Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 21:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 16:50    Post subject:  

Congrats - this is the first Precise (5.4.90) I can boot on my system!
Using the radeon.modeset=0 I get a vesa driver, and I am in...

phil666 reported on the forum that pMusic troubles in Precise. It plays ok, but calculation of time (current track-length status) fails. This because Precise is using libav instead of ffmpeg. I am not the one to decide what to use, but it would be good to hear your thoughts about this. It is basically NOT a problem to support both, but they are not equal, so the backend I use daily will be the only well tested solution. Atm, I am developing on Slacko which uses ffmpeg. As I see it, there are 3 temporary ways out of it.
1). Precise use libav and find another player.
2.) Precise use ffmpeg and use pMusic.
3.) Precise use libav, use pMusic, and I fix bugs reported by Precise users.
Later...
At first spot, this issue is because libav and ffmpeg has different format to stdout. It interferes with several functions - progressbar, trackinfo, db management, and probably more.... Hmmmm, no good. If you have a short development cycle on this release, I am not sure I can follow. New stuff needs testing as well.

Alsa
I have 2 soundcards, and the one I want to use is hw:1 (default is hw:0 set). So I run 'Multiple sound card wizard'. It fails in the last stage since retvol doesn't change to hw:1. This has been fixed for Slacko 5.4 by 01micko.

Mouse
As I wrote in the Slacko thread:
Puppy has a very aggressive mouse pointer. Its default acceleration is set to 2 with a threshold of 4. This will give me inflammation in my mouse arm, so in all these Puppy years I have set it to 1.2 (acceleration) and 13 (threshold). Well, I will not state what is correct, but how can a newbie find the setting? Is pupX set properties of X informative? - Doubt it. And I think it would be good with a link in the mouse/keyboard wizard. I wouldn't be surprised if that is the place a newbie would look.

Talking about menu descriptions, it may be worth to rethink 'JWM configuration' as well.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3075
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 17:31    Post subject:  

I prefer to install and use ShallowThought gtk theme by tuxtoo
Available
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=644958#644958



.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bwh1969

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 127
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 19:34    Post subject: Does/is ACPI supported in this version?  

I have been using 5.4.3 and it doesn't seem to support acpi (lid close to suspend) events.

I modded the 5.4.3 and recompressed the sfs so that it has all my mods and programs so I am deciding whether to go this way or just stick with what I have for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 19:43    Post subject:  

I've been using/testing 5491 for a couple of days now, and thought I'd
report the video situation here on four different old desktops. At first,
Precise only worked on one machine having a Nvidia PCI card. Two
machines having motherboard Intel video hardware usually work ok
on pups but not this pup. So went to the junk box and pulled out an old
S3 Savage PCI card and a ATI Radeon AGP slot card. Installing these
on two machines resulted in success. So three of my old pentium 4
desktops are running the latest Linux kernel rc7. Amazing! Smile

I've reported to pemasu on a different thread that this latest kernel still
has the wireless bug where I must turn OFF power management on
wlan0. All pups I've tested starting with the 3.04 kernel have the bug.
I place a script in /root/startup having the single line:
iwconfig wlan0 power off
and SNS establishes connection immediately at startup. Otherwise,
connecting is almost impossible.

Otherwise, 5491 looks like the beginning of another super pup to me!

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hogweed

Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 20:45    Post subject: Re: Email notification  

ASRI éducation wrote:
@ Hogweed à irishrm

Nothing is wrong with Seamonkey, but with less powerful computers (that is the target of Puppy) Seamonkey is too resource intensive to be present in the background (it uses too much RAM).

One of my Puppy machines is a Fujitsu Stylistic 3400 (400 Mhz Pentium 3, 192MB , 6 Gig disk) with touchscreen drivers fully working ( http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64937 ) so I'm not assuming a lot of resources. Smile With a swapfile for memory starved systems and prudent use of the time check intervals there's very little real overhead for background email checking. However I realise sometimes one person's "very little" is still too much in other situations..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 22:46    Post subject: 5.4.91-K3.8rc7  

Precise-5.4.91-K3.8rc7

Been running this most of the day, installed same programs I did in 5.4.90. Everything went smooth without problem one!

Linksys-AE1000 using the rt2800ubs installed on the first shot and is remaining rock-solid through Internet usage and reboots (have to admit, this is the FIRST time it installed on the first try, even 5.4.90 took TWO tries to get it going.)

It used to be that running certain programs you could tell which puppy performed the best and run the fastest... with all the new puppy builds that have recently come on stage (non PAE)... it is hard, very hard indeed to say which is now superior... so, I run them all Smile

This build (5.4.91+) is indeed very, very nice and the latest kernel... can't really say what it does better than the previous 3.+ ones but for sure there has to be advantages somewhere?

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 23:49    Post subject:  

Precise puppy 5.4.90 :
- /dev/dri should belong to "video" group. Same for /dev/dvb , /dev/fw* , /dev/vbi* and /dev/video*
- /dev/console should belong to group "tty"
- sda16 has device numbers 259,0 but should not exist, device documentation says limit to sda15. Same for sdb16 sdc16 etc.
- /dev/ram should be a link to /dev/ram1 ?
- /etc/host.conf could have line "nospoof on" for security
- /etc/group can be simplified to 19 groups or less
- weird thing, takes a long time to boot, to load kernel in RAM.
- new big files are there (LLVM, ICU, Seamonkey).
- In general a better puppy with less bugs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 06:39    Post subject: Re: Problem with report-video  

ETP wrote:
BarryK wrote:
ETP wrote:
Currently picks up my pci DVB-T card details rather than my graphics card.


ETP,
Would you mind running these two, and post them here (this forum thread):

# scanpci | gzip - > scanpci.log.gz
# lspci | gzip - > lspci.log.gz

Barry,

Logs are attached from 5.4.91 which has the same issue.


Thanks, I have fixed the "Chip description" part of report-video.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 06:56    Post subject: Re: Drive icon issue with SD cards.  

ETP wrote:
I am curious as to why these are only ever displayed as USB icons rather than card icons.
Is this a hardware issue or a bug? - It seems to afflict Slacko as well as Precise.
It applies regardless of the theme being used. Here is an example:
Code:
sh-3.00# probedisk2
/dev/sda|drive|ATA SAMSUNG SSD 830
/dev/sdb|usbdrv|Generic Flash HS-CF
/dev/sdc|usbdrv|Generic Flash HS-MS/SD
/dev/sdd|usbdrv|Generic Flash HS-SM
/dev/sr0|optical|SONY DVD RW DW-G120A
sh-3.00# blkid
/dev/loop1: UUID="f50f62c8-576a-4489-9b81-b520b97e44d3" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda1: UUID="9AD88DCED88DA8D9" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="SD-CARD" UUID="225A-B7FE" TYPE="vfat"
sh-3.00#


It's a hardware issue, but not a bug.

1.
If the card slot is internal to the computer, your computer interfaces the card slot to a usb channel.

2.
Or, if using a usb card-reader, then from Puppy's point of view it will look like a usb device. This is effectively the same situation as 1.

My current laptop has situation 1. My older laptop had a proper card reader interfaced to the pci bus, so Puppy recognised the card as a card.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 07:27    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Alsa
I have 2 soundcards, and the one I want to use is hw:1 (default is hw:0 set). So I run 'Multiple sound card wizard'. It fails in the last stage since retvol doesn't change to hw:1. This has been fixed for Slacko 5.4 by 01micko.


I am puzzled by this. Multiple Sound Card Wizard is the 'mscw' PET, but I can't see any such PET in the slacko repos.
Or was retrovol modified? -- but there is no upgraded 'retrovol' PET in the slacko repos either.

So, what was modified?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 07:44    Post subject:  

Sorry about that Barry, it's likely in my z_base_hacks pet, I'll need to check if I uploaded the latest though. However it was in slacko-5.4 so should be there. (edit, confirmed it is there)

The cool thing is that you don't need the reboot, it "just works" , though volume settings may be out.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3075
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 21:36    Post subject:  

right click package should work for precise

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=685208#685208
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz

Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1013

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 23:22    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
As I wrote in the Slacko thread:
Puppy has a very aggressive mouse pointer. Its default acceleration is set to 2 with a threshold of 4. This will give me inflammation in my mouse arm, so in all these Puppy years I have set it to 1.2 (acceleration) and 13 (threshold). Well, I will not state what is correct, but how can a newbie find the setting? Is pupX set properties of X informative? - Doubt it. And I think it would be good with a link in the mouse/keyboard wizard. I wouldn't be surprised if that is the place a newbie would look.


Thanks so much for this! I have an old, sensitive mouse that is driving me crazy. Until I buy a new one, this and the Xorg keys will do.

zigbert wrote:
Talking about menu descriptions, it may be worth to rethink 'JWM configuration' as well.


I agree.
Or at least put a scrollbar in the JWM theme chooser, so that having many themes won't expand the GUI from roof to floor -- at times I think the Exit button will reach China. Laughing The same happens in the Icon Set Chooser GUI, a scrollbar for that one would be great, too. Very Happy

_________________
OpenboxPlus|OB-Puppy|Puppy en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 10:57    Post subject:  

Ive been using precise 5.4.3 every day for a few weeks, i needed to reformat my partition to get a swap file
so I installed this latest one and it seems fine so far
thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
feelsub

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 19:53    Post subject:  

Quote:
it would be good to hear your thoughts about this. It is basically NOT a problem to support both, but they are not equal, so the backend I use daily will be the only well tested solution. Atm, I am developing on Slacko which uses ffmpeg. As I see it, there are 3 temporary ways out of it.
1). Precise use libav and find another player.
2.) Precise use ffmpeg and use pMusic.


http://aballier.wordpress.com/2013/01/18/ffmpeg-vs-libav-a-distribution-maintainer-point-of-view-almost-two-years-after-the-split/

Under win7 I use FFMpeg 1.1 64bits (and report bugs since 0.10)
Ubuntu is stucked with branch 0.8 for some intestine quarrel...
Try always to use latest ffmpeg build (being so complex(so many codecs) and powerfull(filters, etc.) it constantly fixes bugs in a branch).

Now also, ntfs-3g has released a new one:
http://www.tuxera.com/community/release-history/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0977s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]