Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 22:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 464
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 13:47    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 !
I am using the latest version of Precise .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 07:27    Post subject:  

backi,

What PUPMODE are you running in?
Code:
grep PUPMODE /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 613
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 20:17    Post subject: Spyware?  

Can someone answer this?

Is the Spyware that is built into the Ubuntu binaries Removed from Puppy Ubuntu builds? (Precise, Upup-Precise)

If it's removed, can someone please explain how they did it?

See this article for the story:
http://www.fsf.org/blogs/rms/ubuntu-spyware-what-to-do

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 20:30    Post subject:  

I think you should ask Richard Stallman how to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 613
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 22:17    Post subject: Ubuntu Spyware  

sszindian wrote:
If it's removed, can someone please explain how they did it?
-----------------------------------------------------------
pemasu wrote:
I think you should ask Richard Stallman how to do it.

--------------------------------------------------------
sszindian says:
I can asume that we here at puppy were/are not aware of this built-in function?

I doubt Stallman would know anything about puppy builds and even if he could tell me I wouldn't know what he was talking about... I guess you would say that's a dev's department no?

>>>---Indian------>

PS: Good to see you back from your ski-trip, hope you enjoyed!

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5940
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 22:26    Post subject: Re: Spyware?  

sszindian wrote:
Can someone answer this?

Is the Spyware that is built into the Ubuntu binaries Removed from Puppy Ubuntu builds? (Precise, Upup-Precise)

If it's removed, can someone please explain how they did it?

See this article for the story:
http://www.fsf.org/blogs/rms/ubuntu-spyware-what-to-do

>>>---Indian------>


Does Puppy Precise come with Unity or the Unity Dash? If the answer is no and one doesn't install Unity or Dash into Puppy Precise I assume the Puppy Universe can be safe from the spyware/malware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 464
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 15:55    Post subject:  

Hello npierce
Thats the pupmode .

grep PUPMODE /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
PUPMODE=13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 16:10    Post subject:  

Hi backi,

As suggested by scsijon's reminder, and since you are running Precise 5.4.2, I am replying in the real Precise 5.4.2 thread: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=670801#670801
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dam973

Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 08:45    Post subject: WPA not functionning on precise puppy on ralink rt2860  

The title says it all. I full installed the latest precise puppy (i was before on lucid puppy : evrything worked like a charm). Now when i tried to start the network manager ,it said that my module (rt2800_pci) was indicated to not support wpa. I tried to compile the rt2860 module but i got stuck after intalling devx.sfs and the kernel dev with an error

Code:
error: implicit declaration of function 'daemonize'


I then tried to install the inf from windows driver with ndiswrapper ... doesnt work!!.
Now I'm conpletely stuck and i dont know what to do!!
Please help!

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 10:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
rt2800_pci

rc. has already answered my enquiry about the rt2800 - usb in my case. It is just too fast, too new. What you have to do is blacklist rt2800 and run it as an rt 2850(2870?). I haven't got back to that one yet, and have forgotten the routine for blacklisting which was communicated to me about 2-3yrs ago. When you work it all out, be sure to let the rest of us know. This isn't the only fly-in-the-NIC-ointment; the rtl8139D and some of the dittoC's can be troublesome. Then there are the Broadcom s and Intel Own-brands. It's the price we have to pay for quality OSes, I suppose!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dam973

Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 11:19    Post subject:  

Thanks a lot for the reply. Sadly the module you indicate is not present in the module list and I dont have rt2860STA neither.
Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 11:27    Post subject:  

Just to clarify this:

Lucid 528 has a module named rt2860sta. Your wifi device works with it.

The new kernels in Precise and Slacko don't have this module. They do have rt2800pci. It apparently matches your device but doesn't support WPA.

Where did you get the source code for rt2860sta? It sounds like it's not compatible with new kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dam973

Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 11:35    Post subject:  

I got it from relatek website. Well if its not compatible i will have tried. Well there is no solutions then Sad
How can i find the 2850 module cause i dont have it either? Sad
Thank you a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 11:58    Post subject:  

Thanks for your eagle-eyed pick-up, rc. I guess what you say muddies the water somewhat. I was advised that the rt2800usb dongle was only issued in the UK a few months ago to take advantage of the 300MHz signalling on some tablets and smart TVs.
Whilst you're still about, I'd very much appreciate your wisdom on blacklisting when you can spare a moment, please. Might have a few more items for the chop!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 12:13    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
I was advised that the rt2800usb dongle was only issued in the UK a few months ago to take advantage of the 300MHz signalling on some tablets and smart TVs.

Dam973 has a PCI device. You should learn a bit about the modinfo command.

Quote:
I'd very much appreciate your wisdom on blacklisting when you can spare a moment, please.

Menu > System > BootManager Configure Bootup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0866s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]