Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 06:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to simply add custom temporary entries to puppy Menu
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 02:12    Post subject:  How to simply add custom temporary entries to puppy Menu  

For the correct way see:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=63006

I don't like this difficult way. I'm lazy and I would keep it simple. I just edit /root/.jwmrc and restart jwm. The problem is that when you reboot o restart X somewhere the fixmenus script is recalled and you'll loose your custom entries. So I have renamed /usr/sbin/fixmenus as /usr/sbin/fixmenus.new. Now you'll mantain your Menu custom entries in .jwmrc: just restart jwm after a new entry is added. When you install a new package with a Menu-entry you'll have to run fixmenus.new loosing your custom entries in .jwmrc. No problem: just reenter them (I hope few custom entries) in .jwmrc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 03:52    Post subject: Re: How to simply add custom temporary entries to puppy Menu  

watchdog wrote:
For the correct way see:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=63006

I don't like this difficult way. I'm lazy and I would keep it simple. I just edit /root/.jwmrc and restart jwm. The problem is that when you reboot o restart X somewhere the fixmenus script is recalled and you'll loose your custom entries. So I have renamed /usr/sbin/fixmenus as /usr/sbin/fixmenus.new. Now you'll mantain your Menu custom entries in .jwmrc: just restart jwm after a new entry is added. When you install a new package with a Menu-entry you'll have to run fixmenus.new loosing your custom entries in .jwmrc. No problem: just reenter them (I hope few custom entries) in .jwmrc.


See the Puppy Wiki entry by darkcity: http://puppylinux.org/wikka/JWMMenuCategory It provides a simpler explanation and procedure (than provided by kamato) which would probably suit most users.

watchdog, why are you not running fixmenus command after editing your .jwmrc file, but before restarting JWM? Does this not work for you? Maybe you could provide a specific example of how you have been modifying your menu in Puppy.

Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 07:30    Post subject: Re: How to simply add custom temporary entries to puppy Menu  

Quote:

See the Puppy Wiki entry by darkcity: http://puppylinux.org/wikka/JWMMenuCategory It provides a simpler explanation and procedure (than provided by kamato) which would probably suit most users.

watchdog, why are you not running fixmenus command after editing your .jwmrc file, but before restarting JWM? Does this not work for you? Maybe you could provide a specific example of how you have been modifying your menu in Puppy.


If I say the truth I don't use this method: I prefer just links to the desktop to launch my custom scripts. But I have realized the way to make entries in puppy Menu to launch fron Menu these scripts without having to follow the tiring exact procedure involving /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc. I give an example. I could edit /root/.jwmrc in wary 5.3 to make an entry for a script to launch the new 2.15.2 seamonkey browser preloading some libraries. An extract of /root/.jwmrc could be:

Code:
<Program label="Pwsget secure file downloader" icon="pwget.png">pwsget</Program>
<Program label="SeaMonkey mail and news" icon="seamonkey16.xpm">mozmail</Program>
<Program label="SeaMonkey web browser" icon="seamonkey16.xpm">mozilla</Program>
<Program label="SeaMonkey 2.15.2 web browser" icon="seamonkey16.xpm">/root/my-documents/Downloads/s2.15.2/seamonkey2.15.2</Program>
<Program label="Secure ssh remote login" icon="mini-sh1.xpm">securetelnetshell</Program>
<Program label="Ssh-gui secure remote login" icon="mini-sh1.xpm">ssh-gui</Program>


Restarting jwm I have the new entry in the Menu. But if fixmenus in invoked (at reboot, restarting X, or manually at terminal) the entry disappears because I did not follow the correct way of editing Menu involving /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc from which is created a new /root/.jwmrc. But I repeat: I don't use this method, I just make links to the desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 08:05    Post subject: Re: How to simply add custom temporary entries to puppy Menu
Subject description: temporary
 

watchdog wrote:
For the correct way see:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=63006

I don't like this difficult way. I'm lazy and I would keep it simple. I just edit /root/.jwmrc and restart jwm. The problem is that when you reboot o restart X somewhere the fixmenus script is recalled and you'll loose your custom entries. ...


What you are calling "correct" and "difficult" is NOT temporary.
So why do call it "problem" when you restart or reboot?
Or am I not understanding the meaning of "temporary" Question Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 08:21    Post subject: Re: How to simply add custom temporary entries to puppy Menu
Subject description: temporary
 

Quote:
Or am I not understanding the meaning of "temporary" Question Rolling Eyes


"Temporary" because when you install a new package with Menu-entry you do have to run fixmenus (fixmenus.new in my case) to see the entry in puppy Menu: at the same time the "temporary" entries in puppy menu inserted by editing only .jwmrc disappear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0527s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]