Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 23:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
mpdPup - Simplified MPD Music Server/Jukebox - v0.9.3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 36 [528 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Author Message
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 20:15    Post subject:  

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by this statement:
bonalux wrote:
if i try to run the wizard, it cannot recognise the server folder
Specific descriptions of exactly what you're seeing help immensely.

Can you ping your fileserver from the command line?


If you can't figure it out at all you could try starting from scratch by deleting your savefile from another system - it's the .2fs file on the flash device. This will put things back in a virgin state and you can start over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dynobot

Joined: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 20:36    Post subject:  

@Bonalux

Sounds like a hardware issue.

If MPDPup works fine from another computer 'untouched' but does not on another then it should not be the software.

run mpdpup in the machine that is having the problem, then from another machine check the router to see if the machine actually has network connection and an IP address. Confirm that IP address in the client too.

BTW, are you using any tweaks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bonalux

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 11:58    Post subject:  

ldolse wrote:
I'm not sure exactly what you mean by this statement:
bonalux wrote:
if i try to run the wizard, it cannot recognise the server folder
Specific descriptions of exactly what you're seeing help immensely.

Can you ping your fileserver from the command line?


I wasn't clear, when i run the wizard, the first step asks for IP, share name and folder, i fill the fields and go ahead, i leave blank password and user fields because there is not a pwd and OK, then after some passages it asks to verify if it can mount the shared folder, i say yes but it cannot find it (unable to mount the smb share). Parameters checked trice and the same parameters are working with the other installation (that is on a different usb key and pc).

This evening when home i try to ping the nas to see what happens. i don't think it's a hardware problem because i can acces the alix for configuration etc... so the net it's ok.

Thanx a lot to all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bonalux

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 04:44    Post subject:  

Don't ask me why but today i've tried reinstalling all and now it's working again Rolling Eyes
Only difference from last effort was that after every mod at config (first auto wizard, changing mpd version, unmuting waveio in alsa and doing usbnrpack mod) i've rebooted and waited a little before continuing (the first reboot i've waited till the database rebuild was done).

Don't have the time and patience to retry again and see if it works because of this procedure or not Embarassed sorry.

Thanks to all for the support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clar2391

Joined: 30 Sep 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 10:20    Post subject: MPD Version
Subject description: MPD Version
 

Is there a way (command line or other) to tell what version of MPD I'm currently running? When I go back to mpdwizard it always defaults to 0.16 and I want to be sure I'm using 0.17.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 15:53    Post subject:
Subject description: ARM
 

Dynobot wrote:
Open question.

From what I understand 64bit operating systems are more efficient and able to process more data per CPU cycle or something like that....

Is it possible or even worth the effort to build a 64bit version of MPDPup?

Even though MPD itself is not 64bit there is a 64bit version of alsa [which actually does the handling of data]....

I also think that going forward it might be a good idea that for those like myself who want tweaks to get incorporated into MPDPup to provide a link and data/explaination, source etc to back up or quantify the tweak.

Going forward I will make sure I do just that...


Good idea about providing source/explanation for suggested tweaks.

Have to say that if ldolse is prepared to do so, an ARM version of mpdPup would I guess be quite a lot in demand. There are a number of excellent ARM-based SOC boards out there at very reasonable prices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bonalux

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 15:54    Post subject: Re: MPD Version
Subject description: MPD Version
 

clar2391 wrote:
Is there a way (command line or other) to tell what version of MPD I'm currently running? When I go back to mpdwizard it always defaults to 0.16 and I want to be sure I'm using 0.17.


try

mpd --version

from the command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 16:53    Post subject:  

ldolse wrote:


Regarding processes renicing - the extra info on discovering which processes to renice is perfect - better setting of nice values is something I've wanted to get working properly for a long time.



ldolse

I wondered if you had any suggestions for other processes that directly contribute to audio output, that would benefit from higher priority setting?

Conversely, I noted in my set-up that the following are all set to 'nice -20' being the highest priority setting, and wondered whether any need to be for highest music quality, or could be downgraded in priority?


1 S 0 11 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 cpuset
1 S 0 12 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 khelper
1 S 0 15 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 kblockd
1 S 0 16 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 ata_sff
1 S 0 23 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 xfs_mru_cache
1 S 0 24 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 xfslogd
1 S 0 25 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 xfsdatad
1 S 0 26 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 xfsconvertd
1 S 0 35 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 kpsmoused
1 S 0 727 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 loop1
1 S 0 826 2 0 61 -20 - 0 - ? 00:00:00 loop0

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 06:48    Post subject:
Subject description: Renice MPD?
 

I also note that MPD's process is running at Nice setting 0 (Zero). Would it benefit from moving to say -19 or -20?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 01:04    Post subject:  

I really don't know any more about which proceses do audio than what's been contributed to this thread thus far. MPD's nice value is currently the default. I had previously launched it using nice -15, but that was causing a problem on some person's hardware so I reverted that. I'll use renice in the next release. Not sure what the best value is, but -20 seems like overkill - need to make sure other processes get what they need when they need it - not that there aren't plenty of CPU resources.

@bonalux, glad you got it working

@clar2391 - the wizard always highlights 0.16, didn't add extra logic to check the current version, will do that to avoid confusion in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 11:23    Post subject:
Subject description: MPD Nice Setting
 

ldolse - I am happy to do some experimental on my system. Of course, we are getting into system-specific territory and the preferable solution no doubt for those with dual-core processors like me is to have MPD running on its own separate core - as suggested by Dynobot but requiring some utilities to be included in the build to achieve.

A couple of questions if I may -

1. Is there a config file that can be edited to change the default Nice setting of MPD at boot time?
2. If not, can you let me have the command line that will search for the MPD PID No, return the value and then apply that value to a 'renice PID xx -19' in the script file I am using to apply different Nice values to processes, as per my previous postings.

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 12:43    Post subject:
Subject description: MPD Nice Setting
 

jrling wrote:
1. Is there a config file that can be edited to change the default Nice setting of MPD at boot time?
No - not today. This is how I plan to implement the function though.

jrling wrote:
2. If not, can you let me have the command line that will search for the MPD PID No, return the value and then apply that value to a 'renice PID xx -19' in the script file I am using to apply different Nice values to processes, as per my previous postings.
You could try something like this
Code:
ps -ef | grep XYZ | grep -v grep |  awk '{ print $2 }'
- replace XYZ with the process name you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 17:04    Post subject:
Subject description: Renice mpd
 

Thanks ldolse

I found this command to renice by name rather than PID No. -

renice XX -p $(pidof <name>)

and it seems to work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
multiblitz

Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jan 2013, 18:13    Post subject:  

Can you share with us some of your plans for the next version of mpdpup...the last one was already absultely stunning...I am looking forward to the next one very much....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2013, 03:23    Post subject:  

multiblitz wrote:
Can you share with us some of your plans for the next version of mpdpup...the last one was already absultely stunning...I am looking forward to the next one very much....
The next one will primarily just be about further refinement of the last one. It will still use the same kernel and base os as the last version. Jumping to a new kernel is going to be a big project and I'd like to get some of the current requests/problems resolved first.

Here are the things I've been thinking about:
  • final fix for unmute, nrpacks
  • 0.17 by default, remove 0.16 (my personal issue was finally isolated to a bad power supply)
  • Renicing/priority tweaks discussed over the last few pages, enable mmap
  • fix albumbler so that it can finally be used from remote control on bootup
  • update mpd, mpdlcd, hiface drivers
  • CIFS credential handling suggestion
  • add playlist/radio hotkey programming to empcd (this might be a stretch, I need to learn a bit more C to do this right)
  • Add libexiftool and start working on scripts to extract album artwork from metadata as well as automatically fixing filenames based on metadata
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 36 [528 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0958s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]