Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 15:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup - Puppy based on Arch Linux
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 14 [206 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 562
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 19:36    Post subject:  

simargl

I can't exit X. 'Logout' (openbox --exit) just restarts X, and Ctrl-Alt-Backspace fails as well.
Also tried Ctrl-Alt-F2 etc to get to another TTY. Is the password still 'woofwoof'?- its not having it so it may be a silly question...
Ctrl-Alt-F4 gets me back to the X session, but the screen is dimmed for some reason. Need to logout (restart X) to get back to normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 19:45    Post subject:  

To disable autologin you need to edit /etc/profle - just comment last 5 lines inside if statement.
I made that as temporary solution, but now I like automatic X login.
password is still woofwoof, to start Xorg use archpupx. Smile
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 02:47    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

For problems with save file on USB, I will need some help from experienced users, simply
because I can't fix it myself. You see that rc.shutdown in ArchPup is very different than in other
Puppy, my idea is to, from that file with if statement (PUPMODE=13) call other script and
make savefile (add data to it) only on reboot/shutdown, if someone needs to save on USB .


There are few issues with the savefile in Archpup and one major question is to what extend to make it user-friendly/foolproof .

Currently the savefile generation script offers to save in any of the _mountable_ volumes but it does not mount them if not mounted. Instead makes the file in / and report success but of course the savefile is not there on reboot.

Regarding the save call in rc.shutdown should it only be for pupmode 13|7 and only if a savefile is generated beforehand (detection on first boot?-flag?) or also in pupmode 5, ie _suggest_ a savefile on first shutdown. The latter should also solve the panic issue in successive pupmode 13|7.

Another point is the ability to save at will. The layered file system gets messed up if you start adding and removing files (install uninstall) without intermediate saves.

In short there are several issues that need to be addressed if Archpup is to wok off removable drives that will likely involve more than a simple call in rc.shutdown.
Are you ok with this?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5444
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 03:58    Post subject:  

Still experimenting with ArchPup without many problems.... Smile

Good work so far.
Archpup.png
 Description   
 Filesize   194.09 KB
 Viewed   1477 Time(s)

Archpup.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 11:11    Post subject:  

Problem with openbox-menu is that it still doesn't work well with new menu-cache 0.4, and
thats why it make screen freeze if you load or unload sfs module. To fix that I compiled
older menu-cache version 0.3.3, and replaced arch package.
Making savefile on usb is now possible, but it needs some testing, so I will explain how this is
fixed in detail.
First in makepfile.sh I added this
Code:
for i in $(blkid -o list | grep "(not mounted)" | sort | cut -d" " -f1 | grep -E -v "/loop|sr0" | sed 's|/dev/||g'); do
  if [ ! -d /mnt/$i ]; then mkdir /mnt/$i; fi
  mount /dev/$i /mnt/$i
done

to mount all partitions. When savefiile is created this runs
Code:
mkdir /tmp/save
mount archpup/archsave.2fs /tmp/save
mkdir -p /tmp/save/etc/rc.d
cp -ax /etc/rc.d/* /tmp/save/etc/rc.d
umount /tmp/save

That will copy /etc/rc.d to every savefile and prevent kernel panic in pupmode13.
File /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown will call usbsave if pupmode is 13
Code:
if [[ $PUPMODE = 13 ]]; then usbsave; fi

and that will copy content inside /initrd/pup_rw to /initrd/pup_ro1
Code:
#!/bin/sh

cp -a /initrd/pup_rw/{bin,etc,lib,mnt,opt,root,sbin,usr,var} /initrd/pup_ro1
find /initrd/pup_ro1 -type f -name ".wh.*" -delete

This is tested and working but did I forget something. Plan is to ArchPup support pupmode 5,12 and 13.
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 11:44    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

This is tested and working but did I forget something. Plan is to ArchPup support pupmode 5,12 and 13.

Is a savefile creation prompt going to be presented at shutdown if the user did not make one?
If usbsave is called also in pupmode 5 then you may not need the /etc/rc.d/* save during savefile creation
Also you may consider running usbsave in pupmode 7 and 77 also. There is no need to run it at pupmode 12, since there the rw layer does not run in temps.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 14:10    Post subject:  

You mean to mount savefile on /initrd/pup_ro1, and add to rc.shutdown
Code:
if [[ $PUPMODE = 5 ]]; then usbsave; fi

Then the session will also be saved on first reboot. But if savefile is not created during that session,
then this should not run, it would be just waste of time. For this to work makepfile.sh should also
create some file (in /tmp), if archsave.2fs is created successfully, so that rc.shutdown can
save data on first reboot only if that file is present.
For savefile creation dialog at shutdown, I don't think it's necessary, everyone can find it in menu.
Back to top
phil66


Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Posts: 42
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 16:27    Post subject:  

Hi Simargl

I have no windows o/s my pc is strictly Linux (Ubuntu,Mageia,Puppy lucid)

I do not wish to use virtual box I want a cd that I can use on other Pc's

This is a good burner as I am able to burn o/s's such as slacko-5.4 precise-5.4 carolina-0.0.3 and other puppy's

My question now is wether I have the proper iso to download and burn to cd/rw

A link to your application would be appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 19:34    Post subject:  

Whatever you used to burn "slacko-5.4 precise-5.4 carolina-0.0.3 and other puppy's "
will be ok for archpup, it works for everyone else should work for you. I was trying to help
and suggest some other options to test iso or boot from usb. Good luck.
Back to top
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2012, 16:30    Post subject: Re: ArchPup - Puppy based on Arch Linux
Subject description: UPDATE:: December 7, 2012
 

any chance of you making a 64bit release as well? or are you sticking strictly with 32bit?
_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 03:53    Post subject: Re: ArchPup - Puppy based on Arch Linux
Subject description: UPDATE:: December 7, 2012
 

Q5sys wrote:
any chance of you making a 64bit release as well? or are you sticking strictly with 32bit?

I can't make 64-bit release, because can't use or test it on PC with that processor.
Back to top
ickefes

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 22:31    Post subject:  

Thank you forthis really fast and responsive distro. I have two questions though. Can you include a better wireless manager that actually tries to connect and could someone give a short guide explaining how to install and use another desktop environment? Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 22:49    Post subject:  

ickefes wrote:
Thank you forthis really fast and responsive distro. I have two questions though. Can you include a better wireless manager that actually tries to connect and could someone give a short guide explaining how to install and use another desktop environment? Regards.


join us in the other thread:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83064

but to install another DE, u can create a save file and run the command "pacman -S DE"
So that's:
pacman -S xfce4
pacman -S lxde
pacman -S kdebase-workspace

whichever one u want. or u can use the new arch2sfs to make an sfs file out of the DE u'd like to use. arch2sfs is included in the new archpup 12.12.1

using the arch2sfs will 'compress' the DE into an sfs file...which in turn, will take a load less hard drive space vs. using a save file. but both ways work, and work well.

or if u're using a full installation vs a frugal one...you can just install it with the "pacman -S" command I illustrated above.

if those instructions are too vague, or u run into a problem getting the DE of choice installed...jus let us know, we'll walk you through it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 13:00    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Thanks for reply Very Happy

Inside root folder you have hidden file .start. To change keyboard layout replace:
setxkbmap bs &
with
setxkbmap us &

...


I guess such only works if one make a pupsave file?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 05:14    Post subject:  

Archpup latest version worked well
but most likely me did not have noveo
not sure because the file program lagged
when one moved it over the screen.
ROX does not do that in JWM.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 14 [206 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0758s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]