless module as RaLink Device 539b then Fatdog64 has module rt2800pci that will work for it. Alternative identification for the device is Ralink [1814:539b]. I found alternative identification when looking for information on the wifi device. You may have to do a modprobe command to install it and get the module out of airplane mode. Once out of airplane mode, it does work.

I now have it working. However, I can not place the wifi adapter into airplane mode with the F9 key. I think hp_wmi module may have something to do with it. I did some searching and yes, the hp-wmi module does toggle the wifi adapter from normal to airplane mode. However, it is not clear how one does that, more research needed.

I tried the savefile directory and had a problem with it. Seamonkey could not find the profile for itself and would not start. However, going back to the savefile, everything worked correctly. What needs to be done to go from an existing fd64save.ext4 to a savefile directory. I also had the new savefile directory in the same partition. Should it be in another partition? Thank you in advance for any help on this.

I have Thunderbird up and running on the beta without an problems.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 06:36    Post subject:  

smokey01

No problem switching jwm too. Could be because of your previous icewm experiment? Check contents of $HOME/.fatdog/windowpanel.
Try restarting openbox like this (from terminal): "restartwm openbox lxpanel" or otherwise delete that file.

ally,

In my laptop, idling with radeon open source driver my temp hovers around 65 C, with ATI driver it is 45 C.

irishrm,

after you turn on the BC-wl service, reboot. Some cards require reboot before it works properly with wl (mine is one of those).

JustGreg,

Is the filesystem where the save directory exist ext2/3/4? Assuming you start with a "fresh" save directory, there shouldn't be anything in /root/spot/.mozilla. Save directory can be anywhere. You cannot convert from savefile to save directory (at least not easily) - you can switch between them, however (just like you can switch between multiple savefiles).

Your success of using previous savefile depends on how much customisation you have done on it, especially if it involves kernel modules - new releases normally come with new kernels which make previous kernel modules stop working.

Thank you for your advice on grub2, I'm sure it's useful for others too.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0962s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]