Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 03:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4813
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 03:41    Post subject:  

To, too, two, tutu.
Which?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rdog

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Quesnel, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 13:31    Post subject: Error 16 booting FatDog64 611 from grub  

I decided to try Fatdog64-611-firefox.iso and Fatdog64-611-seamonkey.iso and I am getting the same error from both while attempting to boot from a frugal install using grub. Booting from the iso burned to a DVD+RW works fine. The downloaded ISO's md5sum to the correct values.

Let me explain...
# pwd
/mnt/sda2/fd64
# ls -la
total 207072
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Feb 5 11:52 .
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Feb 6 08:37 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 208261680 Dec 14 12:50 initrd
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3767056 Dec 14 12:50 vmlinuz

# cat /mnt/sda2/boot/grub/menu.lst
# GRUB configuration file '/boot/grub/menu.lst'.
#
# Start GRUB global section
default 0
#timeout 5
timeout 5
color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
# End GRUB global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy Linux 5.4.3 (hard disk hd0,1)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /puppy54/vmlinuz psubdir=puppy54
initrd /puppy54/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy Linux 5.4.3 pfix=ram (no pupsave file loaded, HD as hd0,1)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /puppy54/vmlinuz pfix=ram psubdir=puppy54
initrd /puppy54/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title FatDog64 version 611 (hard disk hd0,1)
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
kernel /fd64/vmlinuz
initrd /fd64/initrd
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title FatDog64 Seamonkey 611 (hard disk hd0,1)
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
kernel /fd64Sea/vmlinuz
initrd /fd64Sea/initrd
# Linux bootable partition config ends

# grub --version
grub (GNU GRUB 0.97)

When booting and selecting either FatDog64 option I get the error:
Error 16: Inconsistent filesystem structure

I tried the root option and later changed it to rootnoverify with no change.

My puppy 5.4.3 boot works fine from grub. I'm not sure if I'm explaining this right :/

Thanks,
Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 14:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
16 : Inconsistent filesystem structure
This error is returned by the filesystem code to denote an internal error caused by the sanity checks of the filesystem structure on disk not matching what it expects. This is usually caused by a corrupt filesystem or bugs in the code handling it in GRUB.

When the GRUB menu comes up, press the 'c' key.

Type each of the three commands from your Fatdog menu.

Which one throws the error message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rdog

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Quesnel, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 15:42    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
16 : Inconsistent filesystem structure
This error is returned by the filesystem code to denote an internal error caused by the sanity checks of the filesystem structure on disk not matching what it expects. This is usually caused by a corrupt filesystem or bugs in the code handling it in GRUB.

When the GRUB menu comes up, press the 'c' key.

Type each of the three commands from your Fatdog menu.

Which one throws the error message?


The step

initrd /fd64/initrd

is where the error message is returned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rdog

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Quesnel, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 15:46    Post subject:  

rdog wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
16 : Inconsistent filesystem structure
This error is returned by the filesystem code to denote an internal error caused by the sanity checks of the filesystem structure on disk not matching what it expects. This is usually caused by a corrupt filesystem or bugs in the code handling it in GRUB.

When the GRUB menu comes up, press the 'c' key.

Type each of the three commands from your Fatdog menu.

Which one throws the error message?


The step

initrd /fd64/initrd

is where the error message is returned.


Sorry for the delay responding... I was off researching the issue and didn't expect such a speedy reply. I was wondering if there was a way to mount the initrd as a loop device and do a file system check on it LOL.

Thanks,
Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 15:51    Post subject:  

There are a couple of possibilities.

1. Your sda2 partition has some corruption. What filesystem does it have?

2. The initrd file did not get copied correctly.

3. Your BIOS or your version of GRUB cannot handle Fatdog's humongous initrd. I have a problem when booting Fatdog off a USB drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rdog

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Quesnel, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 17:17    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
There are a couple of possibilities.

1. Your sda2 partition has some corruption. What filesystem does it have?

2. The initrd file did not get copied correctly.

3. Your BIOS or your version of GRUB cannot handle Fatdog's humongous initrd. I have a problem when booting Fatdog off a USB drive.


Hi rcrsn51,
I checked the sda2 and it is clean. I copied the initrd a few different times without any improvement. Perhaps it is GRUB hmm. I am able to boot from the DVD of the ISO image. I'll try a few more things before giving up on Fatdog64.

Thanks for the help.
Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 19:25    Post subject:  

rdog,

I've had that problem with Grub-0.97 on somebody's laptop. Not sure what causes it. I think I just copied the file, deleted the original and then renamed the copy and fixed it. Something up with the filesystem I guess, though fsck didn't help. Maybe it's some kind of fragmentation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
galen


Joined: 04 Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 07:56    Post subject: loss of sound alsawizrd also wont fix  

I had sound, now I do not, no panel volume
tried the control panel script, never completes.
sound card works via vlc device selection.
seems init script is dead

Code:
 lsmod
pcspkr                  1779  0
sg                     27545  0
snd                    55640  10 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_mpu401,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_ac97_codec        108147  1 snd_intel8x0
snd_intel8x0           26135  0
snd_mixer_oss          14516  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_mpu401              4728  0
snd_mpu401_uart         5699  1 snd_mpu401
snd_page_alloc          6681  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
snd_pcm                72118  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm_oss            37122  0
snd_rawmidi            18178  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          4924  1 snd_rawmidi
snd_timer              18081  1 snd_pcm
soundcore               4994  1 snd


asound.conf is correct
Code:
pcm.!default { type hw card 0 device 0 }
ctl.!default { type hw card 0 device 0 }
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
galen


Joined: 04 Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 09:19    Post subject: Re: loss of sound alsawizrd also wont fix  

galen wrote:
I had sound, now I do not, no panel volume
tried the control panel script, never completes.
sound card works via vlc device selection.
seems init script is dead

Code:
 lsmod
pcspkr                  1779  0
sg                     27545  0
snd                    55640  10 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_mpu401,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_ac97_codec        108147  1 snd_intel8x0
snd_intel8x0           26135  0
snd_mixer_oss          14516  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_mpu401              4728  0
snd_mpu401_uart         5699  1 snd_mpu401
snd_page_alloc          6681  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
snd_pcm                72118  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm_oss            37122  0
snd_rawmidi            18178  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          4924  1 snd_rawmidi
snd_timer              18081  1 snd_pcm
soundcore               4994  1 snd


asound.conf is correct
Code:
pcm.!default { type hw card 0 device 0 }
ctl.!default { type hw card 0 device 0 }


sound has return but I think it is a fluke.
I ran /etc/init.d/99-alsa
and next reboot sound returned but
fatdog control panel mixer does not work and tray volume control crashes panel (default is does exist)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 07:15    Post subject:  

galen, please try [url="http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84372"]620beta1[/url] and post your test there. Btw I saw you posted a bug report in the bug report system. Just want to let you know that we've just moved the fossil repository so your bug report is deleted.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
galen


Joined: 04 Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 10:29    Post subject: grub legacy mushes all titles into one line  

noticed if fatdog is installed to the hard drive and you select grub install,
the menu.lst is corrupt, the installed will find other distros on the hard drive but list them all on one line and then ask you for a title.
something like this
found linux on [/dev/sda1][/dev/sda2][dev/sda4] what title would like

grub4dos works quite well but it not detected by other distros grub or grub2 (yuk)

I do prefer to use grub4dos on MBR and chainload into grub or grub2 for other distros
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
technowar

Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2013, 08:56    Post subject:  

I have a Toshiba Satellite C850 - A825 with a Realtek 8723AE wireless device.

My question is, will my wifi work? I have had problems with Debian and Ubuntu for the past few days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1842
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jul 2013, 08:09    Post subject:  

Cups has stopped working and I've also noticed seamonkey-spot has stopped too.

When running seamonkey-spot from a terminal I get:

# seamonkey-spot
su: can't chdir to home directory '/root/spot'
su: can't execute '/bin/dash': Permission denied
#

Cups also stopped working when I loaded a Firefox SFS. When I unloaded Firefox, Cups began working again but not now.

The Cups home is displayed in seamonkey @ http://localhost:631/ ,
not via the spot script.

If I select Admin I get Internal Server Error.
Classes and Printers gives a permission denied error.

Any ideas?

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 01:34    Post subject:  

Smokey01,

I think the savefile may have been corrupted. "/bin/dash" is the lightweight shell I use for interpreting shell scripts (because its fast), if you can't execute it something must have gone terrible wrong (either it is deleted, or corrupted and not accessible). You can copy the file back from /aufs/pup_ro/bin/dash (that's the read-only Fatdog SFS copy) to /bin/dash, but looking at the seriousness of the problem I doubt you can recover much.

One other alternative you can try is to boot kernel command line "dofsck" (that "do-fsck" without the dash), this is Fatdog's equivalent of "pfix=fsck" in Puppy. I can't remember when it started to be supported though, all I know is recent Fatdogs support it.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1087s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]