Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 09:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 24 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 448
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 14:34    Post_subject:  

Hey you all !

Testing Dvdauthoring Tools .

Want to report ......" Pdvdrsab DVD rip/shrink/author/burn "
seems not start/working in this puppy .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 06:31    Post_subject:  

Precise 5.4.2 released

This has many bug-fixes and enhancements relative to 5.4 and 5.4.1, recommended to upgrade!

My blog announcement for 5.4.2:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00049

Precise 5.4.2 has a new Forum thread for feedback. The thread that you are on now is for feedback on 5.4. Please go to this new thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=668041#668041

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 448
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 09:45    Post_subject:  

Hey you all !

Testing Dvdauthoring Tools .

Want to report ......" Pdvdrsab DVD rip/shrink/author/burn "
seems not start/working in this puppy .


Sorry the wrong place to post ...

This was meant for Upup precise 5.4.4 .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 17:25    Post_subject: Midnight Commander menu entry.  

When installing Midnight Commander from PPM menu entry doesn't appear. I guess 'Filesystem' category is not recognized at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 21:49    Post_subject: Updated Frisbee and companion woof-update packages
Sub_title: 20121204 & 21021206
 

I post this here to make it easy to locate the set of packages to integrate Frisbee into Puppy. The Frisbee package is "frisbee_integrated-20121210, here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=662521#662521

The matching woof-updates package is woof_updates_precise-20121204, here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=662518#662518

If you are starting fresh, be sure to also install the other 4 packages at the woof-updates link.

I expect to continue discussion of frisbee_integrated in the Frisbee thread, since the package is intended for all future puppies.
Richard

NOTE that these two packages MUST BOTH be installed, as they are interdependent. As of 12/7, I see that the frisbee package has been downloaded more times than the companion woof_update package. Please do not test with only one of them installed.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ChrisOfBristol

Joined: 17 Nov 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 05:38    Post_subject: Installation - no Grub  

I was very impressed with what the last version did for my old laptop so decided to upgrade to Precise 5.4 and do a 'Full' installation this time because as a user of other distributions I feel more comfortable with it.

As there was already a Puppy version on the disk, I remembered to type
Code:
puppy pfix=ram
at startup from the CD and Puppy started fine. I was grateful to whoever put the "Installation" shortcut on the desktop as I didn't have to use my USB stick with what might have been an out-of-date installer, that also ran ok. I then did a Grub install, some options I chose: 'Simple', 'Standard', 'MBR'. The device is /dev/sda1, all went ok with that too.

I couldn't do the suggested check on /boot/grub/menu.lst as I couldn't find a 'boot' directory, I wouldn't have known what to check anyway to be honest.

When I rebooted I got:
    1 Linux (on /dev/sda1)
    2 Install to Floppy...
    3 Install GRUB to Linux partition (on /dev/sda1)
I chose (1) and got "Error15: file not found", so I then tried (3) and got several messages which look ok and end in "...succeeded. Done."
I then tried (1) again with the same result as before.

I had the same sort of problem when I installed the last version, I can't remember how I fixed it - it was all above my head anyway!

Is there a simple way to fix this Grub thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 06:24    Post_subject:  

hi ChrisOfBristol

in menu>>>system there are 2 grub programs 'grub bootloader config' & 'grub4dos bootloader config', the first one requires some manual input, and it sounds like you used this one.

Try using Grub4dos, it does everything automatically

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ChrisOfBristol

Joined: 17 Nov 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 06:32    Post_subject:  

666philb wrote:
Try using Grub4dos
'Automatic' sounds good! I wasn't keen on the 'DOS' bit, as I don't want to have anything to do with Window$, but I have now tried it and it's much simpler than the other one - thanks.

I get a Windows/Advanced Menu option when I bootup. If I select Advanced Menu I get a list of options. When I choose either of the more likely ones I just get the three options I was getting with the other Grub installer (see above), with the same results.

Is there a simple way to fix this Grub thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 11:19    Post_subject:  

Is it possible to upgrade from 5.4.1 to 5.4.2 or is a new install necessary
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 12:00    Post_subject:  

slenkar wrote:
Is it possible to upgrade from 5.4.1 to 5.4.2 or is a new install necessary


Yes. You can download the appropriate delta file from here:

ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/precise-5.4.2/delta_files/

Online, you will see the directory "delta_files", and the naming of the files should tell you what they do. Download a delta file and then just click on it.

Or, you can start from the menu:

Menu -> Utility -> Xdelta file difference manager

...then, it is just a matter of drag-and-drop of the old .iso file and the delta file. The Xdelta app also has a 'Help' button with further explanation.

This presupposes that you have previously downloaded versions 5.4 or 5.4.1 of Precise Puppy.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 901
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 12:06    Post_subject: Re: Installation - no Grub  

ChrisOfBristol wrote:
.... I then did a Grub install, some options I chose: 'Simple', 'Standard', 'MBR'. The device is /dev/sda1, all went ok with that too.

I couldn't do the suggested check on /boot/grub/menu.lst as I couldn't find a 'boot' directory, I wouldn't have known what to check anyway to be honest.


Hello ChrisOfBristol,

I am no expert but have done this a few times now. With Grub what I do is make sure the Linux partition in which I am installing Puppy is flagged as the boot partition (using GParted). Then I install Grub to the root of that same Linux partition (not to MBR) and this installs /boot/grub/menu1st to that partition so it is easy to find the menu1st file for editing.

I just add the lines that Puppy Universal Installer prompts with the file that it generates for you and edit the name the way I want it.

If you have Windows in another partition I have found that it is necessary to delete the line "make active" in menu1st otherwise Windows snatches back the boot flag and I lose my boot menu screen and other options.

I have used Grub4Dos on 1 machine and with that I didn't see an option to install to the Linux partition so installed to MBR. In this case the menu1st file was installed to the root of the ntfs partition which has the boot flag and Windows XP on it (which I don't use but have left it there anyway). The easiest way to access the menu1st file for editing in this case is to mount the partition in Puppy and there it is. I have been able to install different Puppies in the Linux partition and have had no problems.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ChrisOfBristol

Joined: 17 Nov 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 02:52    Post_subject: Still no Grub  

Oscar Talks
Quote:
...make sure the Linux partition in which I am installing Puppy is flagged as the boot partition (using GParted)...
Good tip, I have checked and the partition has got the 'boot' flag.

I tried installing GRUB many times unsuccessfully with 'GRUB bootloader config/simple' (I chose this option because I am not an expert) and got a message which suggested success, but it never worked. The fact that accepting the defaults doesn't work because they don't show, doesn't help. 'GRUB for DOS bootloader config' didn't work either.

I mentioned in my first posting that there was no sign of a 'boot' directory (see attachment) that was obviously highly relevant.

I then tried 'GRUB bootloader config/expert' and it has worked.
I think the two options within 'GRUB bootloader config' should be renamed from
'simple Try to install GRUB automatically'
'expert Use expert GRUB setup menu'
to
'Doesn't work under any circumstances'
'Use this one' Smile

Do I sound frustrated? Yes - this took hours to sort out and I nearly gave up in disgust. it's a pity because this is an amazing distribution otherwise, spoilt by a nightmare installation process.
EDIT: Even the 'Expert' doesn't work - the Grub4DOS seems to be better.
capture16223.png
 Description   
 Filesize   21.02 KB
 Viewed   914 Time(s)

capture16223.png


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 448
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 13:27    Post_subject:  

Hi
I am using precise on Usb stick .
Wanted to download Programms with PPM .

During process of downloading from repo the whole letters which are indicating download suddenly changed to lttles squares ,became unreadable .

Had the same probleme with Upup 5.4.4 too .

(maybe my Usb stick is damaged ,i am not sure ) .

Anybody else the same/similar problems ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 13:29    Post_subject:  

backi wrote:
Anybody else the same/similar problems ?

Yes, lots of people. It's been around since the beta versions.

Are you using the very latest Precise?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 20:03    Post_subject: Just a reminder taken from the first page  

Just a reminder taken from the first page.

Precise 5.4.2 has a new Forum thread for feedback. The thread that you are on now is for feedback on 5.4. Please go to this new thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=668041#668041

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 24 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1136s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]