Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 23:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 60 of 113 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 111, 112, 113 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 14:18    Post_subject:  

That is good but I want to use the Subito
because I find it interesting but I am too stupid
to get the odd "windows manager" MC or what the name is.
So I want to know more about that subito thing for ordinary computer Smile

Sure it is cool that you care about the super small boards with
ARM that is interesting too They have a new RPi model with
512MB RAM instead of 128MB. And some other change
maybe the power supply or something.

I wish it had regular VGA port output to screen instead of
the very modern HDMI. onl yrich people can buy such screens
and the TV is far away in the living room and kids want to see
tehir children program on it and not dad using it for his boring computing Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 539
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 21:41    Post_subject:  

Debian.
I just went back and re-installed plain ol' vanilla stable Debian on my main computer. Yeah,...I know I ranted about having to get ooooodles of those DVDs. I still hate that, mind you. But honestly,...I can't for the life of me find another distro that is quite so "workable" and adaptable, for my needs and wants.

I mean,...Squeeze comes on 8 DVDs now,...and Wheezy (I have heard) will come out on ELEVEN!!!! But you have your hands on an almost complete repository when you have them. With that,...you can pretty much mix and match,...and build your own OS the way you want it. It can be a gaming center,..(for the kids or grandkids),...or anything else you may want it to be. I always go "slim-and-trim" with a small desktop environment,...without too many "bells and whistles". Bunches of games and educational stuff for the grandkids. Photo apps for me.

Puppy linux does everything else for me,....(it's my "Swiss army knife"). Couldn't do without a Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 01:08    Post_subject:  

Slackware 14,0 (arm version) running on the Raspberry Pi.

I'm surprised how well it runs, Firefox-17.0.1 and all, xfce desktop.





Hmm.. could I get this to fit the puppy mould? Who knows?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 05:16    Post_subject:  

What kind of SD card do you need for that one to work then?
How much of the RAM does it need playing a youtube video?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 539
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 14:45    Post_subject:  

Whoa!
That Mayan calendar would look terrific with a Puppy logo in the middle of it,....wouldn't it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bligh

Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 484
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2013, 20:21    Post_subject:  

I just bought a new hdd and installed Pclinux full monty to the 1st os partition, and have several Puppies on the 2nd data partition. I haven't completely let go if my Vector Classic hdd also with several Puppies on the data partition. I can still boot most any live dist. cd/dvd to check it out.
Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1529

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 13:43    Post_subject:  

nitehawk wrote:
Debian.
I just went back and re-installed plain ol' vanilla stable Debian on my main computer. Yeah,...I know I ranted about having to get ooooodles of those DVDs. I still hate that, mind you. But honestly,...I can't for the life of me find another distro that is quite so "workable" and adaptable, for my needs and wants.

I mean,...Squeeze comes on 8 DVDs now,...and Wheezy (I have heard) will come out on ELEVEN!!!! But you have your hands on an almost complete repository when you have them. With that,...you can pretty much mix and match,...and build your own OS the way you want it. It can be a gaming center,..(for the kids or grandkids),...or anything else you may want it to be. I always go "slim-and-trim" with a small desktop environment,...without too many "bells and whistles". Bunches of games and educational stuff for the grandkids. Photo apps for me.

Puppy linux does everything else for me,....(it's my "Swiss army knife"). Couldn't do without a Puppy.


Hi nitehawk,

Me neither, Puppy's got pretty much everything you could want in a small space. I'm posting this from PuppEX, a Swedish Slacko-based Pup which I think is very underrated, but I like Carolina as well; it's based on Saluki but has a wider range of apps including Libre Office and Flash works right out of the box.

I've just installed Vector 7.0 Light, and so far I'm quite pleased with it. It's got a good range of apps for a smallish distro and Flash works straight out of the box (which is a rarity for a Slack-based distro).

I'm going to persevere with Debian this year; I still don't like the fact that it makes it so difficult for you to do any system-based stuff though (I wasn't even able to copy files off a CD-R in one Debian-based distro I tried last year!). Sometimes I've had login problems with Debian-based distros too, and antiX and Swift in particular. However, Solus 1.3 should be out soon and I'm looking forward to that one.

That aside, I don't intend to be testing out so many distros in 2013. It takes up too much time to set everything up the way I want it each time, and (I don't know what other people think of this) tbh there are too many duff ones as well these days.

I don't know why, but the quality of new Linux releases seems to be getting worse. Maybe there are more things to go wrong in a Linux distro in 2013 compared to, say, 2003, but whatever the reason it's far more common that it should be for a new install to fail (ArchBang last year), the network connection to go down so I have to reactivate it manually every time I log on (as I did even with Scientific, for example), or to not be able to log in (AntiX and Swift), etc.

Rant over. Happy New Year everyone and unlike me over Christmas stay clear of the 'flu (at least I'm getting better now).

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Classic 214X GTK3, Puppy 4.32 v3, Precise Puppy 573-L, Puppy Tahr 6.0 Exton, Puppy 4.20 Deeper Thought v2.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2013, 17:28    Post_subject:  

I need help with this question

Is it possible to boot a Knoppix live disc
without mounting the local hard disk?

Do you know it from your own experience
can you explain how one do it?

Would Puppy automatically mount every HD?
I don't think it does what about Knoppix?
Does it differ which versions one use
or Cheat code used? Maybe there is a
Cheat code that make to not mount?

No I will not join their forum to ask this question
they don't like my kind of confusing question there .

I've read others getting very condescending answers
when they did not live up to the RTFM types.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 539
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2013, 20:27    Post_subject:  

Well,..
I actually got almost ALL of the games my grandson could ever want,...off of the Lenny and Squeeze DVDs. Got them all installed on that tiny 20 Gig hard drive.

So when he comes for a visit,...I can now just switch out my 160G hd for the little game-loaded 20G hd.

Whoot! That means I really don't ever need to consider spending $$$ for all those Debian DVDs again.

My daughter has the high speed internet stuff,....so whenever I'm there, I can quickly download a Puppy onto my flash drive. (Oh, fun, fun!) Now I'm trying out the newest Macpup,...and am really liking it. However, I seem to prefer just using the jwm desktop, instead of E17. And I had forgotten how nice Quirky was (so I'm trying that again, as well).

I need to get myself another partition going somewhere on one of my old computers,....to re-install the nice old classic Puppy 431, as well.
(So many Puppys,....so little time)... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 900
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jan 2013, 15:24    Post_subject:  

Posting from Slackware 14.0 (x86) right now. I installed it on my netbook. The netbook's screen is only 1024x600, so I connected a 15" LCD Dell monitor I had and it displays 1024x768 and I disabled the netbook's screen, so running with it's lid closed. I have connected to it a USB Keyboard & Mouse I had. Running XFCE. Then I had my 8GB USB Drive (from Christmas) and a 16GB MicroSD chip (for my tablet) plugged in. I've compiled 2 packages (through SlackBuilds.org) and put them on a USB drive.

EDIT: the netbook has a SD Card reader so I used a MicroSD to SD adapter.
Desktop.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Desktop.png 
Filesize  317.71 KB 
Downloaded  188 Time(s) 

_________________
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 05:10    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
I need help with this question

Is it possible to boot a Knoppix live disc
without mounting the local hard disk?


try this:
Code:

knoppix nofstab


nofstab
By default Knoppix will look/scan the HDs to see if it contains partitions. If the HDs do have partitions, Knoppix will automatically build a '/etc/fstab' file and fill-in the appropriate partition entries and will also create the '/mnt/hdxx' mount points. The 'nofstab' cheat code prevents this look/scan and prevents the generation of the /etc/fstab and its mount points.

more there:
Cheat Codes
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 06:04    Post_subject:  

Much appreciated that sounds what is needed indeed.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 08:49    Post_subject:  

won't nofstab leave it in a state where you cannot do anything with the drives? They are not just unmounted - they are unavailable to mount at a later time should you desire until you go through the process manually. I don't know - I am asking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 09:33    Post_subject:  

Oops that is a very important question.
if that is true then I have given wrong suggestion
to that guy that asked me in another forum.

I told him to join the Knoppix forum.
i trust them would know?

I will not join there only to get riduculed by one of the angry Mods.

I am still upset about how that Mod treated a friendly newbie
that asked about iso booting of Knoppix.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 14:06    Post_subject:  

I tested archpup today but I am not so good at setting up things
but it works good on my Desktop HP/Compaq

I had to use setxkbmap se to get swedish keyboard.
the ARCHwiki suggest another thing which did not work.

To get firefox one use the sfs that have FF and Flash built in.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 60 of 113 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 111, 112, 113 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1169s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0318s) ][ GZIP on ]