Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 00:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 10:38    Post_subject:  

Done. See the previous page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
f_esson

Joined: 21 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 05:13    Post_subject:    

Hello again,

Printer driver "Lexmark_X463de_Postscript_PPD-2.0.pet" is working perfectly with my Lexmark S315 on Slacko Puppy V 5.3.3

a warm thank you to John (rcrsn51)

Cheers from Paris

François
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mories

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 14:25    Post_subject: Slacko & Brother hl1430  

@ Rsrcn51
In the Slacko 5.4 thread, you say
Quote:
01micko wrote:

cups rolled back to 1.4.8 (wary version) with rcrsn51's ghostscript and Slackware's gutenprint-5.2.9,

A few quick print/scan tests all look good.


But my printer Brother HL1430 not print. No errors, lights blink, but no print.

How to setup that printer with the gutenprint driver?

Or should I use the Brother drivers, but then seem to be missing some items/files in the ghostscript package in slacko?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 17:34    Post_subject: Re: Slacko & Brother hl1430  

mories wrote:
Or should I use the Brother drivers, but then seem to be missing some items/files in the ghostscript package in slacko?

The printing system in Slacko is stable. Using slacko-5.4-firefox-4g, I installed my Brother HL-2070N as a Gutenprint HL-1430. It worked fine.

As a test, please do the following:

1. Boot off your Slacko Live CD. At the short initial pause, type the boot option "puppy pfix=ram".

2. Install your printer using the Gutenprint driver.

3. Using an application like Abiword, print a test page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 01:16    Post_subject: print black rectangle  

I tried to print part of this page but instead of the diagram, printed a black rectangle instead. Other pages too. Any suggestions?

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/kYqhPS2_OJn7mRmB13FDNAGkClMMq-DM0ORD6S88dOI?feat=directlink

_________________
1. Dell Dimension E521, AMD Athln 64, 2 GHz 1.93GB ram,
Puppy 533 on CD, accesses flash drive only,
FFox Nightly12.0
2. Compaq P3 733Hz 375RAM
Printer: Oki C3400 > LAN

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 10:06    Post_subject: Re: print black rectangle  

canbyte wrote:
I tried to print part of this page but instead of the diagram, printed a black rectangle instead.

This printed OK for me from an old version of Firefox.
Quote:
Other pages too.

Please be specific. Does your problem only occur when printing out of your web browser? Does it happen with ALL web pages? Just with Picasa?

Here is what I would try: download and save the JPEG. Then print it with Peasyprint.

As usual, it would help if you stated the Puppy version you are using.

[Edit] I installed Slacko 533 and loaded your Picasa page in the default Seamonkey browser. It printed OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 09:13    Post_subject: HP 1102w  

Trying to connect an HP 1102w as a wireless printer in Slacko 5.4 Have to admit, it's over my head....I've tried all sorts of things and it just doesn't seem to play.

Would appreciate someone helping me limp out oif the forest.

Thanks


Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 09:39    Post_subject: Re: HP 1102w  

tlchost wrote:
I've tried all sorts of things and it just doesn't seem to play.

What have you tried?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 11:46    Post_subject: Re: HP 1102w  

rcrsn51 wrote:
tlchost wrote:
I've tried all sorts of things and it just doesn't seem to play.

What have you tried?


Slacko does not detect a networked printer

I tried adding a printer using the address of the printer 192.168.1.5 but cups did not have an entry for the 1102w.

That's the closest I got....

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 11:59    Post_subject:  

Do you have the printer working in Windows? The P1102w has an interesting dual-mode feature. When you first turn it on, it acts like a CD-ROM drive so you can install the driver software. Then it turns into a regular printer. AFAIK, this can only be done from Windows.

Do you have it working in Slacko as a USB printer? I suspect not, because it doesn't sound like you have installed a Linux driver for it yet.

Have you read the How-To on Page 1? There are several choices listed for HP printers, but your P1102w works with the foo2xxx driver PET. You need to get it working as a USB printer before you can deal with networking.

The new versions of CUPS in Puppies like Slacko are often slow to detect network printers. You may need to run "Find New Printers" several times. But if you know its IP address, you can do it manually with the socket:// protocol.

I own a P1102w and it works fine with foo2xxx in USB mode. But I have never set it up with wireless, so I cannot guarantee how it will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 12:12    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Do you have the printer working in Windows?

Yes....works fine....it is NOT connected via a usb cable....all wireless
Quote:

You need to get it working as a USB printer before you can deal with networking.


Hmmm, I'll try that, but even after loading the foo .pet file, I do not see it under the HP printers.

Quote:

But if you know its IP address, you can do it manually with the socket:// protocol.

It's 192.168.1.5 but do I also need the printer name in the string?

Thanks

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 12:25    Post_subject:  

tlchost wrote:
but even after loading the foo .pet file, I do not see it under the HP printers.

????

I just installed the foo2xxx_rcrsn-2012.05.05.pet in Slacko 5.4 and the printer was listed as an HP Laserjet Pro P1102w Foomatic.

Quote:
It's 192.168.1.5 but do I also need the printer name in the string?

The syntax is just
Code:
socket://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 13:32    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:

I just installed the foo2xxx_rcrsn-2012.05.05.pet in Slacko 5.4 and the printer was listed as an HP Laserjet Pro P1102w Foomatic.

Code:
socket://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd


Must be the evil Windows influence....while the printer is listed and I can ping the printer address with no problems....CUPS just sits there and trys to connect.

Sorry to have bothered you...I'll just print to pdf and not beat my head against the wall...not good for the blood sugar and blood pressure.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 13:57    Post_subject:  

Did you try a USB connection?

Do you have the Puppy Firewall installed?

Type this command
Code:
mpscan -p 9100 192.168.1.5


[Edit] I set up my P1102w in XP as a wifi device. But no CUPS I tried was able to auto-detect it. So I manually installed it using AppSocket/HPJetDirect and foo2xxx. It worked fine.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 14:34    Post_subject:  

Hello,

now, my wifi lexmark s305 works fine ! is anybody know if the scanner can works to ?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0864s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]