Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 06:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4818
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 04:10    Post_subject:  

Thanks again, G. I plan to run a FULL with 610 as soon as I can release an HD, so will look into this and any other issue arising.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 16:17    Post_subject: Change to Root
Sub_title: Change all apps to run as root ie. dump spot.
 

I appreciate all the effort in making Fatdog a multi-user system but I would prefer to use it as root only. Is there a simple way to change all applications to run as root or do I have to edit all exec files manually?

Some of the fun with Puppy is finding out what not to do. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 16:35    Post_subject: extract rpm package  

I made a special pet package to extract rpm packages.
It will only work in recent fatdog!!

Here's a simple script I call extract_rpm-fatdog-1.0.pet

It's only purpose is to put a right click menu option
to extract a rpm package (it must have a .rpm extension)

Just right click on file and choose 'Extract here'.
The original file will remain. A new folder will be created.
There will be a warning if a similar name is in use. Paths will be
preserved . (A rpm source package will be converted to gzip package)


___________________________________________________
extract_rpm-fatdog-1.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  extract_rpm-fatdog-1.0.pet 
Filesize  1.26 KB 
Downloaded  309 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 16:57    Post_subject:  

I fixed a few problems I've found while using Right-click-fatdog-6.0.4.pet.

There is a new version 6.0.4

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82829

_________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 17:10    Post_subject:  

Sage , I remember other two issues with audio over HDMI that I had with 600 version .
First I noticed this in the soundcard behaviour : changes made in Fatdog64 had effects on sound settings in Windows 7 which I also used on my computer . I think settings on the card were changed ...
Second : when I switch the use of my TV that I use as monitor over HDMI , let's say I switch to another port antenna , VGA , another HDMI , whatever , coming back to computer on it's HDMI port made the sound disappear . To make it come back I had to unplug the HDMI cable from the socket and plug it again into the same port , and then it worked fine .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 19:02    Post_subject:  

Bug found in fatdog 610:

When I made my extract_rpm-fatdog-1.0.pet and extract_rpm-1.0.pet
I originally made the pet package while using fatdog.

To my surprise I couldn't install them on a regular puppy distro.
I would get error messages. I was able to extract the packages.

Could it be that the lack of a desktop file is the problem??

_______________________________________________________

A script I have written using gtkdialog3 won't launch
in fatdog 610 ---> an image request fails because
the image isn't installed . It will launch if I modify and use fatdog's
gtkdialog4.

Other puppies don't have this problem. Images don't have to present.

____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 22:18    Post_subject:  

Fishy wrote:
I appreciate all the effort in making Fatdog a multi-user system but I would prefer to use it as root only. Is there a simple way to change all applications to run as root or do I have to edit all exec files manually?

You don't have to do anything. By default Fatdog runs as root, except for certain network programs.
If you want them to run as root too, look at all files that ends with "-spot" in /usr/bin, and edit them to launch the application directly.

don570 wrote:

When I made my extract_rpm-fatdog-1.0.pet and extract_rpm-1.0.pet
I originally made the pet package while using fatdog.

To my surprise I couldn't install them on a regular puppy distro.
I would get error messages. I was able to extract the packages.

Could it be that the lack of a desktop file is the problem??
No, it's because Fatdog's dir2pet uses XZ compression (instead of GZ compression).
Fatdog's pet is actually .tar.xz files (as opposed to puppy's pet which is tar.gz).

Quote:
A script I have written using gtkdialog3 won't launch
in fatdog 610 ---> an image request fails because
the image isn't installed . It will launch if I modify and use fatdog's
gtkdialog4.
For new scripts, please use gtkdialog4. gtkdialog3 (gtkdialog 0.7.2) is old and no longer maintained. All puppies are also moving towards gtkdialog4 (the one in fatdog is gtkdialog 0.8.0), zigbert is already moving to gtkdialog5? Smile (anything newer than 0.8.2 is gtkdialog5 Smile ). The reason gtkdialog3 is still there is because there are about 120 scripts in Fatdog that still depend on it.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4818
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 03:53    Post_subject:  

Thanks fellas, more HDMI advice from G and an .rpm installer from don, v.004 lina-lite from el. - truly Xmas has arrived early! {I know! the date is wrong anyway, Xmas should be in July or somewhere else thanks to Gregory, Victorian 10-day adjustments, odd-second adjustments as well as poor record-keeping. Some of us are still celebrating old Norse pagan festivals with fir trees, lights and co. anyway - glad the old sun hasn't changed its time-keeping habits much this last 4.3bn years}.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 10:20    Post_subject:  

In Fatdog, how do we check graphics driver in use? I am asking this because Fatdog 610 flash video is not as crisp as Fatdog 600.Sorry if it has been answered already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4818
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 11:17    Post_subject:  

Quote:
To make it come back I had to unplug the HDMI cable from the socket and plug it again into the same port , and then it worked fine .

'Fraid it didn't work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 11:18    Post_subject:  

spandey, try Menu / Control Panel / Desktop / Display Properties , maybe it works in your case ...
If you haven't installed a propietary driver ( intel , nvidia , ati-catalyst ) then it should be Mesa-9.0-x86_64 , the default driver installed by fatdog . If you did , check Menu / System / ...
It should also be a command line Idea which I would like to find out too ...

Sorry to hear that Sage ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 14:28    Post_subject:  

Quote:
In Fatdog, how do we check graphics driver in use?


Look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log. You can also run glxinfo from a terminal and make sure you see direct rendering: Yes.

Also, if you use ATI graphics, the included open source drivers provide better 2D acceleration than the proprietary fglrx driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 16:39    Post_subject:  

Thank's kirk Exclamation Good to know ... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 21:26    Post_subject:  

I compiled mhwaveedit in fatdog 610 to make sure
that mhwaveedit opened up retrovol when I clicked
on the mixer button . It's stripped to reduce size.

It includes a new configuration file to make sure that an old one
with a different entry for audiomixer won't confuse mhwaveedit.

____________________________________________________
mhwaveedit_64-1.4.21.pet
Description  application compiled in fatdog 610
pet

 Download 
Filename  mhwaveedit_64-1.4.21.pet 
Filesize  165.1 KB 
Downloaded  280 Time(s) 
mhwaveedit_64_NLS-1.4.21.pet
Description  foreign language locales
pet

 Download 
Filename  mhwaveedit_64_NLS-1.4.21.pet 
Filesize  98.99 KB 
Downloaded  278 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 21:16    Post_subject:  

I checked direct rendering enabled is both versions. The vendor name for driver in 600 is tungsten where as for 610 it's Intel Opensource . I am not sure if both are same company or different.

Other difference I noticed was under about:plugins, firefox lists the plugins twice in 610. One refers to /usr/lib where as other to /usr/lib64. But it 600 it refers to only /usr/lib64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0969s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0155s) ][ GZIP on ]