Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 15:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup - Puppy based on Arch Linux
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 14 [207 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2062
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 17:28    Post subject:  

Oh!

I am happy! I see that Iceape can show videos like

http://france3.fr/jt/20h

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HqQoLq5c2c

good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1602

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 05:42    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
@mavrothal: When main sfs file is created folowing is moved to
package called arch-dev: /usr/include,/usr/share/aclocal,/usr/lib/pkgconfig,
/usr/lib/*.a,/usr/share/gir-1.0. Size of that package is arount 15MB.

The comments were for 1204. 1204-1 with dev-archpup loaded, works just fine OOB for compiling Very Happy

You may want to add Xdialog and gktdialog-splash in a future release since a lot of puppy apps/scripts are using them.

One problem I had is the absence of /dev/pts and /dev/shm from the build. This resulted in one of my machines failing to boot to the desktop (retrying for ever...), while another got to the desktop OK but failed to open the terminal (that gave me the hint about /dev/pts)
Adding "mkdir /dev/pts" and "mount /dev/pts" in /root/.start solved both problems!

To that end, would be nice if there was some way to drop to console in ArchPup. Debugging would be much easier Wink

Coming to the wireless, Pwireless works (as a program) but loading the interface has issues, because "it can not find the firmware" (libertas_sdio and usb8xxx). However, the firmware and the kernel modules are there (and known to work in every other puppy). I assume that is has to do with the rc.sysinit (or maybe udev) but did not have time to look at it yet.

Other than that, looks good!

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2062
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 05:55    Post subject:  

Hi Simargl

I miss actually a very important hability in the system: It refuses to manage https pages because it did not found some PSM (personal security management). I find it is a major equipment for all personal linuxes (and a lot of special linuxes dedicaced to reduced functions like server etc.).

Next question is, there is no printer and no scanner! This is a thing that is admissible as you have SFS-load-on-fly. But your system needs somewhat (a SFS for printing through CUPS, Gutenprint, Xsane and Gnu-OCR; it is a little tricky because of the dependences, if I remenber right Samba as well as Gimp belong as a lot of other big things to the dependencies, and it has usually to start as demon)!

I don't find. that both, PSM included, and SFS for printing/scanner, would be somewhat that the user post install using the Arch's package manager...

Kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 07:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
One problem I had is the absence of /dev/pts and /dev/shm from the build. This resulted in one of my machines failing to boot to the desktop (retrying for ever...), while another got to the desktop OK but failed to open the terminal (that gave me the hint about /dev/pts)
Adding "mkdir /dev/pts" and "mount /dev/pts" in /root/.start solved both problems!

In early stage experimenting with Archpup I tried to use all default dev entries from woof.
System would boot, but terminal didn't start with same error (missing /dev/pts). After that fixed
there was no sound, alsamixer complained about missing /dev/mixer, so I decided to remove all
dev entries and edit sysinit.rc so it will populate dev automatically during boot.
Quote:
To that end, would be nice if there was some way to drop to console in ArchPup. Debugging would be much easier

Currently Xorg is started from /etc/profile with this:
Code:
if [ ! -f /usr/bin/X ]; then
  echo "Sorry, cannot start X. Link /usr/bin/X missing."
else
  exec archpupx
fi

If I replace it to start X only once (on boot):
Code:
if [ ! -f /usr/bin/X ]; then
  echo "Sorry, cannot start X. Link /usr/bin/X missing."
else
  if [ ! -f /tmp/runonce ]; then
  touch /tmp/runonce
  exec archpupx
  fi
fi

... it would work one time and not another. Perhaps someone can help.

@oui : If you have problems accessing https web pages, you might try firefox, its working here..
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1602

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 09:49    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Quote:
One problem I had is the absence of /dev/pts and /dev/shm from the build. This resulted in one of my machines failing to boot to the desktop (retrying for ever...), while another got to the desktop OK but failed to open the terminal (that gave me the hint about /dev/pts)
Adding "mkdir /dev/pts" and "mount /dev/pts" in /root/.start solved both problems!

In early stage experimenting with Archpup I tried to use all default dev entries from woof.
System would boot, but terminal didn't start with same error (missing /dev/pts). After that fixed
there was no sound, alsamixer complained about missing /dev/mixer, so I decided to remove all
dev entries and edit sysinit.rc so it will populate dev automatically during boot.


Adding *just* the mount point folders and not any devices in dev does not affect other functions (at least at my end). I think udev can not make these mount points if absent. /dev/shm is needed in case you implement the fscheck function of puppy.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 12:00    Post subject:  

The keyboard layout is still broken in this build.
when I type "pacman, Hi simargl, exit" in the terminal, it gives me this:
-ac0an
H5 s50arg3,
ex5t

I solved the issue by deleting the 'setxkbmap us &' entry from .start and adding a keyboard section to xorg.conf from another puppy build:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102" #xkbmodel0
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

The trick seems to work. I managed to install Firefox using the terminal, although it was version 12. Then I created the save file, but there was no prompt to save on shutdown and both Firefox and the keyboard trick are gone on a fresh boot. How do I use the save file in this puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 12:06    Post subject:  

Anakin

The problems with keyboard input you had are probably because numlock is on - I'm guessing you are using a laptop?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 12:28    Post subject:  

Is it my imagination or is this faster than other puppies

I created a save-file with the GUI. If I shutdown it will save right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 12:58    Post subject:  

Hi anikin,

Thanks for reporting this, but what happens if you add this keyboard section
to xorg.conf and also leave setxkbmap us in .start. Will it then work?

You probably found it, but anyway for creating savefile go to
System->Setup ->Make personal savefile.
This will create empty savefile, to start using it you must reboot first.
Back to top
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 13:51    Post subject:  

I created a save file
I put it in sda6/archpup/archpup

but when I rebooted it was like a new install, all data was gone.

I looked in the directory and the save file was there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1602

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 14:25    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:

Coming to the wireless, Pwireless works (as a program) but loading the interface has issues, because "it can not find the firmware" (libertas_sdio and usb8xxx). However, the firmware and the kernel modules are there (and known to work in every other puppy). I assume that is has to do with the rc.sysinit (or maybe udev) but did not have time to look at it yet.


Turns out that at least in my case is the udev. I installed a udev-167 that I had compiled some time ago for wary/racy/saluki and the wifi now works. /dev/pts is still needed though Confused

Another problem is that Geany has strange colors on 16bit depth screens. That was also in Ubuntu Precise (and Precise puppy) and needs recompiling.

slenkar wrote:
I created a save file
I put it in sda6/archpup/archpup

but when I rebooted it was like a new install

Yes ArchPup needs some work there...
Will not write on the save file during the same boot that you created it. But will find it on next boot and use it.

So boot, create a save file and reboot.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2062
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 17:44    Post subject: save file  

Hi

It is a great figure of ArchPup 1204 don't to use some save file and don't to disturb the user with bad little windows asking for this or that (localization, start infos for newbies etc.). The good place for such disturbing messages is under the menu under subdivision >setup or >system or >help (help would be of course important! especially if the system reacts differently as other puplets).

The second great figure of ArchPup 1204 is to be relatively empty from applications suites so users can easily use it as start point for FOREIGN LANGUAGE PUPLETS Idea

Kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 17:56    Post subject:  

anyone using a bcm43xx/broadcom wireless card. i cannot get the usual b43 wireless driver working. I'm installing the firmware to /lib/firmware...yet and still i'm getting firmware not found under dmesg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2062
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 20:30    Post subject:  

Hi
I see there were a mplayer installed but probably removed?

I would like to reinstall it, but if possible only the most simple version without front end. is such a version available? what is to install to have a well working system (starting by hitting in Thunar on the icone wished to be played)? There are principally youtube downloads made using the puppy youtube downloader...

or is that possible using directly flashplayer.so from /mozilla/plugins ?

Kind regards

simargl wrote:
@oui : If you have problems accessing https web pages, you might try firefox, its working here..


I confirm: it works here in links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 21:36    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
but what happens if you add this keyboard section to xorg.conf and also leave setxkbmap us in .start. Will it then work?

No, it will not work that way. And I should have been more specific in my initial post. Actually, I deleted both these lines:
setxkbmap us &
numlockx on &
from .start, before adding the keyboard section to xorg.conf.

This has to be clarified in the light of what Keef says:
Keef wrote:
The problems with keyboard input you had are probably because numlock is on - I'm guessing you are using a laptop?

Yes, I'm using a netbook, and just removing the 'numlockx on &' line from .start solves the issue. No need to add the keyboard section to xorg.conf, and as a matter of fact, no need to add any keyboard entries to .start. To the best of my knowledge, if you do not specify a keyboard layout, the system will use the default setting, which happens to be the us keyboard layout.

Regarding the save file - it does not work here even after reboot. During shutdown I can see some text saying that 'save config can't be found in usr/sbin or usr/bin', or something similar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 14 [207 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1102s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]