Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 08:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
How to add PHP to Hiawatha server?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 11:54    Post subject:  *sigh* Help Please!  

Hi all,

As most of us noobs do Rolling Eyes , I have spent the better part of a week (6 days actually) searching these forums for any information or a simple "how-to" on getting PHP to work. I have hiawatha running (was simple enough once I found out it was already there, just waiting to be used) and it renders html flawlessly.

I have found some things, LAMP for one, but it does not register in any accessible means that I can find. For the most part, the information I find is either (1) Broken links and/or information outdated by a year or more and two or three versions of puppy behind Mad or (2) simply too complicated for a noob such as I to understand and/or just does not seem to function. http://localhost/index.php or http://127.0.0.1/index.php renders only the coded page (i.e. the actual script as it would in an editor), not the page itself.

Confused At this point I'm not even sure if my attempts are working or not. Confused There may be a special directory that the php files need to go? a setting that is turned off that simply needs to be turned on? After installing LAMP, i noticed that no rc.http files were created in /etc/init.d, /etc/hiawatha or any other directory . I assume, therefore, that the pet install - though prompted as complete - did not take.

I am attempting this on two machines - one using Lucid 5.28 and the other using Precise 5.4.3. Both are frugals on an AMD duron with 775 MB ram and 80 GB HDD. both PSF are set at about 30 GB (yea, it took a while) so space should be no issue.

I am thinking about trying the xampp approach once I remove all the LAMP and stuff. Basically, all I need is to be able to run a PHP program on one machine - no need at this point to publish it to the web, just host it on the one machine.

I am new-ish to Puppy and still learning, but have some experience with web servers (though very limited). It seems to me there should be an easy, step-by-step process in which to establish a working php server. especially since the server part is already there. Maybe a simple addition - put it in, turn it on, it works kinda thing?


If someone would be so kind as to provide some insight and/or point me to the most simplest and easly accomplished route, I would be very grateful Very Happy . Thanks so much!

E
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:19    Post subject: Re: *sigh* Help Please!  

e_mattis wrote:
...If someone would be so kind as to provide some insight and/or point me to the most simplest and easly accomplished route...

XAMPP is the easiest way: has the whole environment needed to run php (web-server, db engine, mail server and backend, all ready to run) and is a simple "extract somewhere and run it" application.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:34    Post subject: thanks!  

Thanks GustavoYz.

I d/l it and it went in simple and easy! The instructions are well laid out also - even a dummy like me couldn't screw it up too bad Laughing

Would have liked to use Hiawatha, but at least it's up and running.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4387
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:39    Post subject: mysql in Exprimo?  

I need mysql for a weather-related app.

There's tons of discussion about LAMP, Hiawatha, XAMPP, etc.

I see no reference to usage with Exprimo.

Is there a reason not to use these with Exprimo (5x15 is current)?

This is on an old Panasonic Toughbook CF-29 so resources are limited.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 03:05    Post subject:  

edoc,

don't know if you have Exprimo running on the Pana yet, but other than limitations of the hardware, and not knowing much about all this in general, I would think you should have little to no problems.

XAMPP would probably be your best bet - it is really quite simple. Make a back-up and try it ( as I usually do), and good luck! would be interesting to see how it goes for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4387
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 10:11    Post subject:  

Yes, Exprimo works fine on two netbooks and four laptops that I manage. It is a solid distro.

I will acquire the latest XAMPP and try it.

It seems contrary to Puppy philosophy to use such a bloated app but I have so many projects on hold here due to a missing Linux-link of one sort or another it would be good to finally find some solutions.

I will give it a try and report back.

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 10:38    Post subject:  

Code:
It seems contrary to Puppy philosophy to use such a bloated app but I have so many projects on hold here due to a missing Linux-link of one sort or another it would be good to finally find some solutions.

I think XAMPP is one of those cases where doesn't matter much if tiny: I'm willing to spend ~300MB in a web-server installation in benefit of time.
Besides, is possible to place the main dir somewhere outside pupsave and link it to /opt.
If space is really a problem, there are ways of get a tinier web server running, but you may find some service/permissions/ownership issues that you will have to fix by yourself, one by one and if want it to be updated, prepare to recompile pretty much all the software involved (just read the previous pages of this topic).

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4387
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 12:20    Post subject:  

Good points re. space (HDD space is no problem), and linking.

As for linking, would you use Link Relative from /opt to the actual location?

Which files in xampp would need to be so linked?

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
NeroVance


Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 149
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 12:46    Post subject:  

I remember running a Server Puplet a few years back, when I tried to run an imageboard, it was an interesting experience.

Wish I could find a good ISP that allows web servers in my area, I would love that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 19:01    Post subject:  

@ GustavoYz
yea, the space thing does not compare to the ease of use with Xampp

@edoc
I simply put xampp in /opt, then the folder for the POS system in htdocs. It all hooked up well with little/no effort...OFF TOPIC....we getting hammered with stormd today edoc, hows the weather there in Ga?

@NeroVance
you can probably find an IP there that allows servers...if you have the right amount of money Smile also, you can use some of the 'already runing' servers to 'fake' a server at relatively low cost. Try http://emagez.duoservers.com/ if you need one.

E
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4387
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 19:22    Post subject:  

Having lived in lightning & tornado alley in Florida for 10 years we were cautious about choosing a location in Georgia.

I researched the historic weather patterns and discovered that SE-Georgia tends to be pretty quiet.

There is a tornado watch until 1AM which includes Bulloch County but those are usually precautionary vs probable ... and besides, we are even in the SE-corner of the County!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 19:39    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Good points re. space (HDD space is no problem), and linking.

As for linking, would you use Link Relative from /opt to the actual location?

Which files in xampp would need to be so linked?

Thanks!


I'd extract it to /mnt/home, or somewhere outside pupfile, and link it "soft way" with this:
Code:
ln -s /mnt/home/lampp /opt/

I think it was a pet package made like two years ago for just this part.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4387
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 21:59    Post subject:  

OK ... up to the link point ...

So it's LAMPP and not XAMPP that is linked?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 11:31    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
OK ... up to the link point ...

So it's LAMPP and not XAMPP that is linked?


I mean the main folder. Once you extract the big file, all goes to a new directory called 'lampp': L is for "Linux" (A = Apache, M = MySQL, P = php and Perl). Do not extract it into a NTFS or FAT* partition, MySQL will fail!
Thats the one you want on /opt. See here, some info about paths.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4387
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 22:30    Post subject:  

OK ...

Code:
/opt/lampp/lampp start
works.

It says, among other things
Quote:
"XAMPP: Starting MySql"


But when I try to run
Code:
"mysql - u root -p"
it says
Quote:
"mysql: command not found"


What am I missing, please? Rolling Eyes

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0942s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]