Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 07:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LazY Puppy 2.0.2 Final - a Paradise Puppy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 31 of 49 [723 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 06:32    Post subject:  

Hi Ken.

Sorry for misunderstanding you the first time.

So, if your are booting from USB Flash and using a save file, the shutdown GUI offers a menu, wherein one can select to shutdown with saving to save file or to shutdown without saving to save file.

Would you please try this, and tell me the results.

I do use LazY Puppy generally from USB flash (FAT32). At home to 100% without the use of a save file, in my drumming room I do use a 512 MB save file. And it shuts down each and every time very well.

I'm currently not at home, so I can't make any tests on this. But will try on tomorrow. Would you please also check md5sum of downloaded ISO?

md5sum of LazY Puppy 2.0.2 Final Build 0.0.3: ffedb40dabea61f25cb461fb47fed626

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
the last saviour


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 113
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 06:33    Post subject:  

Hi all;
If you got any problem with Pwidget, just delete Space_Puppy_filesystem. Then it will be a good Pwidget.

Lieber Herr RSH;
Thanks for your advices.
I will download those files and test SciPlore again.
I think DeadBeef 4.1-1 should be DeadBeef 0.4.1.
I am very confused with Lash audio & Jack audio recording studio. There're Jack Rack in both studio, but different version.
After Lash audio & Jack audio sfs. are installed, some applications need to be installed whereas some applications need not. And Lash audio recording studio.sfs can't be unloaded.
Please let me know how to set midi to run in both studio. I can play midi only with TiMidity.
I also found TiMidity wouldn't work after Lash audio is loaded.
With Osiris I can't remaster LazyPuppy. It will boot until ../root/.xint.... and cannot find xorg library!!!!
Viele dank.

_________________
Many bad aliens live in the high building (~50 fl.), some decoration around the top. Near Time Square?

7 giant UFOs, ~10 km long. will perform the next Exodus at the top major cities. No disc type, but funny design which can make U smile or laugh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 07:43    Post subject:  

Hi.

Quote:
I think DeadBeef 4.1-1 should be DeadBeef 0.4.1.


Thanks for the info. I will check this.

Quote:
After Lash audio & Jack audio sfs. are installed, some applications need to be installed whereas some applications need not. And Lash audio recording studio.sfs can't be unloaded.

You can't use the LashAudiostudio and the JackAudioStudio together.

LazY Puppy Guides wrote:
LazY Puppy 2.0.2 Final - Lash Audiostudio
All programs of Lash Audiostudio, there are 18, are stored in a single SFS File, LP2_LashStudio431.sfs. These programs are in menu Multimedia - Lash Audio Recording Studio.

All programs of Lash Audiostudio are only tested if they would run. I did never use any program of Lash Audiostudio, so i can't tell if they would work in general. It is therefor recommended to use Lash Audiostudio only in so-called Live-User-Mode and/or only on the use of a specific personal storage file (save file).


I did choose to add the LashAudiostudio to LazY Puppy after I found it mentioned in a post by "nancy reagan". I think I will remove this in the future.

Quote:
I also found TiMidity wouldn't work after Lash audio is loaded.

Would you please post every information on any SFS files you've found that did not work together, please, in this here forum?

The reason why I did choose to use SFS files instead of installing is: I can use programs from SFS that would not work if installed, because of conflicting libs etc.pp. But they work from SFS if NOT trying to load and use them together.

LazY Puppy has option to add such information to any LazY Puppy SFS. The so-called "nogo-dependencies. If an SFS "knows" its "nogo-dependencies" the RunScript usually offers information gui and option to unload conflicting SFS before loading the new one. But these information must be "known" by the SFS files.

If you do a right-click on a SFS you can "Add dependencies". Within this action one can also add the "nogo-dependencies". After adding the nogo-dependencies and (needed) creating a new RunScript this should work.

Please post such found conflicting SFS files, so, I can prepare them with this info for a later upload and therefor more comfortable use for any user.

I can't check each and every SFS file against each and every SFS file - Time, you know.

Thanks for the info.

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 08:14    Post subject:  

Look also to the above post.

Quote:
Please let me know how to set midi to run in both studio. I can play midi only with TiMidity.

To play MIDI files I do use only TiMidity. Did not found another solution yet.

What I've done in my private Version to listen MIDI with TiMidity:

Rightclicked a .mid file and set a new default action for this file type. I choose the RunScript of TiMidity. So, if I click a .mid file, TiMidity sfs will load and after loaded and TiMidity is executed, it plays the file.

I did set a symbolic link in /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/OpenWith/.audio_midi to the RunScript for the use of TiMidity to play .mid files in background. But I've had to edit the TiMidity for this action.

I can upload the edited TiMidity sfs and post the files tomorrow or maybe in few days (I'm not at home currently), if wanted. Let me know.



For remastering:

earlier the last saviour wrote:
I'm glad to be the first who downlod LaZy Puppy from Mediafire, which is very fast.

also earlier the last saviour wrote:
The remaster function is OK

What did happen? Please tell me the exactly name of the downloaded ISO file. Did you install this Update?

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 195
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 11:18    Post subject:  

Hi RSH

I do not get the shutdown GUI by clicking on the wbar button, tray button or the menu shutdown. Nothing happens when I click on any of the above. The timed shutdown does work and during shutdown with this I am given the option to shutdown with saving to save file or to shutdown without saving to save file. I had checked the md5sum and it was correct. However I thought it was possible it had become corrupted so I have rechecked and it is still correct. The iso I downloaded is called LazyPuppy-202-EN-003.iso. I am beginning to wonder if it could be something to do with the manual frugal install. However, I installed it to my hd in the same way the only difference being that I am booting a frugal install on an ntfs file system from grub on a small ext3 partition on the hd whereas with the flashdrive I am using grub4dos to boot a frugal install on a fat32 file system. I can't see how this could affect shutdown. I have thought of trying an install to a fresh flashdrive using the installer to see if this works. Thanks for your help with this.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 11:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
I do not get the shutdown GUI by clicking on the wbar button, tray button or the menu shutdown. Nothing happens when I click on any of the above. The timed shutdown does work and during shutdown with this I am given the option to shutdown with saving to save file or to shutdown without saving to save file.

OK. I can not see any reason for this, because it seems to work from hd and I do use generally USB Stick, which works for me each and every time.

But I do not use grub4dos to boot from USB Stick. I do remember of some issues using grub4dos to boot from USB Stick, in the German forum, some weeks ago.

I will search for this post and checking everything using LazY Puppy and English Desktop. Must do this at home, because I do not have LazY Puppy 2.0.2 Build 0.0.3 here. It's an older version.

I'll be back for this maybe later tonight or tomorrow.

RSH

Edit:

Would you please post a clean desktop (no program opened) screenshot?

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 15:15    Post subject:  

Your poll is not covering all options!
If for instance I was loading the libreoffice sfs, I would want it unloaded on exiting. Although with it being a multipart application, the initial menu calling one of the parts might close that menu and and as a result, unload the SFS.
For a game, the auto-unload on exiting the game would be nice.
So to be safe, I would say no auto-unload of the SFS.
I did not take the Poll because it does not clarify enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1089
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 15:46    Post subject:  

Hi 8-bit,

Try loading your games using seaside's SFStray and Libre-
Office by right clicking using shinobar's SFS loader. Then,
as I wrote before, right click again to unload it, though with
4GB of RAM you may never need or wish to do that.

My regards

PS How does your poll recommendation look?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 195
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 16:20    Post subject:  

Hi RHS

Thanks for taking all this trouble. I have attached two images of the desktop as I thought the information panel might count as a "program opened" and so one image shows this and the other does not. Hope this helps.

Regards,

Ken.
image-2.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  image-2.jpg 
Filesize  84.79 KB 
Downloaded  262 Time(s) 
image-1.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  image-1.jpg 
Filesize  104.82 KB 
Downloaded  272 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 195
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 12:53    Post subject:  

Hi RHS

I looked at wbar config. This gave me the path to the file executed when the wbar shutdown button is clicked on. The path is /usr/sbin/ceelab/shutdown-pc/shutdown-pc. If I run shutdown-pc in a terminal it brings up the shutdown gui on the version of lazy on my hd (shutdown works properly on this one). However if I do the same on the version of lazy on the flash drive booting with grub4dos the shutdown gui does not appear and I get the attached error. I hope this helps.

Regards,

Ken.
image-3.jpg
 Description   shutdown-pc error
 Filesize   17.51 KB
 Viewed   466 Time(s)

image-3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 16:00    Post subject:  

Hi, Ken.

Thanks for the last post. Did help a lot to locate the bug.

Installing the attached .pet should fix this. Please, report the result.

Thanks

RSH
LP202-003-ShutdownGUI-Fix-01.pet
Description  Please test this "fix" and do report the result. Thanks.
pet

 Download 
Filename  LP202-003-ShutdownGUI-Fix-01.pet 
Filesize  24.76 KB 
Downloaded  504 Time(s) 

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 195
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 18:09    Post subject:  

Hi RHS

Good news. I installed you pet to Lazy on my flash drive and shutdown is now working. I have done a little bit of testing. I get the gui whether I select shutdown from wbar, tray or menu. All options shut the machine down. I have also tried the 10 sec count down and "now" and both work. I get the save and don't save options. Obviously after installing the pet I chose save and shutdown occurred with save. I have tried with no save and this works as well. I have now done a number of boots and shutdowns and it has worked every time. In trying to get shutdown to work I made a number of save files of different sizes and both ext2 and ext3. Your pet also works on these. I have also tried the timed shutdown. This always worked and still works. If you want me to try anything else please let me know. I should have said earlier that I had already installed your update pet. Thanks again for your time, help and the pet.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2288
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 18:43    Post subject:  

Hi Ken.

Glad to hear it works.

After having a look at your last attached image I did know: it's the menu of the shutdown-gui. Laughing

It's a bit of embarrassing to build a OS especially for the use from USB Stick and to put special options into the shutdown-gui for such a use and then it doesn't work. Embarassed

The users of the now 78 downloaded DE ISO files will never run into this bug. But there seems not to be any English user (174 downloads) using LazY Puppy from USB Stick - except you. Smile

The bug will only come up if using LazY Puppy with English Desktop and booting from USB Stick, using a save file. Exactly this I did not test. Embarassed

Thanks for all testings made. Enjoy LazY Puppy as often as you can and if entering a bug, please post it. If there would be a similar English-Desktop-USB-Stick-Boot-Bug that I would not entering because of my German Desktop on coding and use, I would like to know it and then to fix it.

Thanks.

RSH

P.S.

Did you made any tests using the menu functions of the shutdown-gui?

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 195
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 19:08    Post subject:  

Hi RSH

Quote:
Did you made any tests using the menu functions of the shutdown-gui?


No but I will do and report back.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 195
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 20:00    Post subject:  

Hi RHS

Have now tried the menu functions in the shutdown gui. All of them worked. Restart X did exactly that. I exited to prompt then typed xwin and got back to the desktop. Reboot pc gave me the option to save which I did as I had made some changes. The save time was a little longer than I expected but perhaps given the changes this was understandable and the reboot was OK. I had two sfs loaded and chose to unload libreoffice 3.5. I shutdown and on booting up again libreoffice 3.5 had been unloaded, I used load-on-the-fly to reload it and this worked OK. So all seems to work. I like the idea of using sfs and have now started to play around a little. I like Opera as a browser and have just downloaded and installed to my flash drive Opera 12.11. I am typing this from it now. I am having a little trouble with flash but I have had this before with Opera and have always managed to get it to work. I should have a chance latter in the week to try my flash drive with some better specified machines. I will let you know how this goes.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 31 of 49 [723 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1145s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0158s) ][ GZIP on ]