Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 16:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 20:26    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
I wanted to know if FATDOG has KVM support in its system.

Of course. When running as root:
1. Check for CPU capability: from terminal type "lscpu"
2. To get it going: for AMD, type this on terminal "modprobe kvm-amd". For Intel, type this on terminal "modprobe kvm-intel"
3. Get the qemu package from the pet repo
4. On terminal, run qemu like this: "qemu-system-x86_64 -enable-kvm -m 1024 -cdrom fatdog.iso" and you're good to go.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4447
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 21:49    Post subject:  

Code:
# modprobe kvm-amd
# lscpu
sh: lscpu: command not found
# pwd
/root
# whoami
root
# lscpu
sh: lscpu: command not found
# uname -r
3.4.18
#
"lscpu" command doesn't return results. I think there is something wrong with my desktop's terminal. Same terminal window where I had duplication shown in earlier post.

Ideas anyone???

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4447
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 22:03    Post subject:  

There are several QEMU packages in the PPM. What's confusing is the ARM designation in the filename.. Is this the correct one to download for the X2 CPU?
PPM selection appears to be error2.png
 Description   Is this the package....The PPM also has others.
 Filesize   27.6 KB
 Viewed   1455 Time(s)

PPM selection appears to be error2.png

PPM selection appears to be error.png
 Description   Is this the package....The PPM also has others.
 Filesize   25.32 KB
 Viewed   1477 Time(s)

PPM selection appears to be error.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Thu 17 Jan 2013, 22:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 22:18    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
"lscpu" command doesn't return results. I think there is something wrong with my desktop's terminal. Same terminal window where I had duplication shown in earlier post.
Sorry, "lscpu" is only available in devx. Anyway, no need for that command, just to straight to step 2 onwards.

Yes, that's the correct package - see the attached image. I really should remove the old qemu package.

Barbol, I did a quick test on FAT, as long as when I created the file when I was in UTF8 locale, the filename shows correctly on both Rox and terminal. Let me know how it goes with you.
qemu-pkg.png
 Description   
 Filesize   49.16 KB
 Viewed   1482 Time(s)

qemu-pkg.png


_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barbol

Joined: 19 Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 14:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
Barbol, I did a quick test on FAT, as long as when I created the file when I was in UTF8 locale, the filename shows correctly on both Rox and terminal. Let me know how it goes with you.

Jamesbond, the problem are the special spanish characters, the files in red are the ones containing those characters. It seems that fatdog is not using UTF-8 encoding when mounting FAT partitions. But I think I found a solution for this, adding the 'utf8' in the mount options does the trick:
Code:
# mount | grep sda7
/dev/sda7 on /mnt/sda7 type vfat (rw,relatime,fmask=0027,dmask=0027,codepage=cp850,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,errors=remount-ro)
# ls /mnt/sda7/Test/*
/mnt/sda7/Test/?and?_Debian-6.0.6   /mnt/sda7/Test/?and?_Slacko-540
/mnt/sda7/Test/?and?_Lubuntu-12.04  /mnt/sda7/Test/Ñandú_Fatdog64-610
/mnt/sda7/Test/?and?_Racy-530       /mnt/sda7/Test/??????????_ubuntu-10.04

/mnt/sda7/Test/Racy:
??????????.VT  ??????????.X

/mnt/sda7/Test/Ubuntu.10.04:
??????????.C  ??????????.X
# umount /mnt/sda7
# mount -t vfat -o utf8 /dev/sda7 /mnt/sda7
# mount | grep sda7
/dev/sda7 on /mnt/sda7 type vfat (rw,relatime,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro)
# ls /mnt/sda7/Test/*
/mnt/sda7/Test/Ã?andú_Fatdog64-610  /mnt/sda7/Test/Ñandú_Racy-530
/mnt/sda7/Test/Ñandú_Debian-6.0.6    /mnt/sda7/Test/Ñandú_Slacko-540
/mnt/sda7/Test/Ñandú_Lubuntu-12.04   /mnt/sda7/Test/ñáñìñüñẽñô_ubuntu-10.04

/mnt/sda7/Test/Racy:
ñáñìñüñẽñô.X  ñáñìñüñõñê.VT

/mnt/sda7/Test/Ubuntu.10.04:
ñáñìñüñêñô.C  ñáñìñüñẽñô.X
#

I added the 'utf8' option in fatdog-drive-icon-mount-helper.sh and voilà! no more red files in Rox.
I tested ntfs too, no issues with special chars there..

Here is a nice link with a lot of info (in spanish) regarding all encoding stuff for spanish speakers. Maybe it helps others too:
http://www.vicente-navarro.com/blog/2008/06/06/el-paso-a-utf-8-en-ubuntu-hardy-heron-rsync-entre-sistemas-con-distinto-juego-de-caracteres/

Quote:
If you can run with devx always attached, all the better
I ran localdef and a folder named es_AR.utf-8 was created in the savefile. Is anything else needed? I unloaded the devx.sfs and the spanish locale seems to be working still.

Barbol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 19:39    Post subject:  

Thanks Barbol.

It's a bit confusing because even without "utf8", FAT (when used as vfat) is capable of storing filenames with unicode characters. I could successfully create and later display filenames with odd characters in FAT (as long as my locale is UTF8) without "utf8" keyword.

Once I mount FAT with "utf8" keyword, however, those filenames show as garbage. I can then create new filenames with unicode characters again and they would display correctly - as long as I stay in "utf8" option.

As soon as I un-mount and mount them again - without utf8 - my original filenames works fine, but those created during the time I had it mounted with "utf8" displays as garbage.

Conclusion: I can store unicode characters in filenames, with or without "utf8" options, but they are mutually incompatible to each other.

In the interest of compatibility with other puppies, I will add "utf8" for FAT mount options in next release of Fatdog. The workaround you did in mount-helper is the correct one.

Regarding the locale - you're right, once the en_AR.UTF-8 locale has been created, the original source (in devx) is no longer needed.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 863
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 07:12    Post subject:  

hey all

I have recently started using fatdog64-611 firefox as my main distro on a lenovo t61 and also an amd sockt 939 desktop

I have had a little help from smokey (thanks) with sorting running firefox as root but have a couple of small issues I would like help with please:

on both machines I have seperate partitions for the OS's and data, how to I set up a samba share to the 'data' partitions (I can only get them to see the 'downloads' folder)

I am having trouble with the vncviewer which appears to break following install, works ok after initial install and fails on subsequent use (dialog box just hangs)

I am unable to install bookmarks from html file (have followed html to downloads then open ff instructions)

thanks in advance and thanks to the devs for a wonderful distro

Smile

oohh - sorry one more, I have installed the ip-up script to use opendns servers which I have installed in /etc/ppp and linked to the startup folder but it doesn't run at boot?

that's it!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1845
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 08:31    Post subject:  

ally have a look at this doc I put together.

http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/other/Howto-do-stuff-in-FatDog.pdf

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 863
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 08:44    Post subject:  

hey smokey

I already have that - thanks, I have just checked the samba section again and can see the instructions I missed before for adding share locations - my bad!

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RandSec

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 81
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 14:56    Post subject: Multisession Save
Subject description: Firefox config and add-ons not recovered
 

The idea here is to take a Puppy DVD to an arbitrary PC station, run and configure Firefox, and save the updated system on the DVD, all without using the PC hard drive. (These stations have no hard drive.) Most Puppy versions will simply recover the updated system transparently on the next boot, but Fatdog64 is not doing that for me. Although I have been using Puppy for years, always from DVD, and so am well acquainted with .iso's and DVD's and multisession updates, I cannot even start with Fatdog64. So I have tried to narrow everything down to a simple, repeatable, experiment which anyone can do in an hour or so:

1. Boot from a Puppy DVD, e.g., Lighthouse64
2. Download Fatdog64-611-firefox.iso
3. Burn iso to DVD+RW with Burniso2cd and verify OK
4. Boot from the resulting Fatdog64 DVD
5. Bring up Firefox, and add an add-on (e.g., LastPass )
6. Restart Firefox, see active add-on, close Firefox
7. Power-off => Save (need to check multisession box)
(perhaps 1 time in 10 the save will fail; if so, start over)
8. Boot the updated Fatdog64 DVD
9. Bring up Firefox: the add-on is gone (apparently all Firefox config is gone)

Since Lighthouse64 works, with the exact same hardware, I do not see an equipment issue on my end. But PC's with hard drives (especially with Puppy save files) might possibly deliver different results and so hide the problem. Maybe.

So what am I doing wrong?

_________________
MB: MSI FM2-A75MA-E35, APU: AMD A4 5300 3.6GHz Dual-Core,
8GB RAM, no hard drive, Lighthouse64 5.15F Puppy Linux from DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9263
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 15:35    Post subject:  

Are you using the "multi" boot option? Read here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 863
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 23:03    Post subject:  

help please.....

could somebody explain how to fault trace programs not working, in this instance the vncviewer has stopped

used to start hanging at dialog but has now stopped running altogether

thanks in advance

Smile

edit: I have re-installed again with clean savefile, pets added: fatdogmounthelper, cputemp, wolgui and the ip-up script (still doesn't autorun?)

vncviewer working, will update if/when it does go wrong again


edit2: vncviewer failed to run on second attempt??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1845
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 03:44    Post subject:  

ally, it's always a good idea to run programs from the console when they don't work. This will show you the problems.

You can also see what libraries are missing by typing:
ldd program in a console.

This will then give you the opportunity to go looking for the missing libraries. Sometimes you just need to make a symlink.

For example: suppose you get an error xyz.so.1 can't be found. You might already have a later version of the library called xyz.so.1.1
Simply make a symlink to xyz.so.1.1 and call it xyz.so.1

Hope it helps.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 863
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 06:45    Post subject:  

hey smokey

thanks again

from the terminal for the built in package

#vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection timed out
Unable to connect to VNC server

this happens on both machines that fatdog (611ff) is 9frugally) installed to, it works for time on a clean installs and then breaks

running from slacko 5.3.3 works ok

cheers

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 863
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 06:50    Post subject:  

ok just tried something

used the local ip address which worked straight off so it's been unable to resolve the hostname

I presume this is because I'm forcing the use of opendns servers, would that be right? If so how do I keep local hostname resolving but keep the speed of the opendns?

cheers

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1053s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0130s) ][ GZIP on ]