Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 04:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XFCE/LXDE/MATE Desktops for ArchPup 13.2/13.2.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 07:11    Post_subject:  

simargl8 wrote:
Just remembered that openbox version needs geany for displaying help file, plus there's geany launcher
in tint2 panel. I must have it in adrv_openbox or bellow sfs, so decision is that geany moves to archpup sfs.
For users with openbox WM, it doesn't make difference but this way geany will be available for all the others...


ouch!...moving it into the archpup.sfs makes it undeletable...only hideable. if geany is in the main.sfs.....that kills the 'BareBones' solution. Now if mousepad, or leafpad is really my favorite, and i happen to hate geany...i have to 'pretend' like geany isn't still there. There's got to be another way.

i could just put mousepad, which is xfce's default text editor, in the xfce.sfs. and geany in the openbox, and kwrite in kde... that may be the best that it can get. still the ultimate best would be if they are able to choose which editor, for any of the desktops.

there's also a few themes in the main.sfs, as well as the wallpaper, and the login sound.

i think you should keep the base, just as clean as a whistle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl8

Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 07:40    Post_subject:  

You are right with goal of keeping base as clean as possible
I have reverted geany changes, it stays in adrv_openbox

And yes there are some themes in main sfs file
Archpup is default theme for gtk3, gtk2 and openbox
It is there as fallback because standard Clearlooks doesn't support gtk3

Archpup actually contains different themes (see readme file), but with my little modifications Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 07:41    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:
lsmod shows nvidiafb. With the other sfs this issue could be fixed with xfwm4 --replace. What did you change exactly? I've never seen this choose panel thing before, I'm trying to see what file it changes and if I can get it to load a predefined panel like Saluki/Carolina etc....


does lsmod show nvidiafb on carolina? i'm thinking that has something to do with it. on my computer i'm also seeing an nvidiafb, as well as rivafb. on archpup12.12...rivafb is in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf.....in 13.2, the blacklist.conf file is empty. and manually editing it, saving the changes, and rebooting.....the changes vanishes. the file is completely again.

And i really...i didn't change anything. i was getting the crash with the first sfs, but not the second...so thought maybe the resquashing fixed it. that question about the panels on startup is not a script or anything that i wrote separately. it's coded somewhere in xfce. it pops up automatically when the folder /root/.config/xfce4...doesn't exist. i'm thinking if you were to do a pfix=ram, on carolina...and delete that folder, restart X....you'll see the popup. i tried downgrading the panel to 4.8...same issue....downgrade to 4.6...issue disappears. 4.8 would've been acceptable had it worked. 4.6 though is so dated and old school looking that it's totally out the question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 08:56    Post_subject: Archpupy 13.2
Sub_title: Bluetooth Assistance Arch Pupp
 

I tried to install Bluetooth. However, lot of dependency problem. Please provide Bluetooth.SFS file. I don't have required knowledge in this regard. Hence my request. We can make use of Bluetooth when need arise.

I have not find any email client in Arch puppy ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 553
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 08:57    Post_subject:  

In Carolina it loads vesa and I change it to nouveau. But in my save file I installed the nvidia driver.
After some more testing and a hundred reboots, if you open xfce terminal auto hide works until the terminal is closed! Strange.

As for the question of having a text editor, YES PLEASE. It's a real pain testing and having to install one every time.

Edit:
I took out the nvidia card and am using the onboard intel graphics and problem solved, but I don't have this issue on Carolina with xfce 4.10 and nvidia card.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 12:41    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:
In Carolina it loads vesa and I change it to nouveau. But in my save file I installed the nvidia driver.
After some more testing and a hundred reboots, if you open xfce terminal auto hide works until the terminal is closed! Strange.

As for the question of having a text editor, YES PLEASE. It's a real pain testing and having to install one every time.

Edit:
I took out the nvidia card and am using the onboard intel graphics and problem solved, but I don't have this issue on Carolina with xfce 4.10 and nvidia card.


i had a feeling the problem was with nvidia card. more so....the nvidiafb/rivafb. when, exactly like you said...it should be nv or nouveau.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 12:49    Post_subject: Re: Archpupy 13.2
Sub_title: Bluetooth Assistance Arch Pupp
 

rameshiyer wrote:
I tried to install Bluetooth. However, lot of dependency problem. Please provide Bluetooth.SFS file. I don't have required knowledge in this regard. Hence my request. We can make use of Bluetooth when need arise.

I have not find any email client in Arch puppy ?


rameshiyer,

all you have to install to use bluetooth on archpup is blueman. if you have a stereo bluetooth headset, also install pavucontrol and pulseaudio:

Code:
pacman -S blueman pavucontrol pulseaudio


that should be all it takes to get bluetooth on the machine.

It looks like you've gotten your Mobile Partner situation all sorted out. Did you have to pull the libs out of Precise? or did you use the 'downgrade' script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 13:29    Post_subject: Archpupy 13.2
Sub_title: 3g Modem
 

I regret to inform you that my problem of 3G mobile partner still not solved. There is no sign of connection in mobile partner. I will PM the link of mobile partner software for checking at your end after download. I got only one file from Precise Puppy. Other file Symlink file. I don't find any other details about this file. I don't know whether downgrade worked or not. What is exact command for downgrade. $ downgrade icu is correct?
Please pardon me for troubling you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 13:50    Post_subject:  

from a test save file, try this package. and then Mobile Partner run from command line again. and see if u're still getting the exact same error as before.

install the package with:

Code:
pacman -U /path/to/icu-4.8.1.1-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 14:07    Post_subject: xfwm4-tiling  

If you use xfce and like the capability of being able to tile in 4's, by dragging the windows to the corners...default xfwm4 doesn't have this. If you want it, you can install this package. install the package using pacman by:

Code:
pacman -U /path/to/xfwm4-tiling-4.10.0-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz


and run the command:

Code:
xfwm4 --replace


this will replace xfce's default window manager, with the tiling by 4's one.

Download:
xfwm4-tiling-4.10.0-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1733

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 14:52    Post_subject:  

Tried lxde a bit and looks nice.

But is huge. I noticed you have samba and python in there which probably count for 30MB+. Is it intentional or they are pulled by lxde?

I also noticed that some of the directories in your SFSs have 777 permissions!
AAMOF, the entire lxde sfs has 777 permition and I _think_ your XFCE too!
Is it intentional is the arch2sfs script (or whatever you are using to build the SFSs)?
In any case is not good.

Even if you remove the SFSs some of the directories left behind are 777.(which explains why some users had messed up directories)

To see which is which try this
Code:
ls -lR /usr/ | grep drwxrwxrwx


You definitely want to fix this ASAP.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 15:28    Post_subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
Tried lxde a bit and looks nice.

But is huge. I noticed you have samba and python in there which probably count for 30MB+. Is it intentional or they are pulled by lxde?

I also noticed that some of the directories in your SFSs have 777 permissions!


it's definitely larger than i'd like for it to be. python i believe is only there for the menu editor, in which both really can be removed. and i wanted the users to be able to browse their smb shares on their network using the built in 'Network' browser in pcmanfm. gvfs for the trash, and udisks2 for the volume monitor is also taking a 'meat plug' of space. i'm going to mess around with it some more and see if i can get it down to a more familiar size. same goes for all 3 of them. they all are a lil bigger than they could be.

yes, i've been seeing the 777 permissions thing since the beginning. i didn't know it was only me. now that u've pointed it out to me, i'm guessing my unsquashing and resquashing on an ntfs partition, is changing my directory permissions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1733

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 15:33    Post_subject:  

stifiling wrote:
i'm guessing my unsquashing and resquashing on an ntfs partition,.


Shocked

NTFS?...

(I told you that ntfs access is a drawback Twisted Evil )

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 15:37    Post_subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
Shocked

NTFS?...

(I told you that ntfs access is a drawback Twisted Evil )


lol, u're right man. you know your stuff. i've learned a lot from you, and still am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 19:34    Post_subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
I also noticed that some of the directories in your SFSs have 777 permissions!


i resolved this on the xfce and lxde desktops. i temporarily disabled the link on the kde one until i repair it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0945s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]