Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 14:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 30 of 92 [1368 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, ..., 90, 91, 92 Next
Author Message
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 23:23    Post subject: Carolina 004 released  

Carolina 0.0.4 has been released. To obtain the ISO/.delta file, please go to the first post on this thread and goto the 'News' section.

Included in 004:
* Thumbnails now display correctly in Thunar.

* The latest gtkdialog4 (as of 26 NOV 2012).

* A faster probepart script that eliminates the 'hanging' upon shutdown experienced with some notebook setups.

* You can now drag 'n drop icons from the main menu or control panel to the desktop without the items being removed from their originating place.

* A new default wallpaper (hopefully it'll be "friendly" enough for everyone).

* Within Firefox, you can now go to 'Help/About', and Firefox will automatically download and install the latest version if a newer version is available.

* Upon first running the new version of Carolina, in the Preferences dialog, the firewall button now works as it should. This is a bugfix. It was originally included in 003, but didn't work correctly. In 004, it works as it should.

* When you open the puppy package manager, the Carolina repository list will automatically update itself so long as you're connected to the internet. Again, this was originally introduced in 003, but did not work correctly. In 004, it works as it should. Please note that if you're going to use other locations available in the repository (arch, wary, etc...), you'll want to update their package lists. But for Carolina, this will no longer be necessary so long as you have an internet connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 00:07    Post subject: carolina 004  

thanks elroy Smile

I actually caught the delta in the testing folder Smile
This new one in the ISO directory seems to have a different md5 so I updated.

I don't know if it's just on my notebook but pupsaveconfig and grub4dos on 004 can't find any partitions.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 00:11    Post subject: Re: carolina 004  

jpup wrote:
thanks elroy Smile

I actually caught the delta in the testing folder Smile
This new one in the ISO directory seems to have a different md5 so I updated.

I don't know if it's just on my notebook but pupsaveconfig and grub4dos on 004 can't find any partitions.

Thanks

Yeah, the one in 'testing' didn't have the permissions enabled for the /sbin/probepart.If you've downloaded from the expected place, hopefully you're not experiencing that. Either way, I'll look check it out and see if they're missing their permissions, too.

EDIT: their permissions are ok (pupsavefonfig & grub4dos). The problem with the .delta in the 'testing' folder was the permission wasn't set for '/sbin/probepart'. The testing folder isn't meant for general use. If you choose to use anything in it, expect the worst Very Happy It's essentially used for Geofffrey and myself to pass items that need testing to each other. No warranty on those items...

EDIT-2: Don't download anything you find in the 'staging' folder. I use that for uploading, and then copy it to the needed place on the server. If you download from that, chances are you'll end up with a corrupt file.

Last edited by elroy on Wed 28 Nov 2012, 00:23; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bligh

Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 484
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 00:18    Post subject:  

Booted 003 in an older hp dt with standard led monitor and everything seemed to behave properly. Looks good. Now to try 4.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 00:22    Post subject:  

Bligh wrote:
Booted 003 in an older hp dt with standard led monitor and everything seemed to behave properly. Looks good. Now to try 4.
Cheers

Thanks Bligh. Keep us informed. Much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 02:26    Post subject:  

hi elroy:
Just downloaded carolina 004.
Running nicely on my system. More polished thn 003.
Keep it up Wink.
UMAIR
Screenshot.png
Description  Crolina 004. running very smoothly.
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.png 
Filesize  1.61 MB 
Downloaded  261 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 02:43    Post subject:  

umair wrote:
hi elroy:
Just downloaded carolina 004.
Running nicely on my system. More polished thn 003.
Keep it up Wink.
UMAIR


Refer to my previous post, I checked almost all applications in carolina 04, everthing works fine. The only problem I got is that, the pupsave file option is not working (I always use FRUGAL Installation and never found this before i.e. No Partitions available...). I am posting the screenshot.
Any Idea ??
Screenshot2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot2.png 
Filesize  1.06 MB 
Downloaded  255 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 03:02    Post subject:  

umair wrote:
umair wrote:
hi elroy:
Just downloaded carolina 004.
Running nicely on my system. More polished thn 003.
Keep it up Wink.
UMAIR


Refer to my previous post, I checked almost all applications in carolina 04, everthing works fine. The only problem I got is that, the pupsave file option is not working (I always use FRUGAL Installation and never found this before i.e. No Partitions available...). I am posting the screenshot.
Any Idea ??

Yeah, check to make sure that /sbin/probepart permission is set to be executable. I thought I did that, but maybe that's not the case.

You can do this from the terminal by entering
Code:
/sbin/probpart +x


If you got the delta from the 'testing' folder, then yes, that'd be the case. But if you downloaded the ISO/delta from the normal place then no, this shouldn't of happened.

EDIT: My God, I must've been tired! The above command should've been...
Code:
chmod +x /sbin/probepart
. I'm so sorry for the confusion this created, UMAIR (and anyone else this may have affected).
Last edited by elroy on Wed 28 Nov 2012, 21:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 03:09    Post subject: carolina 004  

I really don't wanna say "I told you so"

but I'm gonna say it anyway...

I told you so Smile peace!


to umair: try to do a chmod 755 or change permissions using thunar... you'll be able to run pupsave and it will find partitions but you'll probably get hang time during shutdown.


peace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 03:13    Post subject:  

elroy wrote:


If you got the delta from the 'testing' folder, then yes, that'd be the case. But if you downloaded the ISO/delta from the normal place then no, this shouldn't of happened.


I've updated and my md5's all checkout correctly with the ones in the ISO directory...

so it's the same, probepart is still not executable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 03:49    Post subject:  

yes, that'd be correct. The /sbin/probepart isn't executable, even though I checked for that being it was an issue in lite-002. Regardless, it isn't, and I'm re-uploading...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 04:33    Post subject:  

Uh? Can't find it? Went to p.1, item 1, saw the redirect to 'News', saw the redirect to 'Links', looked through the Parent Directory. Is it me?! Yes! A hint might help, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 04:36    Post subject: carolina 004  

Sage wrote:
Uh? Can't find it? Went to p.1, item 1, saw the redirect to 'News', saw the redirect to 'Links', looked through the Parent Directory. Is it me?! Yes! A hint might help, though.


PLease wait for a while as the 004 had some minor accident and is being re-uploaded

thank you for your patience and continued patronage

have a good day
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 04:43    Post subject:  

elroy wrote:

Yeah, check to make sure that /sbin/probepart permission is set to be executable. I thought I did that, but maybe that's not the case.

You can do this from the terminal by entering
Code:
/sbin/probpart +x


If you got the delta from the 'testing' folder, then yes, that'd be the case. But if you downloaded the ISO/delta from the normal place then no, this shouldn't of happened.

elroy:
I entered the command u mentioned, Returns with the error "bash: /sbin/probpart: No such file or directory". I downloaded the ISO thn also checked the md5sum. Found correct. Facing the same problem.
Jpup:
I can open (create/delete folders etc..) my all partitions from thunar and can mount/unmount them without any problem. But I m still getting the same error.
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 04:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
Please wait for a while as the 004 had some minor accident and is being re-uploaded

Okey dokey, it's this accursed timezone confabulation. Stuff coming in from West Coast, Oz, etc, thought I'd cracked jet-lag decades ago. I'm guessing that el el. hails from my favourite State, but it would really help if everbody's nationhood were displayed by default. Poor chap probably labouring through the night whilst we are just waking up, whereas the Aussies are already having their supper...
Whatever - we are grateful - thanks!

Presume the 'accident' doesn't affect lina-lite 003 which is arriving as we speak?

Last edited by Sage on Wed 28 Nov 2012, 04:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 30 of 92 [1368 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, ..., 90, 91, 92 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1058s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0229s) ][ GZIP on ]