Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 05:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup 12.12.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 03:53    Post_subject:  

@oui: Keyboard layouts are provided by this package kbd-1.15.3-3-i686.pkg.tar.xz
I don't get typing errors, maybe you are using wrong keymap.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KEYMAP
There is problem with didiwiki connecting to localhost:8000, will try to fix that.
Back to top
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2097
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 10:54    Post_subject:  

Hi Simargl

Thank you for the infos.

a: Keymap

I did find the solution: The line in /root/.start for setxkbmap has to be written in extended style! As follow:

Code:
01 #!/bin/sh
02 mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/home
03 imlibsetroot -p c -s f /usr/share/backgrounds/default.jpg &
04 setxkbmap -layout us -variant intl &
05 numlockx on &
06 if [ ! -f /usr/share/mime/globs ]; then update-mime-database /usr/share/mime; fi
07 if [ ! -f /etc/machine-id ]; then dbus-uuidgen > /etc/machine-id; fi
08 if [ ! -f /usr/lib/gdk-pixbuf-2.0/2.10.0/loaders.cache ]; then gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders 09 --update-cache; fi
10 mpg123 /usr/share/audio/login.mp3 &
11 sleep 2s
12 tint2 &
13 sleep 2s
14 conky &
15 volumeicon &
16 sleep 5s
17 didiwiki &
18 ifconfig lo up &
19 rdate -s tick.greyware.com
20 exit


See pls lines 02, 04 and 17/18 !

Consult the doc /usr/share/X11/xkb/rules/xorg.lst .

b: Sound level

I would be interesting to enter in line 15 a noise level (because I use a earphone and the noise level can really be excessive at starting point. is that possible?

rgds

Note1: you did use a different writing to name the iso and the sfs! It generates writing errors Rolling Eyes ...
Note2: concerning line 02, a dir /mnt/home would be needed in the archpup-1212.sfs and each user has to enter is own partition number!
Why an "home" directory?
You can for example prepare in the archpup-1212.sfs a /root/.history with following content:

Code:
cd /mnt/home/archpup
mkdir install
cp -a /initrd/pup_ro2/* /mnt/home/archpup/install
mv /mnt/home/archpup/archpup-1212.sfs /mnt/home/archpup/archpup-1212.last1
mksquashfs install archpup-1212.sfs -comp xz -b 524288 -Xbcj x86
pacman -Ss > PackageList.txt
pacman -Ss browser
pacman -Sfd mtpaint
pacman -Syu


and have in ready-to-use form prepared actions for important steps to adapt the system...
nothing to do else as "cursor up" and return, or very little changes Wink

etc. ...

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 11:50    Post_subject:  

Alsa sound levels are saved on reboot to file /etc/asound.state. If you want to remaster iso
with new audio levels just copy that file to new rootfs, or use alsactl store to update.
I see you install mtpaint, for me only image editor needed is http://pixlr.com/ Cool
edit: to connect localhost:8000 type this first in terminal
Code:
 ifconfig lo up

That should start automatically with rc.sysinit and will be fixed for new releases.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 12:28    Post_subject:  

new version is very good

when I do packer -Sy it updates the databases for AUR but refuses to find any package in AUR that I search for

e.g.

packer -S mangler
doesnt work after updating databases with:
packer -Sy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 12:34    Post_subject:  

To search also in AUR run this first
Code:
update-ca-certificates

That needs perl so either load archdev.sfs or install perl with pacman. Good luck
Back to top
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 13:05    Post_subject:  

Hi simargl,

Having more and more fun with archpup. As i'm running arch on some systems, i don't have 'cultural problems' with archpup.

One suggestion: maybe include a basic browser like links or dillo in the base so people could search for help (if they have a connection) without much fiddling. Or did i miss one?

Aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 13:14    Post_subject:  

thanks, have you tried installing chromium or iron-bin?
they have strange errors in startup, even after specifying a data-dir

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2097
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 13:42    Post_subject:  

Hi simargl

simargl wrote:
I see you install mtpaint, for me only image editor needed is http://pixlr.com/ Cool


very well!
but I now have to learn more Mad (how to shrink my photos to reduce them from 1..2 Mb > 100 kB, and eventually cut a part of the view!)

but really interesting!

you don't have a not installable webbrowser ($ wget url.php?mode=funny.browse) from net and how to link «browser» from puparch menu with it Rolling Eyes Wink ?

Quote:
edit: to connect localhost:8000 type this first in terminal
Code:
 ifconfig lo up


I confirm, it works...

rgds

PS: Archpup.AMD64, after this wonderful Archpup.i686-1212when will he be available Laughing ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 15:40    Post_subject: snapmergearchpuppy  

wrong post
_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 17:00    Post_subject:  

Hi

Freesbee also doesn't work... Or I don't know how to use it...

Anyway... Any small size alternative on arch/aur repos?
And any small battery icon for the tray?

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 17:23    Post_subject:  

T_Hobbit wrote:
Hi

Freesbee also doesn't work... Or I don't know how to use it...

Anyway... Any small size alternative on arch/aur repos?
And any small battery icon for the tray?

After some quick search in AUR, I can suggest this two:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/connman-git/
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/wpa_auto/
You can get battery info with conky...

edit:@mavrothal: Can this be incorporated in /usr/sbin/usbsave, because that script
is called from /sbin/reboot or /sbin/poweroff before rc.shutdown, this way looks like
it would be saving same thing twice. Confused
Back to top
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2097
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 18:43    Post_subject:  

Hi

simargl wrote:
to connect localhost:8000 type this first in terminal
Code:
 ifconfig lo up

That should start automatically with rc.sysinit and will be fixed for new releases.


added in /root/.start, it works and nothing more to do Laughing ...

but there already are now a lot of tricks in both archpup thread. I think it will be useful to write an help file or a wiki page accessible through http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Archpup to find later the stuff again and if possible in an helpful order!

Concerning localhost:631, no contact possible. The error mssg in Firefox is not expressive. In Links2 it says "connection refused" but it is the only one Linux of more as 10 I have on the hard disk where this happens...

Next thematic:
Is there possible to cleanly bind (start the binding of) a SFS file (for ex./especially LibreOffice / jre for it) through the /root/.start (or other way) if no save file is used (my case: I will no SFS-file...). I actually use a symbolic link from a subdir in /mnt/home/myGoodies/LibreOffice to /usr/lib but, of course, it doesn't adapt the menu etc... so it is something subject to give problems because nobody find this again in the system! only I myself, if I do not forget it Rolling Eyes ...

rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 04:24    Post_subject: Arch Puppy
Sub_title: LAN Setup
 

I have installed Arch puppy ( frugal) . However, I am not able to configure the LAN. (wired network). Hence no internet connection. How to setup local network in office environment. I didn't see any option in setup menu. Just wireless connection. Please help me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 06:04    Post_subject:  

simargl wrote:

edit:@mavrothal: Can this be incorporated in /usr/sbin/usbsave, because that script
is called from /sbin/reboot or /sbin/poweroff before rc.shutdown, this way looks like
it would be saving same thing twice. Confused


OK. Here is a version that works without usbsave (and the calls to it)
Just make sure that you do not remove /tmp in rc.shutdown and you add the call to snapmergearchpuppy. ie rc.shutdown looks like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo -n "" > /var/log/messages
rm -rf {/root/{.adobe,.cache,.macromedia,.thumbnails},/var/log/X*}
exec snapmergearchpuppy
clear
exec 1> /dev/null 2>&1
...
...


Latter To make it simpler the attached archsnap.tar.gz has all the required changes.
Just extract it and copy the contents at the root of your archpup filesystem
archsnap.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  archsnap.tar.gz 
Filesize  4.21 KB 
Downloaded  392 Time(s) 
snapmergearchpuppy.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  snapmergearchpuppy.gz 
Filesize  3.68 KB 
Downloaded  339 Time(s) 

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 10:12    Post_subject:  

Going into the tint config file and setting autohide to 1 helps a lot, but you have to increase the autohide border
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0922s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]