Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 13:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup 12.12.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
rcrd

Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 10:25    Post_subject:  

Hi,

Thank you very much sigmargl!

This is my very first post. I've using puppy as my main OS for years now, but only Archpup has made come out of the shell and join the forum. Puppy and Arch... unbelieveable!! I'm really enjoying it. Thanks a lot for the excellent work.

One thing, urxvt didn't display or accepted special characters (accented characters (geany did), I wanted to write in Spanish in vim), so I had to generate new locale and add it to etc/profile. I don't know if that was the right thing to do, but it is working fine now.

I haven't manage to get the savefile working, but I'm enjoying myself remastering.

Thanks for the excellent work
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 11:04    Post_subject:  

Hi rcrd,
Thanks for the comment, I'm glad you like ArchPup Very Happy. For problem with save file please I will
need some more information, is it on hard disk or usb and during boot process do you
see message like loading personal save file. If not try to select root of your partition when
making savefile, it will be created in folder archpup.
Back to top
rcrd

Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 11:31    Post_subject:  

Thanks for your help simargl

At the moment I have a frugal install of Archpup on HDD, Now, I have just created a savefile in root. I checked that the filesave was created, and it was, but when I rebooted, the boot process didn't find it, and then I checked but the directory Archpup and the savefile weren't there anymore.

In version 1204 I got kernel panic when creating a savefile in USB and HDD.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 11:41    Post_subject: Arch Pup
Sub_title: creation of save file etc.
 

I also have same problem. No save file after rebooting in frugal install. Another thing, my USB drive was also not detected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1898

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 12:05    Post_subject:  

rameshiyer, rcrd, aand other with savefile problems try this:
On your first boot make your savefile either from the menu or typing "makepfile.sh" in the terminal.
Make sure you make the savefile it in a physical device partition and not in /root

Verify that your savefile is where it suppose to be. ie open Thunar and navigate to the mewly created savefile.
If not there, run again, preferably with the terminal command and look for errors.
If you can not make the savefile in a physical partition, look at the pup-volume-monitor, udev and kernel error logs for the root of the problem.

If the save file is OK, download archsnap.tar.gz
Open a terminal in the directory you downloaded archsnap.tar.gz and type
Code:
tar xvzf archsnap.tar.gz
cp -aR archsnap/* /

When you finish your work, just shutdown. Your data should be saved.
Works in 1212 and I believe should work with 1204 too.

Notice that if you have problems making the save file, archsnap is not going to help.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 13:21    Post_subject:  

Can you, after creating save file, run this command
Code:
blkid -o list

to see if your partitions are mounted. Script makepfile.sh should automatically
mount all of your partitions, /dev/sda1 on /mnt/sda1, /dev/sda2 on /mnt/sda2...,
so check in that location, in folder archpup will be craeated file archsave.2fs.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
rcrd

Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 14:19    Post_subject:  

mavrothal, thanks for your advice. I followed your instructions and created the file in sda3 partition, where my archpup-1212 resides, and the file exists. But when I reboot, it is not picked up.
The I saw simargl post (thanks for the tip) and after creating the savefile all my partitions get mounted, including sda3, where the filesave is. I rebooted and the savefile doesn't get picked up. I decide to run blkid -o list just after the reboot, before doing anything else and I see sda3 (where archpup-1212 and /archpup/savefile reside) is not mounted automatically. So I guess the file is not read because the partition is not mounted at boot time.
So, I decide to boot puppy 528, which also resides on sda3, and I see that puppy 528 mounts sda3 automatically.
Why is archpup not mounting sda3 at boot time? Do I need to include the mount code in .start?
Also, and this is most peculiar, after creating the savefile I decide to change the wallpaper, I go to /usr/share/backgrounds and select a different image I put there when I remastered the original archpup. The wallpaper doesn't change and the file disappear from /usr/share/backgrounds, I choose another image and the same thing happens, eventually all my image files disappear.
I am going to try with the original livecd just in case something went wrong when remastering.

Thanks a lot for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 14:33    Post_subject:  

rcrd wrote:
I rebooted and the savefile doesn't get picked up. I decide to run blkid -o list just after the reboot, before doing anything else and I see sda3 (where archpup-1212 and /archpup/savefile reside) is not mounted automatically. So I guess the file is not read because the partition is not mounted at boot time.

So you have inside /mnt/sda3, folder archpup and inside that folder:
archpup-1212.sfs, vmlinuz, initrd.gz and archsave.2fs.
There's no reason to not work this way because I have exactly same
setup only in sda6. Perhaps you have pfix=ram in bootloader menu.lst
Back to top
rcrd

Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 15:01    Post_subject:  

These are my lines in the menu.lst

Code:
title Archpup 1212 frugal in sda3 dir archpup1212
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /archpup1212/vmlinuz psubdir=archpup1212
initrd /archpup1212/initrd.gz


I'll play around with the a non remastered iso, see what happens.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2169
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 18:01    Post_subject:  

Hi

Try better don't to use some save file at all!

It is very easy to remaster your archpup-1212.sfs exact as you need to work or play as comfortable as possible! after that, you have an high performance system with great advantages!

the starting level of your system is always in /initrd/pup_ro2 ! This is the picture of the content of your actual archpup-1212.sfs.

open thunar and test in /root if you see the hidden files, then open with thunar you partition sda2. after that:

copy it on the hard disk easily in a new subdir /mnt/sda2/archpup1212/install

Code:
cd /mnt/sda2/archpup
ls
mkdir install
cp -a /initrd/pup_ro2/* /mnt/sda2/archpup/install


and can add, erase or change all what you want to get this high performance system!

for example parts of hidden documents and subdirs found in your /root dir.

or links in /usr/bin or /usr/lib to bind external things (for ex. the most actual version of your lovely mozilla).

etc.

is that done, prepare the next level of your archpup-1212.sfs:

Code:
mv /mnt/sda2/archpup/archpup-1212.sfs /mnt/sda2/archpup/archpup-1212.last1
ls
mksquashfs install archpup-1212.sfs -comp xz -b 524288 -Xbcj x86


learn to play with those matter! it is easy!

test to do that in a first time without any changes: only rebuild your archpup-1212.sfs without any changes to get experience. if you reduce the last line as follow
mksquashfs install archpup-1212.sfs
the time to compress your new file will be dramatic shorter (but the size of the file about 1/3 bigger! it also starts at this other size!)
see also http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=672325#672325

rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2169
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 18:42    Post_subject:  

Hi simargl

Special thank for the superb application «scrot»! Do you know if it would be possible to shrink (all) pictures of a pictures directory instead to make screen shots?

rgds
2012-12-20-scrot.jpg
 Description   print shoot: Archpup in action after having loaded both wine, miktex (latex for windows) and Lyx 2.0.5 for windows in memory! but I did shrink the size with mTpaint to avoid to learn how to do this with scrot :oops:
 Filesize   30.69 KB
 Viewed   905 Time(s)

2012-12-20-scrot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 19:56    Post_subject:  

I'm liking Archpup's minimal approach and looking forward to trying pacman.

I've got stuck at the setting up wireless. I wonder if someone can point me in the right direction. I need to setup this up before I can connect to the net.

I've loaded the Frisbee sfs, but no wireless is detected, see pic.

I've tried modprobe b43 but no luck with Frisbee or Pwireless 2. I wonder if a later version of Frisbee is needed.

my card is pci broadcom BCM4318

here's some outputs-

Code:
## Problems in Archpup
[root@archpup ~]#  lspci | grep -i net
04:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
04:03.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401 100Base-T (rev 01)
[root@archpup ~]#
[root@archpup ~]#  lsmod | grep -i b43
b43                   275782  0
ssb                    35140  1 b43
mac80211              157757  1 b43
cfg80211              122652  2 b43,mac80211
mmc_core               57795  2 b43,ssb
[root@archpup ~]#

## Working in Slacko 5.3.1
# lsmod | grep b43
b43                   132145  0
mac80211              123470  1 b43
cfg80211               98953  2 b43,mac80211
ssb                    29319  2 b43,b44
no wireless screeny.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.07 KB
 Viewed   921 Time(s)

no wireless screeny.jpg


_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 21:23    Post_subject:  

@darkcity

I was never able to get frisbee working correctly. the included pwireless2 seems to work fine though...i myself though am using wicd on 1204.

but for that wireless issue u're having, i'm thinking u're missing the firmware. i resolved it by copying out of another current pup...like precise or saluki the folder /lib/firmware to /lib/firmware on archpup...after rebooting and 'modprobe b43' it's working for me.

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1898

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 02:42    Post_subject:  

rcrd wrote:
These are my lines in the menu.lst

Code:
title Archpup 1212 frugal in sda3 dir archpup1212
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /archpup1212/vmlinuz psubdir=archpup1212
initrd /archpup1212/initrd.gz


So is your archsave.2fs in /archpup1212, in /archpup or in /archpup1212/archpup ?
The first (ie savefile and main sfs, vmlinuz and initrd in the same folder) works for me. The other 2, no.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2169
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 04:30    Post_subject:  

hi darkcity

archpup is so much different as other Puplets as that, what we urgently need, would be a good Wiki page with all the hints from the 2 threads as far as always convenient for Archpup-12.12 Laughing

darkcity wrote:
I'm liking Archpup's minimal approach and looking forward to trying pacman.

I've got stuck at the setting up wireless. I wonder if someone can point me in the right direction.


and of course the connecting to wired or wireless network and eventually adding of firmware is an important figure in such a wiki page (I am sorry, I would really well help but as my internet box is recognized by all linux and I use wired connecting, I have no experience... I goes immediately perfectly!)

kind rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1073s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]