Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 22:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Strange behaviour between 2 wifi connected computers
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 06:58    Post subject:  Strange behaviour between 2 wifi connected computers  

Title edited: originally thought this was a Samba problem but further investigation has shown it is a more fundamental networking problem which may be hardware rather than software related....

=====================================
Original post:

For some time now I've been running Samba successfully on my desktop to share files with my laptop.

My current desktop setup is a frugal install of Slacko 5.4 with samba_full-3.6.1-s.sfs installed.

My desktop is upstairs and has been hard wired into my router with my laptop connecting by WPA wifi. The wifi router is a Thompson TG585 v8 supplied by my ISP (Plusnet in the UK).

I'd like to move the router to get a stronger signal downstairs so have bought a wifi adapter for the desktop which works just fine however when I install it I am no longer able to find any Samba shares from my laptop.

I am not running the Puppy firewall on the desktop, but there is a firewall in the router.

So I'm wondering if there are some settings I need to make in the router to allow the desktop to be a Samba server over wireless??

Any help gratefully received.
Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Wed 23 Jan 2013, 15:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 746
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:10    Post subject:  

It shouldn't make any difference what sort of LAN connection you have to share via Samba.

Are you certain you didn't enable the firewall on the wireless connection?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:15    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
It shouldn't make any difference what sort of LAN connection you have to share via Samba.

Are you certain you didn't enable the firewall on the wireless connection?


Hi p310don

Other than plug in and enable the wifi dongle and unplug the ethernet cable I didn't make any other changes...

The router is as it was delivered to me - it is running it's "Standard" firewall.

I can't see anything in the router setup to suggest that the wired and wireless firewalls are in any way different....that's why I'm flummoxed Confused

Thanks for your interest
Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9365
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:43    Post subject:  

Which Samba client program are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:56    Post subject:  

rcrsn51,

As for client software, while I can't speak for peebee I'm pretty sure he would have tried all the basic 3 available (Pnethood, YASSM, and the 'network' tool available in slacko-5.4).

peebee, all I can offer is that to make sure ports 137/138/139 are not blocked by the router .

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 08:33    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
rcrsn51,

As for client software, while I can't speak for peebee I'm pretty sure he would have tried all the basic 3 available (Pnethood, YASSM, and the 'network' tool available in slacko-5.4).

peebee, all I can offer is that to make sure ports 137/138/139 are not blocked by the router .

HTH


Hi rcrsn51 & 01micko

Yes - Mick's right - I've tried all 3 - Pnethood, YASSM, and the 'network' tool - they all work with the wired connection but all fail to find a share once I've switched to wifi.

I actually tend to use lxpup on the laptop and use lxde file manager to access the share as it SO much more integrated and convenient than any of the 3 trad puppy tools....

Thanks Mick for the port info - now I need to work out where in the router that might be controlled....do I need to know which protocol to enable on those ports?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9365
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 08:59    Post subject:  

Run YASSM Samba share login and use the server's IP address instead of its name.

Run PeasyPort and do a Names scan of your network. Does it detect the Samba server?

Does lxpup still detect the server?

If you run a client program on the server machine, can it detect the shares?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 10:31    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Run YASSM Samba share login and use the server's IP address instead of its name.

Run PeasyPort and do a Names scan of your network. Does it detect the Samba server?

Does lxpup still detect the server?

If you run a client program on the server machine, can it detect the shares?


1. nothing detected
2. nothing detected
3. no - lxpup also does not detect the server

Googling came up with a suggestion it might be an MTU length problem but I've tried setting to 1460 with
ifconfig wlan0 mtu 1460
but this seems to have no effect either....

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9365
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 10:40    Post subject:  

If you run a Samba server on the laptop, can the desktop detect it?

If it does, that would tend to rule out the router.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 11:00    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If you run a Samba server on the laptop, can the desktop detect it?

If it does, that would tend to rule out the router.


I think it must be a router configuration problem as I can't ping the desktop when it is on wifi...

.134 is the wifi
.69 is the wired

Do I need to set it as a bridge do you think??

But why does it bridge wifi to wired but not wifi to wifi??
capture20098.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.08 KB
 Viewed   526 Time(s)

capture20098.png

capture8004.png
 Description   
 Filesize   78.63 KB
 Viewed   582 Time(s)

capture8004.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9365
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 11:08    Post subject:  

Have you tried rebooting the router?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 11:34    Post subject:  

peebee

If this is the right manual http://www.technicolorbroadbandpartner.com/getfile.php?id=7099

Did you access the router and add the desktop as a new wifi client?

Sorry if this is too obvious, but I often get bitten by the basics.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4506
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 12:29    Post subject: is this a boot-time bug in need of circumvention?  

Hi @Peebee

As I understand this problem, the issue is that a Linux PC which has a WiFi connection to the LAN cannot access a resource that is SHARED from a SMB server (Win96->Win8, OSx, Linux/Unix running SAMBA).

I have NOT remembered this as a problem, but I am not running same as you probably.

So, in an effort to track down this, I ask:
  • Do you have a Windows PC capable of Sharing and has Wifi?
If so, I may have test steps that might help you.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1546
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 15:46    Post subject:  

Hi One & All

Many thanks for your interest in my little problem - it is greatly appreciated.

I have now convinced myself that I don't have a Samba problem - but I do have a strange networking problem.

The problem can be shown by using the simple and low level ping test.

Basically after a reboot, if I ping the desktop from the laptop some indeterminate number of pings are "lost" before the sequence number shows that packets are being transmitted without loss. The lost packets can be anywhere between a small number up to many tens to hundreds.

Once the pings have started to work then they seem to carry on working for further tests.

pings when my desktop is ethernet wired to the router are always 100% successful.

I have tried lots of Puppy variants on the laptop and they all exhibit the same behaviour.

So I guess I have to suspect the new usb wifi dongle that I have bought - although it seems to work fine in all other respects like surfing the net. Unfortunately I don't have another to try in its place.

I will change the topic title away from Samba to networking.

Thanks again for all your help.
Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4506
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 19:43    Post subject:  

OK @Peebee.

Here's another question to help you determine where your problem "really" is.

What happens when you ping an Internet location from that same PC? (you need not reply if you understand the intent of the question)

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0819s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]