What database software can we use in Puppy?

Business software, financial software, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#21 Post by hillside »

Ah. Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. It's so cold here I'm dealing with freezing pipes. I'll be glad when spring comes.

Let me start by saying I think you have done an exceptional job and I'm looking forward to new releases.

Here's what I did.

I made a table in a new database and entered some data.
While in the grid view, I opened the SQL query editor.
I wrote a simple query and ran it. It ran perfectly.
I clicked on the "Export Results" button inside the editor.
I entered a file name and clicked csv.
I clicked column names as first row and clicked comma for the separator.
Then I clicked "Export" and got the error I listed earlier.

I didn't report the error because I'm not 100 percent certain that Puppy linux has a full version of Sqlite, but I think it does. I'm hoping that as your project matures, it will be the best tool to introduce people to Sqlite while at the same time being a useful tool for those of us who need a basic database system.

googie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 10:01

#22 Post by googie »

It is important for me to know how did the SQL query look like? I know it was simple, but it will help me to understeand problem.

I think that I have solved problem, but when I would see the query, then I could quess if this is related.

P.S. SQLite database can be (generally) compiled in 2 ways - with Tcl support or without it. Anyway it doesn't matter what SQLite installation you have on your system if you're using binary distribution of SQLiteStudio, since SQLiteStudio binaries already include SQLite libraries, so you can use it even without SQLite installed.

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#23 Post by hillside »

googie,

The query that I ran was very simple:

SELECT Firstname, City, State FROM Names WHERE Lastname = "Smith";

Like I say the query worked perfectly. I had about 100 records in the database and I got all the data I expected and only the data I expected. The query editor gave me a view of my selected data just as expected. I tried to export the selected data while still in the query editor. That is when I got the error.

Thanks for your efforts. I'll be trying your next update.

googie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 10:01

#24 Post by googie »

Ok, I think the best way to check it out would be if you download my development version of 1.1.2 from here: http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/files/sqlite ... 2-pre1.bin

...and try it. Let me know if it solved your problem.

Please don't redistribute it, since this is incomplete version and final 1.1.2 will be released for 2 weeks or so.

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#25 Post by hillside »

googie,

I wish I had better news for you.

I downloaded your development version and made a trial for each export type. csv, html, sql, and xml.

In each case, I no longer get an error message.
In each case, I get a message saying my data has been exported to the correct file name.
But in no case is a file actually created. :(

I'm going to be an optimist and say this is progress.

googie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 10:01

#26 Post by googie »

Are you absolutely sure? It's strange, because if "success" message is displayed then no errors occured during exporing, including creation of file.

It is possible (in case of some error), that exported file is empty, but any problems with creation of file should be reported to user.

Could you recheck it, please?

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#27 Post by hillside »

I have good news. And I have something that needs explaining.

When I tested again, I got the same result. No file was written. I tested six times with different file names and data types and the system did NOT write the file.

Then, I tried including a path with the file name. I used:
/testfile.txt

Suddenly success!!! My file is written in the root directory and it has my data. I tested with several different paths and in each case it worked.

The system still doesn't export the headings, but I can live with that for now. Is there a reason I need to give a path along with the file name? I assumed it would write the file to the current directory or some standard location. So, now I just need to remember to include a path with my file name.

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#28 Post by hillside »

Just to let you know. I went back and tested the old verson of sqlitemanager (version 1.1.1) and it would not save my file even if I included a path, so whatever you did in 1.1.2 pre-release made a big difference.

googie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 10:01

#29 Post by googie »

Great! :)

So there is one last problem left - with file to export, which I already have diagnosed. I'll fix it in final 1.1.2 as well.

hillside, It's "studio", not "manager" - some "*manager"s author will come here in the moment and kill me :) ...or you ;)

Thanks for your help. It's always pleasure to co-work with people from open source society.

By the way it's first time when I took closer look at Puppy Linux - it's quiet interesting. Maybe I'll try it out on VBox for first.

Sorry to forum admins and moderators for a little offtopic in here. Thanks for your tolerance.

JohnJS
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 23:55
Location: Sacramento CA

sqlitestudio

#30 Post by JohnJS »

Has sqlitestudio update been dropped?

See:
Ok, I think the best way to check it out would be if you download my development version of 1.1.2 from here: http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/files/sqlite ... 2-pre1.bin

...and try it. Let me know if it solved your problem.

Please don't redistribute it, since this is incomplete version and final 1.1.2 will be released for 2 weeks or so.

googie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 10:01

#31 Post by googie »

No, I just had more bug reports so I needed more time to fix it.
Anyway it's already done and at this moment I'm packaging binary distributions. I'll release 1.1.2 today or tomorrow, hopefully (if packaging won't cause problems).

EDIT:
Ok, packaging needs to wait till weekend (which would be 4-5 of April). Expect release for these days.

User avatar
charlie6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 04:03
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

SQLiteStudio-2.1.0

#32 Post by charlie6 »

Hi googie,
thanks again for current SQLiteStudio-2.1.0 ...!
just giving here the link to SQLiteStudio:
looks great ! :D
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SQLiteStudio
just follow the link(s)
best regards
charlie

Pelo

SQLite studio pls could you make it ready to use

#33 Post by Pelo »

pls could you make it ready to use
Whith a package .pet or a SFS and put it in a PPM.
Thanks a lot.

2byte
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon 09 Oct 2006, 18:10

#34 Post by 2byte »

Pelo

It's ready to use as it is. Just download sqlitestudio to /root/my-applications/bin, open a terminal and run

Code: Select all

 chmod u+x /root/my-applications/bin/sqlitestudio-2.1.0.bin 
to make it executable.


Pelo

Sqlitestudio

#35 Post by Pelo »

Where is the mistake in screenshot here below ?
Thanks for help
Pelo
Last edited by Pelo on Thu 09 Jan 2014, 15:29, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#36 Post by Makoto »

You're missing the space between u+x and /root/my-applications/bin/sqlitestudio-2.1.0.bin.
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

Pelo

SQLiteStudio ? What is great ?

#37 Post by Pelo »

Awfull database, ugly, no data import !
Perhaps I dont understand anything. I shall try it again.
SQLiteman looks better.
Kexi is quite OK
Portabase too
The best would have been PPDB Puppy Data Base but Nobody cared of it.
The best way : use add-on Firefox or seamonkey SQLITE manager.
Attachments
sqliteman.png
not perfect, but looks better than Sqlitestudio
(46.91 KiB) Downloaded 1231 times

Jactek
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon 11 Dec 2006, 00:43
Location: Hport NY

Database

#38 Post by Jactek »

Im running Saluki on my old asus eee 701, i installed dosemu and hve been running n old dos database called Q&A by Symantic i used it at work for about 15 years and when I retired boss sid to throw it away they were going to Access so I threw it away to me. Works well and you my be able to use other old dos databases too.
Just an other option
Jim

Pelo

Databases sqliteman sqlitestudio sqlite something

#39 Post by Pelo »

Sqliteman : ok there is a pet
sqlitestudio ! make a pet of it
The most important is to join image and url to to make a file of the object.
Sqlite is already include in puppy, but not easy to use by poor and lonesome geeks as us.
osmo can do it
Last edited by Pelo on Mon 22 Sep 2014, 08:43, edited 3 times in total.

Jim1911
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 20:39
Location: Texas, USA

#40 Post by Jim1911 »

Libreoffice has a database program that may meet your needs. To install in puppy, try 01micko's fine Get Libreoffic here

Post Reply