Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 05:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 433
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 12:24    Post subject:  

Hi npierce !

Installed the Service pack .

Problems solved !

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 12:45    Post subject:  

backi,

Great! You're welcome. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 07:28    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Barry, it looked to me like the code segment has a typo and a
missing fi instruction. Note the $PS I put in and the added fi in
the below code segment:

##w468 rox may not start old hardware, try again... 120517 bring this back...

$PS="`ps`"
if [ "`echo "$PS" | grep 'ROX\-Filer'`" = "" ];then
if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then
touch /tmp/roxfilerstartupproblem #see /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d
sleep 3
fi
if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then #check again.
rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
fi
fi

I first tried this with sleep 3 as above and eventually changed it to
sleep 1. I've done a total of 17 hard machine reboots so far with
no black screens. I've counted seconds from the last text message
(starting x server) until a gui appears during startup. It has varied
from a low of 6 seconds to 31 seconds but most of the time it's
21 seconds (even with sleep 1).

BTW, I'm a old engineer-programmer who knows BASIC and
assembly language but I'm unfamiliar with the scripting language
used here ... just for your info. It appears that fi acts as a END IF
and one was missing.

I've mentioned before that all my test machines are similar, The
one I used for this test is a DELL Dimension 2350 having a 1.8 ghz
Pentium 4 and 768 meg RAM.

Art


Art,
The code was:
Code:
##w468 rox may not start old hardware, try again... 120517 bring this back...
##PS="`ps`"
##if [ "`echo "$PS" | grep 'ROX\-Filer'`" = "" ];then
#if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then
# touch /tmp/roxfilerstartupproblem #see /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d
# sleep 0.5
# if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then #check again.
#  rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
# fi
#fi


...and you should only have removed the "#" from column-one, in which case all is ok, no extra "fi" required.

That is good that no black screens, however in Service Pack 5.4.2.2 I have tried a different approach to try and fix it.
Would you mind putting the comments back in, in file /root/.xintrc, then install the SP, then do the multiple reboots thing again!

Service Pack 5.4.2.2:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00065

...if you don't want to run the PPM, just click to download and install the PET.

If the SP fixes the black screen, good, otherwise I will implement the fix that worked for you.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1663
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 08:10    Post subject:  

i compiled the rtl2832u driver for precise puppy, it's needed for various dvb usb devices
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=62408

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 13:57    Post subject:  

Ok Barry. Deleted the old .2fs to start fresh. Started Precise 5.4.2
PAE and installed your 5422 upgrade. Did the save file for a fresh
frugal and began doing machine reboots. No black screens in
twenty reboots. Looks good. As I've said, the frequency of black
screens was about 1 in 5 so 20 in a row seems convincing that
you've fixed the problem. It was nice to see a consistent 13
seconds from the last startup screen message to the GUI. Has
the feeling of solidity now.

The latest versions of Slacko and Racy also have the black screen
problem on my machines, BTW. Just a reminder Smile

I've mentioned this more than once on the forum but while I have
your attention I'll mention again that the latest versions of Precise,
Racy and Slacko have given me no end of wireless headaches
whereas Slacko 5.3.1, Wary, Lucid and Luci THD are all OK in this
regard. I can give particulars to anyone interested in digging
into this and fixing it. Since my Linksys wireless-G WMP54G PCI
adapter is probably still fairly widely used, I suppose many
potential Puppy users have been driven off by this issue.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 14:46    Post subject:  

Digging into it should be easy. Fixing might be more tricky.

In console: pmodemdiag

Post here the created tar ball from the /root
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 15:25    Post subject:  

Ok pemasu, here's the tarball created in Precise. I'd be happy
to fetch them from Racy and Slacko as well, if you wish.

Art
pmodemdiag-20121214.tar.gz
Description  From Precise 5.4.2.2 PAE with wireless active.
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmodemdiag-20121214.tar.gz 
Filesize  27.37 KB 
Downloaded  235 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 16:42    Post subject:  

artsown.
What I can tell. You are using rt2500pci kernel driver which is the appropriate and it has been loaded.

DESCRIPTION: Network controller: Ralink corp. RT2500 Wireless 802.11bg
VENDOR: 1814 DEVICE: 0201
KERNEL MODULE: rt2500pci

There is error message in kernel messages:
Code:
phy0 -> rt2500pci_set_device_state: Error - Device failed to enter state 1 (-16).

which means that there is some power management problem. That message can be erased by executing command:
Code:
iwconfig wlan0 power off

I dont know if that has any help with your connection problem but at least it eradicates that power management bug.

Otherwise...I couldnt find anything wrong with my skills. Also...searching with google didnt give any insight atm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 17:47    Post subject:  

Thanks pemasu. I did what you suggested on all three of the
troublesome pups. We shall see ....

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 18:43    Post subject:  

new background, plus mobile.
precisemobile12.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?rao8bk726e8e8or,z4y75c5s56vp7af,xpt2b8tx9h6iaed,8ckn3z0tp3wf1wq,8metd5ye9q6vfup,8co919zn9bdepwr,g5qrd1d7le9grp3
 Filesize   20.72 KB
 Viewed   858 Time(s)

precisemobile12.jpg

precisedc2,1.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?rao8bk726e8e8or,z4y75c5s56vp7af,xpt2b8tx9h6iaed,8ckn3z0tp3wf1wq,8metd5ye9q6vfup,8co919zn9bdepwr,g5qrd1d7le9grp3
 Filesize   12.43 KB
 Viewed   867 Time(s)

precisedc2,1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 23:20    Post subject:  

Barry,

Not exactly a Precise issue, but may be an overall issue with Puppy.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82973

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 10:06    Post subject:  

Puppy isn't quite up to snuff yet but he's getting better so I gave him
a face lift:

[img]home.epix.net/~artnpeg/pscreen.png
[/img]

Many more reboots and no black screens. It even seems like my
wireless problems have diminished. But wireless still isn't as solid as
it is on earlier pups.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1825
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 14:20    Post subject:  

Hello,
I just finished an iso based on Puppy precise 5.4.1. I don't really understand how these releases numbers work indeed (big gaps!)... Embarassed
My (silly) question: How could I upgrade Puppy precise 5.4.1 to Puppy 5.4.2? Is there a pet package? If yes, where could I download it?

Thank you!
Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 15:32    Post subject:  

Argolance, there is a explanation of the use of delta files here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52232

and the ones you are interested in are here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/precise-5.4.2/delta_files

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2417
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 19:05    Post subject:  

Argolance wrote:
Hello,
I just finished an iso based on Puppy precise 5.4.1. I don't really understand how these releases numbers work indeed (big gaps!)... Embarassed
My (silly) question: How could I upgrade Puppy precise 5.4.1 to Puppy 5.4.2? Is there a pet package? If yes, where could I download it?

Thank you!
Cordialement.

Bonjour Argolance,
Si tu as besoin d'aide, je peux éventuellement de donner un modeste coup de main.
Je prépare la prochaine ASRI Edu (elle sera basée sur Puppy Precise).
Actuellement, j'ai pour base la 5.4.2 (avec les updates).
Pour ce qui est de mettre à jour la 5.4.1, il va effectivement falloir utiliser le fichier delta car BK a effectué plusieurs modifications sur woof.
Ou alors, tu utilises la dernière version de Precise en ajoutant uniquement tes modifications.
Cordialement,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0990s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0162s) ][ GZIP on ]