Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 01:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
hd led blinking
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
woflux

Joined: 11 Sep 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 17:54    Post_subject:  hd led blinking  

Hello, I have noticed that when Slacko is on without any program running, the HD led blinks fast about every 5-6 seconds is it normal and what does it do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 19:38    Post_subject:  

I run Puppy from a multisession DVD without a hard disk drive in the computer, so I'm no expert, but for a full install on a hard disk I'm pretty sure it's normal for that led to show periodic activity even though nothing is going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3517
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 20:26    Post_subject:  

Is your Slacko connected to the web?

When I'm connected to the web...
I believe my ISP is periodically, at frequent intervals, checking to see if I'm still here/connected.
That would cause some activity at my end I guess.
Where that activity takes place [RAM or internal HDD?] would depend on the kind of installation methinks.
My Slacko is set up to NOT periodically-auto-write-back-during-the-session [from RAM where things are running] to the slackosave on the internal HDD, so no HDD activity to be expected there.
If I clicked the "Save..." icon on the desktop, it would be reasonable to then see resulting activity on the HDD as the HDD was written to.
[I also have my Slacko set up to treat the slackosave on the internal HDD as though it's a slackosave on a Flash Drive, which is why there is a "Save.." icon on the desktop]

Is your Slacko installed to the internal HDD or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1161
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 21:50    Post_subject:  

Hi,

I boot from a multisession CD into RAM and use a mounted
flash stick where I store any data I want to save as I work.

I also have folders on my flash stick which are linked back
to the CD/RAM (e.g. wine, .wine and .mozilla)

I have also wondered why my LED HD light blinks when I
don't have any HD partitions mounted (and I don't use Swap).

Strangely, at the moment it is blinking at about six second
intervals. I had never counted the intervals before now.

The blink rate is constant, with or without any browser
loaded and with no apps loaded.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3517
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 23:12    Post_subject:  

Just now checked... Very Happy

When I click the "Save..." icon on my desktop...
The LED for the internal HDD glows red for about 1 second during the [session changes] copy back from RAM to HDD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
woflux

Joined: 11 Sep 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 12:10    Post_subject:  

I boot from CD then it loads the savefile from the hard disk, I'd like to know what causes the HD to be used every 5 seconds, maybe Slack updates some file in the savefile ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 15:22    Post_subject:  

You can run top in a terminal and see what process coincides with the activity
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
woflux

Joined: 11 Sep 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 06:43    Post_subject:  

I already checked but the only processes that use some CPU are like X, busybox and i cant kill them Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 08:48    Post_subject:  

It may be that the light flickers for more than just hard disk activity. What does the motherboard documentation say about it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 13:39    Post_subject:  

If that action of the hard drive led was happening in Windows, I would assume that the defrag utility was running in the background.
But with Puppy, what background actions does it have that would cause that action?

Could it just be a matter of the pmount or simular background function periodically looking for new devices such as a CD/DVD disk or a USB device that was plugged in?
In other words, a periodic update check for attached devices like checking to see if a USB device had been plugged in.

If one is concerned about the possibility of a hacking attempt via the net to access the drive, just click on the internet icon on the task bar and select "Disconnect from network" and see if the hard drive led stops flashing.

The last thing a Puppy user wants to think is that some process is accessing his hard drive data/ personal information without his knowledge!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 16:28    Post_subject:  

couple bash programs may help you here.
iotop (its python based) will let you know what program accessing your drive.
iostat will let you know what dev is being accessed.
lsof will let you know what files are currently in use by the system.

IOtop is not included with puppy, so you'll have to get it online.
IOstat and lsof may be included... will depend on what puppy you are running.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2012, 03:20    Post_subject:  

In Puppy Slacko 5.4.1, iostat is present. The other two utilities are not.
So I will have to do a web search for them.

But thank you for the suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2012, 13:01    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
In Puppy Slacko 5.4.1, iostat is present. The other two utilities are not.
So I will have to do a web search for them.

But thank you for the suggestions.


interisting... I thought I remember during beta stages that lsof was included in slacko. (I specifically asked about it since it would help debug problems when we are trying to help users with no linux experience)

Here they are. But as I mentioned.. iotop requires python to run. (its a python script)
iotop-0.4.4.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  iotop-0.4.4.pet 
Filesize  36.1 KB 
Downloaded  467 Time(s) 
lsof-4.83.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  lsof-4.83.pet 
Filesize  51.51 KB 
Downloaded  468 Time(s) 

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2013, 15:52    Post_subject:  

The partition where the Puppy files are located is mounted read-write all of the time. If there is a filesystem driver managing the partition loaded (mostly built into the vmlinuz kernel directly) , it will always do some operations on the partition, especially if it is a journal 'ed filesystem ie ntfs, ext3 .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2471
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2013, 16:27    Post_subject:  

Just the government spying on your computer, nothing to worry about Shocked remember the scene from the SUM of ALL FEARS. Twisted Evil

I noticed it as well on a DVD booted machine without a HD about every six seconds
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0840s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]