Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 00:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup 12.12.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1891

PostPosted: Sun 30 Dec 2012, 18:17    Post_subject: Frisbee for ArchPup  

wrong post
_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hnoori

Joined: 16 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 04:17    Post_subject:  Adding a script in ArchPup to saveall in ram periodically.
Sub_title: How to add a new function in ArchPup to save all in ram periodically as Puppy did?!
 

Hi there,

I'm a puppy fan, indeed I have an old (+10 years) laptop which I thought it will never
can be used TILL I found puppy, then my laptop get a new life.
Puppy works fine and very fast and it seems there is all things that I need.

It's lightweight and plenty good stable. But, albeit it has an integrated package manager,
it's list of package still too short and out of dated. Hence, I'm looking for a new distro
which is enough lightweight as puppy and more stable with a world of cutting edge package.
Meanwhile Archpup suddenly appeared, light as puppy plus (Arch) pacman,
made it light, fast and stable. All that I needed and I was looking for!!!!!

Though it is under heavy development but still it's stable and it's really fast and light
weight. Now Archpup is my default distro, and I will install it on my main machine also.

I think if there are some function it could be more useful and reliable.
For example, it is a good idea to have a save function which save data every N min,
or every time user click on it.
another issue, I'm a non western user indeed I'm using Farsi as my local,
Farsi (aka Persian) is a Right To Left language as Arabic and Hebrew,
but, in every text editors that I tested they all can't show my Lang words
properly, in fact they show every words as separated alphabets, and I couldn't
solve it since now.

I am waiting for a newer version and sophisticated.
Merry Christmas
Good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1891

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 06:50    Post_subject:  

wrong post
_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2030
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 07:14    Post_subject:  

Still cannot get the wireless to work on my asus eeepc 1005HA.
Here is the output from Frisbee.

Code:
[root@archpup ~]# Frisbee
rm: cannot remove '/tmp/Pwireless*': No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
cat: /tmp/wpa_supplicant.log: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Not a directory
Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
Try 'grep --help' for more information.
grep: write error: Broken pipe


Hardinfo:
Ethernet controller Atheros Communications AR8132 Fast Ethernet
Network controller Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 07:51    Post_subject: Re: Frisbee for ArchPup  

mavrothal wrote:
Install the readline package with pacman

There is already readline-6.2.004-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz in arch-base list (bash need it), but Frisbee uses some older wireless_tools package that needs older readline (version 5), so it would be better to make symbolic link to system wireless_tools and dhcpcd they are already in.
trapster:
I started Pwireless2 from terminal and there is same grep: write error: Broken pipe. Obviously this app was written for older grep, and now it is incompatible after newer grep removed some required options. Maybe just to add pns-tools (thanks mavrothal) and connect from terminal, I will add it as attachment, please everyone test. If it works I could remove Pwireless2 package, if you agree. pns-tools might also need fixing, but it's easier to edit just one script. Wink
pns-tool.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pns-tool.gz 
Filesize  4.23 KB 
Downloaded  256 Time(s) 
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1891

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 08:12    Post_subject: Re: Frisbee for ArchPup  

simargl wrote:
mavrothal wrote:
Install the readline package with pacman

There is already readline-6.2.004-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz in arch-base list (bash need it), but Frisbee uses some older wireless_tools package that needs older readline (version 5), so it would be better to make symbolic link to system wireless_tools and dhcpcd they are already in.

Indeed libreadline is there but in /lib instead of /usr/lib where pacman installs it.
The Frisbee tarball does have the symlink of libreadline.so.5 to /usr/lib/libreadline.so.6.2. If libreadline stays in /lib the link could be changed I guess.
Frisbee is using special dhcpc and wireless tools modified by jemimah.

trapster wrote:
Still cannot get the wireless to work on my asus eeepc 1005HA.

What is the output of the "ifconfig" command ?
Do you see a wlan0 or eth0 entry? If not , what do you get if you type
"ifconfig wlan0 up" ?
I think your problem is more likely kernel/udev related and not Pwireless/Frisbee etc.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 11:39    Post_subject:  

simargl wrote:
Seems like you and me are only users so we'll add what we need Laughing.


I am also very interested in Archpup. It gives me a good stable kind of
feeling. If I can resolve some issues like screen-tearing during video play
and if possible nvidia optimus problems, perhaps with bumblebee, I will
scrap windows permanently.

However since I cannot devote much time to it at the moment it will
be a "long haul" project for me.

I think wayland is very interesting when it matures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 02:56    Post_subject:  

Thought I'd throw a screenshot up, it's not much, but the Terminal is possibly instructive to someone wondering how to get there first piece of software using Pacman. Upon first run of course, well at least I did this, pacman -Sy (that sort of kicks things off)... Then you can type pacman -S mtpaint (installs mtpaint nicely in the Graphics Menu).

Also, and I did read much of the 9 previous pages, Grub4dos is sure not cooperating. Well, it's in my screenshot as well. I just don't know my Grub I guess.

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2030
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 13:25    Post_subject:  

Wifi issues have been resolved. Started with a fresh savefile.
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 15:10    Post_subject:  

trapster wrote:
Wifi issues have been resolved. Started with a fresh savefile.

great stuff, how did you resolve them?

Here's my experience
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83264

Looking forward to trying Mavrothal's Frisbee Cool

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 07:36    Post_subject:  

ArchPup 12.12.1 will have proper support for notifications using xfce4-notifyd, and main reason
for adding this is to show notification when session is saved to usbflash in pupmode 13. xfce4-notifyd
required some libraries from xfce DE, so I had to recompile thunar (there's no more need for static linking).
In two or three days I will upload new and final update for this version, after that there will be no
new versions for at least 3 months or more ( low user interest and I don't want to waste my time).
Plan is to remove Pwireless2 and add pns-tool from http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=674502#674502.
Actually if no one wants to help and test pns-tool, I will remove that too, and just add link to frisbee sfs or something.
Back to top
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 09:36    Post_subject:  

Simargl, u're the 'Linus Torvalds' of ArchPup. Even though it may 'appear' to be a lack of interest, he knew he had a diamond...and i'm sure you feel the same with this project. your project. like i said before, Arch linux and Puppy linux are the two best linuxes. and this is better than both of them.

If you look through the thread at the ppl who's posting, quite a few of them are ppl with 100 or less postings. that in itself, means something. i myself don't post often on any forum. why? because i just don't feel like it. i don't feel like creating the account, or going back in my email to search for my forgotten username and password, etc. so for someone with 6 posts to go out of their way to do that....says a lot 'indirectly' about your project.

This distro has the potential to be GREAT for beginners, to intermediates, to advanced users.

have you ever tried to do a wubi style/frugal install of arch linux on an ntfs partition? it's a massive procedure. even more massive to get it to boot from a ntfs or fat32 formated thumb drive. i have never gotten arch linux to boot frugally from a ntfs thumb drive and have tried vigorously abt 3 times. hard to get help doing it too. not many threads on it, and as soon as most ppl see ntfs....they tend to reply with "Dude, u can't install linux on an ntfs partition." this makes that massive and difficult procedure easy. so that's: easy to usb boot on ntfs/fat32 partition, easy wubi/frugal install on a windows computer, faster than Arch Linux, more complete package manager than Puppy.

i don't think most ppl understand what the potential's of this distro are. and that's where i think that "lack of interest" that u're speaking of is coming from. it's not overly hard to use though, but try explaining that to a windows user. They'd think Ubuntu was hard.

i think if u were to illustrate in the first post a mini ArchPup for dummies, or smthn to that extent....explaining it to the kind of ppl that still 'burns another CD for every puppy they try' this thing will take off. 'maybe'. a lotta ppl don't like to do too much reading either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 12:48    Post_subject:  

+1

Archpup seems like THE solution to all the Package Management problems. Archpup is lightweight and minimal, just needs user friendliness to be an absolute classic pup. BTW I would only judge Puppy's user friendliness as medium. (For example, the behavior should be the same whether you have zero, one, or more pup-saves.)

Here's an observation about Puppy's Desktop Environment. It doesn't have one (by default)! It has a basic window manager and lots of cool little programs filling in the gaps. Only trouble some features are lost when Puppy enters a new development cycle - look at the difference between Lucid and Slacko. Also people's time to develop those tools may be taken up by compiling and hunting for libraries. Arch's desktop integration seems better from what I've seen (ie I don't want to have to configure menus and basic file associations when I install a new program.)

your looking around 50 downloads a day, I don't know how that compares to other pups?
http://sourceforge.net/projects/archpup/files/stats/timeline?dates=2012-12-1+to+2013-01-02

Quote:

Actually if no one wants to help and test pns-tool, I will remove that too, and just add link to frisbee sfs or something.


going to be testing wireless options later ; -)

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 466
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 13:58    Post_subject:  

Hi !
Did download archpup latest for a test .
burnt iso to dvd .
Booting Dvd but could not run Archpup. .

Downloaded and burńt iso twice .

It could not find archpup-1212sfs.
Whats wrong . Or is this iso not meant for live Cd ?
Maybe bad download . The older version did start from Dvd .
Can anybody help ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 15:53    Post_subject:  

simargl wrote:
after that there will be no
new versions for at least 3 months or more ( low user interest and I don't want to waste my time).


So simargl are you moving on to new projects then?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1306s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0342s) ][ GZIP on ]