Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 04:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 05:17    Post subject: Re: DISTRO_ARCHDIR definition is empty.  

npierce wrote:
The /etc/DISTRO_SPECS file (in precise-5.4.2.iso -> puppy_precise_5.4.2.sfs) contains an empty definition of DISTRO_ARCHDIR:
Code:
DISTRO_ARCHDIR=''

Because of this the new code in /usr/local/petget/installpkg.sh that fixes overwritten multiarch directory links does not execute.

I took a quick look at 3builddistro in Woof, but couldn't figure out why DISTRO_ARCHDIR is not being set properly.

Thanks to new Puppy user and forum member Repip for his patience and help in tracking this down. (See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=669448#669448 and http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=669502#669502.)


Thanks for the report. This is now fixed:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00063

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 05:30    Post subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
There's a missing package required for building stuff against gnutls: libp11-kit-dev. Exclamation

It's a new dependency of gnutls (which appeared in later Ubuntu releases and Slackware 14.0). If this package is missing, many applications with optional SSL/TLS support will build without it. Some won't tell you, until you notice you can't use SSL URLs, verify certificates, encrypt stuff, etc'.

So far, aria2 failed to build and BitlBee's configure script simply turned that support off (how rude!) and went on. I guess that's just the beginning - more things should fail.

EDIT: oh crap, it seems OpenSSL is problematic because of conflicts between 0.9.8 and 1.0.0. libcrypto.so does not exist and applications try to link against 0.9.8, while they build against 1.0.0's headers.

EDIT 2: file_DEV and /usr/bin/whereis (from util-linux) are needed to build Vifm.

EDIT 3: /usr/bin/col (from bsdmainutils) is needed to build UnNetHack.


Thanks, I have added libp11-kit-dev to the devx.

libcrypto.so does exist in the devx, in /usr/lib.

Nothing can compile against libssl 0.9.8 as no dev-components for it are installed. Nor should any source configure even try to.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 06:34    Post subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
EDIT 2: file_DEV and /usr/bin/whereis (from util-linux) are needed to build Vifm.

EDIT 3: /usr/bin/col (from bsdmainutils) is needed to build UnNetHack.


thanks for the info, have added all of this.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 06:53    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
I notice that there is no package of x264 in Precise Puppy, only a libx264.so.120 with none of the usual symlinks in /usr/lib.


Thanks, I have added 'libx264-dev' to the devx.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 07:08    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Hi Barry.

Barking up the wrong tree? Smile

I happened to have one "mostly black screen" Pup in a frugal
install on a old IBM NetVista. The Pup is Racy 5.3.90 The video
hardware is Intel and Racy is set for 1280 X 1024 The cpu is
a p4 2.0ghz and RAM is 512 meg.

I tried modifying both sleep settings in the .initrc from 0.5 to
various values from 0.1 to 6.0 None of the settings fixed the
problem. I verified that the ,initrc file was indeed modified by
checking it after each reboot. I could tell when the sleep was
set to a high value since the startup screen remained totally
black (except for cursor) for a seemingly long time before a gui
(or toolbar at least) appeared.


OK, could I stretch your patience a bit more, for some more testing?

If you get the JWM tray, with menu, and that all looks OK, but the actual desktop is black (no wallpaper) and no desktop icons, then it is just about certain that ROX-Filer failed to start, meaning it is most likely not a video-driver problem.

if you get other display issues, such as the JWM menu not displaying properly, or a completely black screen, then it is a video driver problem.

If your case is likely to be a ROX-Filer startup problem, here are some more tests:

1. Make sure that /root/.xinitrc is restored to pristine, before you edited it.

2. Reboot until you get the black-screen problem. Examine /tmp/xerrs.log -- this will usually have an error message if ROX-Filer had failed to start.

3. In a terminal window, run "ps" and you should be able to see if ROX-Filer is running, or not.

4. If, from above tests ROX-Filer is not running, or is outputing an error message, edit /root/.xinitrd as follows:

Uncomment this code:

Code:
##w468 rox may not start old hardware, try again... 120517 bring this back...
##PS="`ps`"
##if [ "`echo "$PS" | grep 'ROX\-Filer'`" = "" ];then
#if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then
# touch /tmp/roxfilerstartupproblem #see /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d
# sleep 0.5
# if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then #check again.
#  rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
# fi
#fi


...change "sleep 0.5" to "sleep 3", then reboot multiple times, see if you get the black screen. If not, try reducing that sleep.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 901
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 15:37    Post subject:  

I have an old desktop which displays the problem of blackscreen but tray and menu is present. Pentium 4, 1.8 GHz, 480MB RAM, Tiny Computers with SiS chipset.

Testing Precise 5.4.2 on it now, Live CD, new save-file in USB flash drive (no HDD connected). One problem is that blackscreen doesn't happen at every boot so it's difficult to be scientific.

Confirmed that on blackscreen the command "ps" shows no ROX-Filer process listed.

/tmp/xerrs.log file looks like this:-


Code:
X.Org X Server 1.11.3
Release Date: 2011-12-16
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.42-26-generic i686 Ubuntu
Current Operating System: Linux puppypc28857 3.2.29 #1 SMP Thu Sep 13 20:33:02 GMT-8 2012 i686
Kernel command line: video=640x480 initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=cd BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz
Build Date: 29 August 2012  12:10:05AM
xorg-server 2:1.11.4-0ubuntu10.8 (For technical support please see http://www.ubuntu.com/support)
Current version of pixman: 0.24.4
   Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
   to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
   (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Tue Dec 11 17:52:39 2012
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/vendor: No such file or directory
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/model: No such file or directory

** (ROX-Filer:5421): CRITICAL **: pinboard_pin_with_args: assertion `current_pinboard != NULL' failed

** (ROX-Filer:5533): CRITICAL **: pinboard_pin_with_args: assertion `current_pinboard != NULL' failed

** (ROX-Filer:5625): CRITICAL **: pinboard_pin_with_args: assertion `current_pinboard != NULL' failed

** (ROX-Filer:5106): WARNING **: Existing ROX-Filer process is not responding! Try with -n
/usr/bin/jwm


Forgive my ignorance, but when you say uncomment the code in /root/.xinitrc, do you mean that the first 3 lines (double commented) will still be commented?

I've done that and set the sleep to 1 and have done 10 reboots.
Zero blackscreens, 3 perfect desktops, but on the other 7 I got no desktop drive icons (wallpaper and other icons were there).

Trying sleep 0.5
Zero blackscreens, 8 perfect desktops, 2 with no drive icons.

Trying sleep 3
Zero blackscreens, 7 perfect, 3 no drive icons.

Then with code commented out again, 10 boots
1 blackscreen (4th one), 9 perfect desktops

So not sure what to conclude from that, sorry!

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 12:37    Post subject:  

Barry, when Precise black screens:

There is no Rox Filer entry in the list of PIDs using ps in terminal.

The last two lines of xerrs.log are:

** (Rox-Filer:3601) CRITICAL **:pinboard_pin_with_args:assertion
current_pinboard !=NULL' failed

** (Rox-Filer:3226):WARNING:Existing Rox-Filer process is not
responding! Try with -n /usr/bin/jwm

I've been unable to test with the modified .xinitrd since removing the
comments results in a inability to startup Precise. I get stuck endlessly
in xorgserver trying things to no avail. Please show exactly what the
uncommented code should be and I'll try again.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 14:50    Post subject:  

Barry, it looked to me like the code segment has a typo and a
missing fi instruction. Note the $PS I put in and the added fi in
the below code segment:

##w468 rox may not start old hardware, try again... 120517 bring this back...

$PS="`ps`"
if [ "`echo "$PS" | grep 'ROX\-Filer'`" = "" ];then
if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then
touch /tmp/roxfilerstartupproblem #see /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d
sleep 3
fi
if ! busybox pidof ROX-Filer;then #check again.
rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
fi
fi

I first tried this with sleep 3 as above and eventually changed it to
sleep 1. I've done a total of 17 hard machine reboots so far with
no black screens. I've counted seconds from the last text message
(starting x server) until a gui appears during startup. It has varied
from a low of 6 seconds to 31 seconds but most of the time it's
21 seconds (even with sleep 1).

BTW, I'm a old engineer-programmer who knows BASIC and
assembly language but I'm unfamiliar with the scripting language
used here ... just for your info. It appears that fi acts as a END IF
and one was missing.

I've mentioned before that all my test machines are similar, The
one I used for this test is a DELL Dimension 2350 having a 1.8 ghz
Pentium 4 and 768 meg RAM.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 16:02    Post subject:  

This is a continuation of a Precise 5.4.2 discussion started on the Precise 5.4 thread.

(By the way, to avoid confusion, does the name of the Precise 5.4 thread (currently named "Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2") need to be corrected, and should this thread -- the real Precise 5.4.2 thread -- be made sticky?)

On Sat 08 Dec 2012, backi wrote:
During process of downloading from repo the whole letters which are indicating download suddenly changed to lttles squares ,became unreadable .

On Sun 09 Dec 2012, backi wrote:
I am using the latest version of Precise .

On Tue 11 Dec 2012, backi wrote:
grep PUPMODE /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
PUPMODE=13


Hi backi,

Although there are a number of reports of the symptoms you are experiencing (text characters turning into little squares when installing a package) from folks running in PUPMODE 2 (full install), this is the first I have seen for PUPMODE 13.

Barry has a fix for users running PUPMODE 2, but it applies only to that mode.

Since many things could cause the text characters to be corrupted, your problem may be something totally unrelated to the problem PUPMODE 2 users ran into. But because it happens during package installation (as was the case for the other problem), it could well be related to the other problem.

That said, I have not yet found anything in the code that would explain what you are seeing in PUPMODE 13.

I have no experience with PUPMODE 13, so may not be able to help with this. But I can suggest a few items of information that you could provide which might help someone else figure this out.

1. The problem experienced by PUPMODE 2 users also caused the desktop icons to change. Did this also happen for you?

2. Do you remember what package you were installing when you ran into this problem?

3. What output do you get for these commands?
Code:
ls -ld /lib/i386-linux-gnu
ls -ld /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

(This will tell us if those items are still symbolic links, as they should be, or if the installation of the package changed them to directories or removed them entirely.)

4. What output do you get for this command?
Code:
grep -E "PUP_LAYER|SAVE_LAYER" /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE

(These variables are used by the installation script, so we need to see if they are set correctly.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dam973

Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 05:11    Post subject: Internet doesnt work on eeepc 1000H
Subject description: Internet doesnt work on eeepc 1000H
 

I just installed precise puppy. Wpa supplicant doesnt work with my eeepc 1000H with Ralink rt2860 .
Network manager stays stuck at scanning and associating.
WPa supplicant is not detected...
I dont know what to do!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dam973

Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 05:16    Post subject: Internet doesnt work on eeepc 1000H
Subject description: Internet doesnt work on eeepc 1000H
 

I precise when i start it precise that rt8000pci does not support wpa encryption: but it worked on lucid puppy. No idea what's gg on!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dam973

Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 05:29    Post subject: WPA
Subject description: WPA
 

Sorry i meant RT2800PCI. IS there a patch or a pet to correct this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 448
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 06:56    Post subject:  

Hi npierce !

Input terminal
ls -ld /lib/i386-linux-gnu

Output terminal
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2 Nov 29 02:28 /lib/i386-linux-gnu -> ./


Input Terminal
ls -ld /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

Output Terminal
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2 Nov 29 02:28 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu -> ./

Input terminal
grep -E "PUP_LAYER|SAVE_LAYER" /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE

Output terminal
SAVE_LAYER=`/pup_ro1`
PUP_LAYER=`/pup_ro2`

Have set Puppy Eventmanager "Savesessions Save Intervall (0=never)

When this happens (downloading with PPM ) and all textcharacters are corrupted i restarted X ....then all my Desktop Icons are gone .
Only red Triangles with question-marks are visible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 448
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 09:37    Post subject:  

Hi npierce !

Those Problems while downloading with PPM occured to me too with Upup Precise 5.4.4

With Upup 5.4.5 they do not longer occur .
Maybe there you can find an answer .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 11:56    Post subject:  

Hi backi,

Thanks for answering my questions.

backi wrote:
When this happens (downloading with PPM ) and all textcharacters are corrupted i restarted X ....then all my Desktop Icons are gone .
Only red Triangles with question-marks are visible.

OK. Those are the same symptoms that were seen by PUPMODE 2 users.

backi wrote:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2 Nov 29 02:28 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu -> ./

But that is different. That is the correct link. For PUPMODE 2 users that was changed from a symlink to a directory.

Oh, but possibly you have started over with a new save file, in which case the links would be fine again.

backi wrote:
With Upup 5.4.5 they do not longer occur .

Interesting.

In that case, I would suggest trying Barry's Service Pack 5.4.2.2, just released yesterday.

Upup Precise 54X5 has newer Woof fixes that weren't in Puppy Precise 5.4.2, but will be in Service Pack 5.4.2.2, including the fix for PUPMODE 2 users. I don't quite see how that fix would affect PUPMODE 13 users, but, like I said, I have no experience with PUPMODE 13. So it is worth a try.

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1166s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]