Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 12:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 35 of 95 [1423 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, ..., 93, 94, 95 Next
Author Message
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 00:45    Post subject: Re: custom carolina 004  

elroy wrote:

Yes, the adrv config override is by design. It allows the end-user to modify the default configurations to their choosing with the custom-builder. If you're moving things to the main sfs, then it would be necessary to remove them from the adrive. You'll want to leave the things on the adrive in /root/.packages alone, though, else the custom-builder won't operate as expected (nor will Gnewpet).


Hi Elroy Smile I'll be checking the tutorials, thanks.

I only use gnewpet with an unmodified adrv/puppy sfs. I also try to preserve and not mess with things I don't understand. There are so many files and components, and I am not yet familiar with many things. I use a combination of the custom builder and manual extraction/editing of the sfs. I try to compare the sfs from the standard/unmodified carolina with the custom ones I had built so I will have some sort of guide, and progress step by step. I also try to inspect the packages and see what I need to change and what I know how to. I also keep a buildnote of everything. Scanning all those directories and files can get confusing sometimes, not to mention the fact that you are working with Identical directories. I also try to keep the integrity of the built-in packages list, I remove the pet/sfs packages from the adrive using the custom builder to reflect the ones I've moved to the main sfs.

My main sfs now loads most of my personal configs, like my panel setups, themes, application preferences, etc.
I've managed to move

lina_xfce-4.10
vattery-0.1
gtk-engines-1.0
gtkglext-1.2.0-i486
gnutls-2.8.5-i486
orage-4.8.3-i486
ffmpeg-0.8.12-1-w5 (modified)
geany-0.19.1-2-carolina
glib-networking-2.30.1-i486

to the main sfs directory. Things seem to work well so far.
I still need to learn a lot of things, and I'm not really good with scripts.

Here are some of the things I am trying to figure out now:
Which file/files/folders/scripts are responsible for the
timezone setup
desktop icons placement/text colors/sizes, etc.
cpu frequency/governor setup
and startup services
and how to prevent the personalize settings wizard from popping up.

I've managed to save all these configs with the custom builder during my older builds, but I just let the builder include my settings and just copied my root to the adrv during those builds, Now I want to learn the more specific things and be able to do a clean build.

Thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 01:57    Post subject: Re: custom carolina 004  

jpup wrote:
elroy wrote:

Yes, the adrv config override is by design. It allows the end-user to modify the default configurations to their choosing with the custom-builder. If you're moving things to the main sfs, then it would be necessary to remove them from the adrive. You'll want to leave the things on the adrive in /root/.packages alone, though, else the custom-builder won't operate as expected (nor will Gnewpet).


Hi Elroy Smile I'll be checking the tutorials, thanks.

I only use gnewpet with an unmodified adrv/puppy sfs. I also try to preserve and not mess with things I don't understand. There are so many files and components, and I am not yet familiar with many things. I use a combination of the custom builder and manual extraction/editing of the sfs. I try to compare the sfs from the standard/unmodified carolina with the custom ones I had built so I will have some sort of guide, and progress step by step. I also try to inspect the packages and see what I need to change and what I know how to. I also keep a buildnote of everything. Scanning all those directories and files can get confusing sometimes, not to mention the fact that you are working with Identical directories. I also try to keep the integrity of the built-in packages list, I remove the pet/sfs packages from the adrive using the custom builder to reflect the ones I've moved to the main sfs.

My main sfs now loads most of my personal configs, like my panel setups, themes, application preferences, etc.
I've managed to move

lina_xfce-4.10
vattery-0.1
gtk-engines-1.0
gtkglext-1.2.0-i486
gnutls-2.8.5-i486
orage-4.8.3-i486
ffmpeg-0.8.12-1-w5 (modified)
geany-0.19.1-2-carolina
glib-networking-2.30.1-i486

to the main sfs directory. Things seem to work well so far.
I still need to learn a lot of things, and I'm not really good with scripts.

Here are some of the things I am trying to figure out now:
Which file/files/folders/scripts are responsible for the
timezone setup
desktop icons placement/text colors/sizes, etc.
cpu frequency/governor setup
and startup services
and how to prevent the personalize settings wizard from popping up.

I've managed to save all these configs with the custom builder during my older builds, but I just let the builder include my settings and just copied my root to the adrv during those builds, Now I want to learn the more specific things and be able to do a clean build.

Thanks Smile


Hi jpup,

Just for future reference, this type of post is more applicable to the lina-lite forum. Carolina is intended for new users/windows refugees. But for the record, your questions may have value on this forum also, so I will do my best to answer your queries (that, and I probably would have asked the same type of questions myself if the roles were reversed).

Time-zone setup: after running the 1st run dialog, in /etc there will be two files that you'll need to move to the adrive or main sfs - /etc/localtime (a symlink that won't work unless you've already run the 1st run dialog), and /etc/clock.

desktop icons placement/text colors/sizes, etc.: these can be configured via the control panel using the ControlPanel --> Desktop --> XfcePowerTools application. I wrote this application, so if you have any further questions regarding it, I'd be more than qualified to answer them. Essentially, when finished editing, it'll create a hidden file in the root directory in the path as /root/.gtkrc-2.0. Copy this to your adrive (or main sfs). If you want to know how it works, open the script in a text editor; there are abundant comments that describe its' inner workings.

cpu frequency/governor setup: Once you've set up the acpid from the control panel, the files needed to use for subsequent usage is /etc/wcpufreqdriver.

"and how to prevent the personalize settings wizard from popping up" if you mean by this the dialog that appears on a clean boot, then all you need to include on the adrive/main sfs is a blank file in /etc, called firstrun. This file need not be executable, just a plain file. If you'd like to know how to avoid having the save upon exit appear (no save-file, and not wanting a save-file query) let me know and I can help you with that, also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 03:17    Post subject: Re: custom carolina 004  

elroy wrote:

Just for future reference, this type of post is more applicable to the lina-lite forum. Carolina is intended for new users/windows refugees. But for the record, your questions may have value on this forum also, so I will do my best to answer your queries (that, and I probably would have asked the same type of questions myself if the roles were reversed).


Thanks Elroy, and sorry. But I honestly think that these things are considerably basic, and would be embarassing to post on an advanced forum like the lite thread.

I also think that anyone could probably accomplish this, if we give them some useable guide or reference. As these modifications/changes will likely be the first things a user would want to figure out. Nice pdf tutorial by the way. It seems you already have the carolina 005 Smile

So, you created xfce powertools Smile I actually didn't know how to use that until carolina 003 came out. I was able to include those settings in my previous builds, but I've noticed my icons changes alignment if the configs were preloaded in the sfs, compared to loading from a save file, which seems to keep my preferred icon arrangement/positions.

Regarding the firstrun file, I thought I needed to delete that Smile so it wouldn't detect first run? Very Happy

Anyway, carolina is proving to be very flexible. And once a user learns/acquires his building technique, there are many possibilities Very Happy

And yes I would be happy to learn the save/not save modifications, as well as a lot of other things Smile

Thanks Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pchan

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 09:20    Post subject:  

I installed carolina 04.

I was and still am a fan of saluki023. Therefore, I am happy to see "carolina puppy."

I discovered 1 problem so far.

After installing "wine" from pakage manager, I cannot find wine in the menu. Also, usually the installation of wine will automatically download and install something called "wine-gecko." But this did not happen for some reasons.

I hope this caan be solved because i really need to install some windows program via "wine."

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 10:32    Post subject: wine  

pchan wrote:
I installed carolina 04.

I was and still am a fan of saluki023. Therefore, I am happy to see "carolina puppy."

I discovered 1 problem so far.

After installing "wine" from pakage manager, I cannot find wine in the menu. Also, usually the installation of wine will automatically download and install something called "wine-gecko." But this did not happen for some reasons.

I hope this caan be solved because i really need to install some windows program via "wine."

Thanks!


Hi pchan, I checked wine regarding your post... and it seems to work fine, you can find the "wine windows program loader" in the UTILITY category of the applications menu.









thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pchan

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 14:31    Post subject: Re: wine  

Quote:

Hi pchan, I checked wine regarding your post... and it seems to work fine, you can find the "wine windows program loader" in the UTILITY category of the applications menu.


thanks


Hi Jpup,

Thanks a lot! Yes, I found it. My saluki has been set up sometime ago and i have forgotten how i set it up with wine and everything that i needed. So, "wine" is installed after all. That's really nice!

Any idea how I can change the curly fonts that appear when in the process of installing wine programs? If not its ok. I noticed that after the installation, the curly curly fonts doesn't appear on the program itself. Just during installations.

I also noticed that thunar loads up faster than carolina 003.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 08:54    Post subject:  

Swapped the kids 14" monitor which only gave a resolution of 800x600 for a 17" set to 1024x768. Every reboot it defaults to 1280x1024, and I'm using a save file. Why won't it hold my settings?

Edit: Running XorgWizard and choosing resolution there holds the settings on reboot.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko

Last edited by rg66 on Sun 09 Dec 2012, 02:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 09:39    Post subject: Re: wine  

pchan wrote:
Any idea how I can change the curly fonts that appear when in the process of installing wine programs? If not its ok. I noticed that after the installation, the curly curly fonts doesn't appear on the program itself. Just during installations.

I haven't really noticed those fonts as I run mostly portable versions of windows apps in wine, sorry. You could try changing your fonts, not really sure if it will have any effect.


rg66 wrote:
Every reboot it defaults to 1280x1024, and I'm using a save file. Why won't it hold my settings?

I get something like that when I boot carolina in virtualbox. My resolution always defaults to 1600x1200 as soon as I restart xwindows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 23:51    Post subject: Re: custom carolina 004  

jpup wrote:
It seems you already have the carolina 005 Smile

When one version is finished, I start on the next. Fringe benefit?

jpup wrote:
I was able to include those settings in my previous builds, but I've noticed my icons changes alignment if the configs were preloaded in the sfs, compared to loading from a save file, which seems to keep my preferred icon arrangement/positions.

You have to remember that puppy is built upon a layered file system. The top layers will override the bottom layers (adrive is on top of the main sfs, but underneath the savfefile).

jpup wrote:
Anyway, carolina is proving to be very flexible. And once a user learns/acquires his building technique, there are many possibilities Very Happy

Yes, there are a quite lot of possibilities here.

jpup wrote:
And yes I would be happy to learn the save/not save modifications

The file you’d need to alter is /usr/bin/pupsaveconfig. First, create a backup of the original. Then edit the original to only contain the following:

Code:

#! /bin/bash

PUPSAVECONF=/etc/rc.d/pupsave.conf
PRECHOICE=no

cat <<EOF > $PUPSAVECONF
PRECHOICE=no
POPUP=false
EJECTCD=true
VERBOSE=false
EOF


Remember to ensure that the file permission is set to executable. After doing this, you will no longer get the create savefile at shutdown dialog, which of course would only be useful if you wish to run without a savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 02:41    Post subject:  

Sorted the resolution thing so on to the next issue. After a remaster, wireless won't detect my network when it was working fine before.

Edit: Switched to Simple Network Setup, it detected network. Remastered again and it saved the settings, works great. Maybe a Frisbee issue?

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 04:52    Post subject: Re: custom carolina 004  

elroy wrote:


The file you’d need to alter is /usr/bin/pupsaveconfig. First, create a backup of the original. Then edit the original to only contain the following:

Code:

#! /bin/bash

PUPSAVECONF=/etc/rc.d/pupsave.conf
PRECHOICE=no

cat <<EOF > $PUPSAVECONF
PRECHOICE=no
POPUP=false
EJECTCD=true
VERBOSE=false
EOF


Remember to ensure that the file permission is set to executable. After doing this, you will no longer get the create savefile at shutdown dialog, which of course would only be useful if you wish to run without a savefile.


I added PRECHOICE=no right to /etc/rc.d/pupsave.conf and it also works.
Code:

PRECHOICE=no
POPUP=false
EJECTCD=true
VERBOSE=


Edit: It appears that if you haven't made a savefile there is no pupsave.conf. I just made a file named pupsave.conf and put the above code in and it shutsdown/reboots without saving.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 21:24    Post subject: md5sum check in Carolina  

I put MD5 sum checker (also sha-1) in 'SendTo' menu

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=670870#670870




_________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4288
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 14:31    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
Geoffrey, thank you for clarifying this. However, what gets me thinking is this: suppose a person has a system with a PAE supported processor (Intel atom 270 and only 2GB of RAM - eeepc). Which one will be his best bet? PAE - there's not and never will be that much of RAM on this machine. Non-PAE?
both of these would suit the PC fine. PAE and non-PAE perform about equal in all situations with RAM less than 3.5GB.

We MUST remember that all PAE does is to take advantage of a hardware feature for accessing RAM done for our benefit in 32bit processing.

Because the work is done in hardware it has little impact one way or the other for damping/improving RAM access.

PAE functionality just makes Linux aware for using that hardware....no matter how much RAM is physically on your PC.

One reason the Carolina authors selected PAE (I think) is because the hardware feature has been put in MOST every 32bit (and included in 64bit) CPUs since its introduction by Intel and AMD in 1995. It has a 17 year history where there is no known negative impact on OS operations.

The users should not look for any bias, one way or the other, as most PCs and PC users today are using 512MB-1GB or larger PCs. Thus, assuming one's PC is among the many, and it runs PAE, Carolina (and all 32bit PUPs presenting PAE) will work on EVERY Pentium forward machine no matter how much RAM it has....1GB, 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, etc to 64GB. In most cases, I have seen that the ISO is less than 10MB bigger, but the running RAM footprint is about the same.

What makes Puppy unique and why this version is necessary is how 32bit Puppy Linux using the remaining RAM after it boots. This is why DVD/CD oeprations match/exceed installed HDD operations: Puppy maps the remaining RAM, after initial boot, into a useable filesystem. Thats a hardware hard-drive in RAM usable for system and user operations.

This is one the most clever ways of taking advantage of all RAM that is not used to run the system. Its just downright clever! And, one can easily see that this has benefit no matter how much RAM one would have...the more RAM, obviously, the bigger the RAM drive that would be available. To me, this is a poor-man's SSD.

Hope that helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 21:39    Post subject: Imagination 3.0 slideshow maker  

Imagination 3.0 slideshow maker

I was able to get Imagination 3.0 slideshow maker to work

It requires 4 files to be installed
(The order of installation doesn't matter)

1) libsamplerate (any version. I posted below
the smallest I found on forum)

2) ffmeg from carolina repository
http://smokey01.com/carolina/pet_packages-carolina/

3) Special version of Sox and Imagination 3.0
found HERE


_______________________________________________
libsamplerate-0.1.2.pet
Description  smallest possible libsamplerate
pet

 Download 
Filename  libsamplerate-0.1.2.pet 
Filesize  104.46 KB 
Downloaded  286 Time(s) 

Last edited by don570 on Sat 15 Dec 2012, 14:41; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1396
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 05:46    Post subject: Re: Imagination 3.0 slideshow maker  

don570 wrote:
Imagination 3.0 slideshow maker

I was able to get Imagination 3.0 slideshow maker to work


Thanks don570,

I've repacked this to use the existing dependencies in the Carolina repo, there was version 2.1 that wasn't that good, but this one is a lot better with the transitions.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 35 of 95 [1423 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, ..., 93, 94, 95 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1487s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0243s) ][ GZIP on ]