Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 16:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 5.15 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 16 [239 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
meeki


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Portland OR

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 02:35    Post subject:  

Sorry Ive Been AFK for awhile guys. My last final is WED and im done with school for the rest of the month. I have some holoday plans but nothing more than 3 days.

The rest of the time I'll be focusing on:

LHPUP Record (minimizing the display and making pop-outs, making a Aspect ratio selection)

Games (Will work on making more pet / SFS games )

JAVA pets / SFS (have a few more I want to do, A new megasquirt and megalog viewer for sure)

Any requests I can complete.

Looking forward to WED Smile

meeki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 567
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 16:29    Post subject:  

Hi meeki,
my final is on Thursday - hope you enjoy your extra day of freedom Smile Good Luck with yours.
I should have been studying but I spotted this from scsijon - 'Builder wanted for grass - Geographic Information System Pet' http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82289. My wife would find it *very* useful - she's doing a course on holistic farm management which uses ideas based on Permaculture etc etc. Could you sort out a LightHouse 64-specific pet, please? I just downloaded the source tar.gz and install script, made them executable etc but I haven't the nous to get it going (hmmm I should be studying - desperately need to pass these exams)
Cheers Smile
[EDIT: Holistic farm management http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zavLvBU9iwI&feature=share]

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
meeki


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Portland OR

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 18:48    Post subject:  

Barburo said:
Quote:
Hey Meeki
Free geek started in Portland. Have you tried them as a source for inexpensive computer parts?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_Geek

I'm lucky enough to have a "Free Geek" ethical computer recycler near me.
I used to volunteer for them and whenever I need a new box or a sound or graphics card, or any replacement part, new monitor etc. I just go by, and buy (really not expensive) and they've got lots to choose from. If it doesn't work or there's conflicts they credit you.

Second line of supply is thrift stores but it's strictly at your own risk, although some will credit you if stuff doesn't work.

Look for computer recyclers or similar in the phone book or on-line for your area.


Good Info. I called free geek and they only had some 8600's in for $28 bucks. Not a bid price but I was looking for 8800 minimum.

Called 2 recylers and they said only 1 9800 for 55USD and the other place said SOL but when they do get them they sell them fast for $30 so good deal if they had them.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I kept my eye on craigs list and today when I was tired of working on one of my final papers I found a GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB DDR5 for 60USD Shocked
I called they guy and asked if he had it and he said yep and he has 3 calls on it and is leaving for work in 1hr and the other guys could not make it in time. I said be there in 20min. He gave me an address to a house so I was not too worried about it being a bad card sold to me in a parking lot where i could never find the guy again.

It was priced low for 2 reasons 1) it came with no box, no cables, nothing... just the card. 2) he had it for a few months and then got some brand new top of the line something and did not want it any more.

took it home and it works SCORE!!

----------------------------------------------------------------------

So the bad but turned good.

I now had 3 monitors and only 1 card with 2 DVI's and because of the drivers issue from 7000 cards and newer drivers I could not run the new card and one of the 7900 to power the other 2 work screens.

I called up one of my computer surplus sellers Ive been using for years and asked him what he had. (He told me that one of the 2GB ddr2 rams I traded him had a cap fall off and was bad so I said What can you give me for 2 7900 geforce cards to fix the ram prob and get me a second card that would play nice with the nvidia.

He had this. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133211

A Nvidia Quadro NVS for my small pci express slot 1X. 256mb card and it works great in light house. It does 2 more monitors just fine.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well no time for gamming got to get back to school.

oh Puppyt I'll look into your pogram WED night. I took a look and it seems doable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 20:34    Post subject:  

meeki wrote:

He had this. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133211

A Nvidia Quadro NVS for my small pci express slot 1X. 256mb card and it works great in light house. It does 2 more monitors just fine.


You've had luck bundling a quadro card with another nvidia card?

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
meeki


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Portland OR

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 20:50    Post subject:  

Q5sys:
Quote:
You've had luck bundling a quadro card with another nvidia card?


Yep no issues ive seen now on all 3 screens.





Is this a solution for your 6 monitor issue ?

Last edited by meeki on Sat 08 Dec 2012, 20:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 20:53    Post subject:  

meeki wrote:
Q5sys:
Quote:
You've had luck bundling a quadro card with another nvidia card?


Yep no issues ive seen now on all 3 screens.





nifty... wonder if I can just add one of those to my current SLI 550ti setup to sqeeze out another 2 screens on my system. That would save me considerable money from buying a new GPU.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
meeki


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Portland OR

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 20:57    Post subject:  

Id give it a go. Just for giggles I played some DVD video on them and some simple games and the quadro held up just fine for extra screens. if you have some extra pci one short slots this could do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 21:13    Post subject:  

meeki wrote:
Id give it a go. Just for giggles I played some DVD video on them and some simple games and the quadro held up just fine for extra screens. if you have some extra pci one short slots this could do it.


I might want to just buy a Quadro 450 then and call it a day. I've got one more PCI-e x16 on my board. I dont do gaming so I dont need power... just display capabilities.
Or I could grab the 420 which uses a PCI-e x1 port

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 22:00    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
meeki wrote:
Id give it a go. Just for giggles I played some DVD video on them and some simple games and the quadro held up just fine for extra screens. if you have some extra pci one short slots this could do it.


I might want to just buy a Quadro 450 then and call it a day. I've got one more PCI-e x16 on my board. I dont do gaming so I dont need power... just display capabilities.
Or I could grab the 420 which uses a PCI-e x1 port


I just got a NVS 290... we'll see how it goes.

I dont need 12 screens... but I am eyeing up this:


_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 01:35    Post subject: loaded lhp 5.15 F today  

Hello lighthouse friends,

Found a possible bug in the Xfce menu.
Totally reproducible by me.

Go to Settings.
Click on Background Settings
Desktop Backgrounds Settings comes up instead.

I opened PupControl and was able to start the program from there.

Anyone else see this?

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
meeki


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Portland OR

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 13:46    Post subject:  

Q5sys:
Quote:
I dont need 12 screens... but I am eyeing up this:


looks like they make it in PCI E 1x too! and a 4 plug DVI



Just a thought when you want 8 screens Smile

I hate mint Cinimon, MATE; Unbuntu unity. I just found out they hate running nvidia multi X screen setup. Sure xander works but but unless you use twin view on the quadro card it runs at 80 to 90% of its GPU ram. Gerr!

I love Fatdog / LH64. A simple 'Desktop=:0.X (launcher command) &' and your set.
By unbuntu making things so fricking simple; they have stole simple commands from lower intermediate users. Unbuntu based distros are driving away their base coders. We have all left for other OS's.

Right now for my steam fix I'm booting into Unbuntu with a e17 desktop.

As soon as Lighthouse / Fatdog comes out with a Glibc 2.15 up i'll be back with a renewed compiling force.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3259
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 21:17    Post subject:  

pmirror is installed but it lacked mirdir which is the utility that
does the actual transferring.

I compiled it in fatdog 610 and it works in Lighthouse 64
mirdir_64-1.2.pet
Description  compiled in fatdog 64
pet

 Download 
Filename  mirdir_64-1.2.pet 
Filesize  11.1 KB 
Downloaded  239 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3259
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 15:32    Post subject:  

I couldn't get my pet package of the Bash manual to
install correctly because you have some block
in effect.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=671564#671564

_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 11:45    Post subject: Re: qbittorrent
Subject description: a file sharing program
 

Two KDE apps I have started using more. They probably rely on a ton of KDE libs but if you have the KDE sfs installed then you're good to go. These are extra apps for KDE that do not ship with KDE.

Yakuake
Yakuake is a drop-down terminal emulator based on KDE Konsole technology.

Official Site = http://extragear.kde.org/apps/yakuake/
Package = http://puppy-linux.org/q5sys/yakuake-2.9.8-x86_64-1sl.pet
MD5 = 6a37dca40a1f96f43a70e3107bd7a842


Krusader
Krusader is a twin-panel file manager, similar to Midnight Commander or Total Commander.

Official Site = http://extragear.kde.org/apps/krusader/
Package = http://puppy-linux.org/q5sys/krusader-2.4.0.beta1-x86_64-1sl.pet
MD5 = d43d93dc3220113d14a35c23f114adbb

If you have any issues let me know.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 13:59    Post subject:  

Im trying to build drivers for a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI card

and I have one slight problem...
in the make file, I have this entry where I'm getting an error.

MODPATH = /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/ssound

however in /lib/modules/3.0.3/kernel/drivers there is no sound sub-dir
Where on earth are the kernel sound drivers in lhp?

_________________



My PC is for sale

Last edited by Q5sys on Mon 17 Dec 2012, 14:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 16 [239 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1017s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]