Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 10:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 4.2.8
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 101 of 120 [1792 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, ..., 118, 119, 120 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 08:12    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Geoffrey & sheldonisaac
It is Barry that has made the gtkdialog2/3/4. I assumed he go for gtkdialog5 next time he updates gtkdialog in woof.
gtkdialog4 is (by Barry) set to version 0.8.0, so pMusic can not call for gtkdialog4 as it requires gtkdialog 0.8.2....[chop]


This is exactly why Slacko ships 1 and only 1 gtkdialog executable. There are symlinks from that to gtkdialog3 & 4.

Geoffrey (and Elroy). As distro maintainers you have got to try and follow KISS (not the band Wink ) with some things. I made the decision (was called "brave" by Barry too Laughing ) to chop old gtkdialog-0.7.21 (aka "gtkdialog3") and fix whatever broke. Fortuitously, what broke was minimal.

When Thunor announces the next stable gtkdialog (likely 0.8.4) Slacko will ship, and recommend retrofitting, that version.

Apologies Sigmund for brief hijack.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 383
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 09:58    Post subject:
Subject description: the gtkdialog thing
 

01micko wrote:

I made the decision ...to chop old gtkdialog-0.7.21 (aka "gtkdialog3") and fix whatever broke. Fortuitously, what broke was minimal.

That emboldened me to remove the "real" gtkdialog5 (it's actually a copy of gtkdialog [ver 8.2]) from /usr/bin

I made a symlink there for it.

Pmusic 3.0.5 started up OK.

There remain older ones in /usr/sbin:

    82588 2005-09-10 18:20 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog2
    134332 2011-07-04 08:46 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3
    191988 2011-09-26 08:45 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog4
    37 2012-11-27 21:51 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog5 -> /usr/local/GtkDialog/082/gtkdialog082


(Hm. Why is
249264 2012-11-03 21:53 /usr/local/GtkDialog/082/gtkdialog082
bigger? )

(I have a vague recollection that something, perhaps package manager, here in Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 looks for gtkdialog4)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 12:35    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
May I suggest that one of the presets be Audio book? (mp3 mono, either fixed bit rate of 32 kbps....
Will add.


Thank you
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 12:36    Post subject:  

oldyeller wrote:
Hello,

I have installed this in Precise 5.4.2 retro along with my gtkdialog pet and it works nice

Thanks
I am glad you mention this. I am not in the position to test all Puppies.


Thank you
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 12:39    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Apologies Sigmund for brief hijack.
You are very welcome Very Happy

I think I drop support for gtkdialog(x) and go for gtkdialog only. Even if someone wants to use gtkdialog(x), the plain gtkdialog should be the latest. - That sounds logical to me.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 111
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 22:43    Post subject: fade effect
Subject description: fading effect in pmusic
 

Hi zigbert, this pmusic is very great! i'm very like it. gtkdialog programming can do all of this. by the way, i have an idea about changing song from a song to next song. how if the volume going down automatically in 5 second before a song tobe end and about 3 second before ending song, the next song in playlist being play and the volume increase from 0 to real volume. I got it from jet audio. the fading effect is so cool. how if that effect come to pmusic? i think it's give more powerfull of pmusic. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10654
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 00:39    Post subject:  

As long as the fading could be turned off. I'd hate to miss even one note of this song. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 05:35    Post subject: Re: fade effect
Subject description: fading effect in pmusic
 

recobayu wrote:
Hi zigbert, this pmusic is very great! i'm very like it. gtkdialog programming can do all of this. by the way, i have an idea about changing song from a song to next song. how if the volume going down automatically in 5 second before a song tobe end and about 3 second before ending song, the next song in playlist being play and the volume increase from 0 to real volume. I got it from jet audio. the fading effect is so cool. how if that effect come to pmusic? i think it's give more powerfull of pmusic. Very Happy
Fading in/out requires a realtime audio process. This is (atm) not supported by 'ffmpeg | aplay' which is our simple play-engine.

Don't worry Flash. Smile
It would never be default.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 299
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 12:26    Post subject:  

i just tried to rip a audio cd and it just ripped the cd to blank files with track names in pmusic and pcdripper. i am still in precise beta 5 using pmusic 3.0.2 and using a self compile of gtkdialog-0.8.2.

here is a pic


cd ripped fine using asunder but would like to use pmusic for most of my needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 383
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 14:11    Post subject:
Subject description: ripping
 

scabz wrote:
i just tried to rip a audio cd and it just ripped the cd to blank files with track names in pmusic and pcdripper. i am still in precise beta 5 using pmusic 3.0.2 and using a self compile of gtkdialog-0.8.2

I had never ripped using pmusic, but now have tried.

Canceled the ripping when it started on track 2 (didn't see how to rip only selected tracks)
Found a couple of oddly-named files, eg CD-track_cdda:2somethingorother.wav

I figure the larger one was a complete track. After I renamed it to CD-track1.wav I could click it in ROXfiler , and it played.

That's all I know, thus far.
============

The ripping was with Pmusic 3.0.5 standard install under 'line-lite puppy ver 003
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 12:46    Post subject:  

Pmusic-3.0.5 in Upup Precise. The ripping of cd music audio succeeded just fine. No problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 15:19    Post subject:  

Ripping works also here in Slacko 5.3.3.
So. I wonder.... Are there things that are not logical, that could lead to some misunderstanding? I am reworking the export gui, so it would be nice if any has some thoughts about this.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3274
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 15:44    Post subject:  

I have used,successfully I may add, using PMusic to rip songs from internet radio stations and have it separate each song.
I have also burnt a CD with the extra information of song title and artist included.
On my Wife's CD player in her car that has a digital readout, when the song plays, it shows the title and artist on the digital display instead of track#.
Your success may vary though depending on the cd player.
Oh, almost forgot.
I used Pburn to make the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 383
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 16:38    Post subject:
Subject description: ripping etc
 

8-bit wrote:
I have used,successfully I may add, using PMusic to rip songs from internet radio stations and have it separate each song.
Thanks, I'll try again soon to rip; maybe convert to MP3, rather than the strangely-named WAV files.
Quote:
I have also burnt a CD with the extra information of song title and artist included.
I recall Sigmund saying that we have no control of what the station sends, so may have the composer in the artist tag?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 15:25    Post subject:  

Version 3.0.6
See main post


Changelog
- Remove locales file
- Bugfix: Burn content of playlist (Playlist-menu).

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 101 of 120 [1792 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, ..., 118, 119, 120 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1004s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0277s) ][ GZIP on ]