Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 15:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
TP-LINK Wireless N USB Adapt- Howtoconnect[Solved by pemasu]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 21:16    Post subject:  TP-LINK Wireless N USB Adapt- Howtoconnect[Solved by pemasu]  

I have splashed about a bit and it just ain't coming.

It does not run out of the box so I tried around on the ADSL D-Link Modem but did not find a mac address to enter yet .

So the device is not recognised so I went looking for a driver ,trying a few on the puppy network module load page to no avail , then as I had the CD for the device I tried NDISWrapper approach and found the right files on the CD but Puppy said it was an invalid inf file .

Splashed around in there for a bit looking at various options but atm I am just scratching the head??pemasu

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.

Last edited by tytower on Fri 11 Jan 2013, 16:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 16:34    Post subject:  

I've now tried every module with usb in it on Barrys driver load program to no avail

I've also downloaded the right drivers from TP-LINK's site and tried to load the ".inf" file but just get an error message and it does not work

Can anyone help at all ?

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 19:16    Post subject:  

1. You need to supply an exact model number.

2. With the device UNPLUGGED, type "lsusb". Then plug it in and repeat. Report the vendor:product ID codes.

3. Please supply a link to the website where you got the driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 17:22    Post subject:  

Doubled up
_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.

Last edited by tytower on Sat 01 Dec 2012, 17:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 17:24    Post subject:  

The Model is TL-WN723N


# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 413c:1003 Dell Computer Corp. (Keyboard)
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 0461:4d22 Primax Electronics, Ltd
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC (Arduino)
Bus 002 Device 005: ID 413c:2010 Dell Computer Corp. (Mouse)
# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0bda:8176 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 413c:1003 Dell Computer Corp.
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 0461:4d22 Primax Electronics, Ltd
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC
Bus 002 Device 005: ID 413c:2010 Dell Computer Corp.
# lsusb

An observation here to those concerned with lsusb- If it indented after each root hub it could be clearer

I got the driver from
http://www.tp-link.com/en/support/download/?model=TL-WN723N&version=V2#tbl_a

And I have the Windows installation disk and Mac address

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 18:20    Post subject:  

You haven't said what Puppy version you are using.

But the latest Slacko 5.3.7.7 with Kernel 3.2.33 has the rtl8192cu module that supports your [obda:8176] device.

It also uses the firmware file rtl8192cufw.bin. Check in dmesg for any problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 08:57    Post subject:  

Well I brought down the iso and gave it a whirl.
Driver is there and seems to be working . Light comes on in adaptor but no connection to router as yet.
It says there is no available wireless network and as this is a second hand router that may be the case . I'll have to pull it apart and see if the antenna is OK and connected

Working on it --Thanks rcrsn51

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 15:59    Post subject:  

No the router works fine . I tested it with windows and it connected straight away.

So I have a device being recognised by the driver but it will not connect to the ADSL2 modem?

It says " No wireless network found"

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.

Last edited by tytower on Wed 05 Dec 2012, 02:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 17:10    Post subject:  

There is a driver here for Puppy 431 that matches your device.

I believe that there is also one here for Lupu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 18:38    Post subject:  

Yes thanks for that

I d/l and tried all and any driver pets I could .
I saw a driver in the module load page and tried to load it but got a message that it would not load - see attached screenshot

Where do these files go when a pet downloads it.
Driverloadmessage.png
 Description   
 Filesize   165.08 KB
 Viewed   1537 Time(s)

Driverloadmessage.png


_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 18:40    Post subject:  

Remember that these packages ONLY work in the Puppy for which they were built.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 17:41    Post subject:  

Using the 5.4.2 distro the device is recognised but cannot find a network .
Now I know my settings are right because I can connect through windows without problem
Using the correct driver then for 5.4.2 is not working?

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 04:17    Post subject:  

Well in an effort to move on I bought another one today

I bought a Digitech USB2.0 Wireless dongle whatever that is ?
Didn't have a model number except maybe 802.11N on the packaging
Documentation calls it a " Wireless-N USB 2.0 Adaptor (802.11n)

Supposed to be good for Linux above kernel 2.4
With the latest "Puppy 5.4.2" I found I had to load the driver "rtl8193cu" and I messed about with the linux stuff on the CD so that may have been appended after I messed about attempting to run the install script which hangs . Tried it 3 times

Got a bit further with this one .Plugging and unplugging got it to at least get a network signal but it still would not operate through the router . So it continues

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2012, 20:04    Post subject:  

Merry Christmas to all !

With the Christmas influx of iPods ,IPhones ,IPads and wiFi devices I have had an opportunity to check this out some more.

All of the above connect successfully even with WEP security enabled .
My computer connects OK by line connection eth0 and wlan0 but wlan0 will not get access to the dns server and so can't get a web site through wlan.

I just need an expert to tell me what to change in the router ?

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 15:58    Post subject:  

Anyone got any ideas here? What Router setting should I change?

Aside from that:-
As far as "frisbee" is concerned I don't find it very helpful
It does stuff behind the scenes and when it gets it wrong it is difficult to find out whats wrong . Not enough feedbback for me .

My machine getsan IP from the router on bootup then immediately goes down so I then have to connects again which then connect properly . Finding out what it's doing is not very easy !

I don't recommend "Frisbee"

Here is what the log says
Quote:
Dec 23 08:32:14 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[4074]: eth0: leased 10.1.1.3 for 3600 seconds
Dec 23 08:32:16 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[4770]: version 5.2.9 starting
Dec 23 08:32:16 puppypc6935 daemon.debug dhcpcd[4770]: forking to background
Dec 23 08:32:16 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[4770]: forked to background, child pid 4777
Dec 23 08:32:16 puppypc6935 daemon.debug dhcpcd[4777]: eth0: using hwaddr 00:1d:09:22:75:69
Dec 23 08:32:16 puppypc6935 daemon.debug dhcpcd[4777]: eth0: executing `/usr/libexec/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason PREINIT
Dec 23 08:32:16 puppypc6935 daemon.debug dhcpcd[4777]: eth0: executing `/usr/libexec/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason CARRIER
Dec 23 08:32:20 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[4074]: forked to background, child pid 5232
Dec 23 08:32:20 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[5232]: eth0: carrier lost
Dec 23 08:32:20 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[5236]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process
Dec 23 08:32:22 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[4777]: eth0: carrier lost
Dec 23 08:32:22 puppypc6935 daemon.debug dhcpcd[4777]: eth0: executing `/usr/libexec/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason NOCARRIER
Dec 23 08:32:23 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[4777]: control command: dhcpcd --release eth0
Dec 23 08:32:23 puppypc6935 daemon.info dhcpcd[4777]: eth0: removing interface
Dec 23 08:32:23 puppypc6935 daemon.debug dhcpcd[4777]: eth0: executing `/usr/libexec/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason STOP

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0753s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]