Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 06:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 16:35    Post subject:  

more dbus errors of same variety but different application

installed udiskie

when run get error (same as with batti)
bus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ExecFailed: Failed to execute program /usr/lib/dbus-1.0/dbus-daemon-launch-helper:

I did som reaearch and
did

chmod +x /usr/lib/dbus-1.0/dbus-daemon-launch-helper

and then get a step further with error

dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited: Launch helper exited with unknown return code 127


Seems like there is a general problem with dbus?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 17:30    Post subject:  

scooby,

if you keep messing around with the udiskie/gvfs...it'll work. it's what i'm using. i used on the dbus-helper file "chmod +us" and restarting dbus-daemon and restarting x...and soon u'll see the combination and order that works. u also have to create the folder /run/media/root. that's where the drives get's mounted.

i like that volume monitor better because i like thunar better. Also because i use gvfs-smb...to browse the samba shares from my other computers. using thunar's intergrated "Network" icon.

another command i was using to check for errors is:

Code:
udisks --enumerate


I'll try to find the exact order and let you know what it is, if i can find it before you do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 08:53    Post subject:  

wrong post
_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Wed 13 Feb 2013, 16:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 18:55    Post subject:  

sim,

after the release of the much anticipated and long awaited 132...will you be doing the frequent updates like you were before? you know, like maybe 4-8 days later releasing 132-2, with the reported bugs fixed and workarounds included??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 01:07    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:
will you be doing the frequent updates like you were before?


From what I see, not so sure... Sad
At least not here. Confused
Hopefully is about something/someone else.
simargl.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   79.64 KB
 Viewed   656 Time(s)

simargl.jpg


_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 01:45    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
From what I see, not so sure... Sad
At least not here. Confused
Hopefully is about something/someone else.


hmm, wonder what that's about. it vivdly appears to mean 1 thing. but like you said...hopefully not.

i was also reading into the 'slow releases' as having a secondary meaning as well. i view ArchPup as still being in alpha. how does it move to beta level, with the releases coming once every other month? Is this a decision done 'by design'?

If sim wasn't as smart as he is i'd tend to think, "Ahh, no big deal." But knowing that he is, leads me to think, "Ok, what's going on?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 01:48    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:

hmm, wonder what that's about.


I do not know but Archpup_13.2 is in Sourceforge!

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 01:51    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
I do not know but Archpup_13.2 is in Sourceforge!


hey...thanks for the heads up. maybe i'm just reading too deep into it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 05:56    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:

if you keep messing around with the udiskie/gvfs...it'll work. it's what i'm using. i used on the dbus-helper file "chmod +us" and restarting dbus-daemon and restarting x...and soon u'll see the combination and order that works. u also have to create the folder /run/media/root. that's where the drives get's mounted.



Still cant get it to work

Stifling do you have thunar-volman install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 10:40    Post subject: Booting Bad  

Just stuck in some intermittent black screen flashing. Using a dvd burned with pburn. Um, I'm referring to archpup_13.2-20130201.iso.

EDIT: I'm moving to Precise 5.4.3 until this gets sorted out.

Last edited by dennis-slacko531 on Sat 02 Feb 2013, 23:46; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1274
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 12:03    Post subject: Wifi in 13.2  

mavrothal wrote:
Archpup_13.2 is in Sourceforge!


/etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG seems to have disappeared in 13.2

It is necessary to load the b43 driver BEFORE /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 is run - I no longer know how to do this....

I can get b43 wifi to work with Pwireless2 but it isn't persistent through a reboot due to the above problem - needs manual intervention to kick it into life.

Anybody know what the new bootmanager mechanism is?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 17:01    Post subject: Re: Wifi in 13.2  

peebee wrote:

Anybody know what the new bootmanager mechanism is?

The 'MODULES' line in /etc/rc.conf

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1274
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 18:13    Post subject: Re: Wifi in 13.2  

mavrothal wrote:
peebee wrote:

Anybody know what the new bootmanager mechanism is?

The 'MODULES' line in /etc/rc.conf


Many thanks

Added b43 to modules line

and changed network interface to wlan0

wifi is now automatically reconnected after reboot.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 19:04    Post subject:  

Scooby,

See if you run the command:

Code:
/usr/lib/udisks2/udisksd


if you get any errors.
thunar-volman is unnecessary for the volume monitor.


mavrothal,

I tried your filemnt script and want to include it in the adrv-xfce.sfs. only flaw i have with it as opposed to the one i posted earlier is that it doesn't mount the files if there in a directory with a space in it. same with any puppy:

path = /mnt/home/sdb1/operatingsystems/archpup.iso..........works
path = /mnt/home/sdb1/operating systems/archpup.iso.........doesn't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 14:51    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:

I tried your filemnt script and want to include it in the adrv-xfce.sfs. only flaw i have with it as opposed to the one i posted earlier is that it doesn't mount the files if there in a directory with a space in it. same with any puppy:


same as with your original script! (check again and see if the SFS is actually mounted because I do not see it mounted at my end).

The reason that I prefer the puppy version is that it includes all the required checks for the state of the SFS to be loaded/unloaded.

BTW, simargl indeed quited the puppy forum. Shocked
However, AFAICS development continues Cool
Comments suggestions etc at archpup souceforge support or discussion

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0754s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]