Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 16:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 4.3.8
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 99 of 122 [1820 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 18:10    Post subject:  

Dromeno
Stop music by pmusic -s stop
pMusic is separated in a backend and a frontend. - Backend works!

I am almost sure the problem is your gtkdialog.
What is the terminal output of
gtkdialog --version
and
gtkdialog5 --version


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 18:59    Post subject:  

New upload of 3.0.2
See main post

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3219
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 13:19    Post subject:  

Users would find it easier to install your programs
if you had a warning written in the pinstall script
so that a warning message about gtkdialog version appeared.



For instance here is a script I wrote to warn if version is not
greater than 0.7.21

Wouldn't it be easy to put a script like this in the pinstall script file?

Code:


for P in gtkdialog4 gtkdialog3 gtkdialog; do
GTKDIALOG=$(which $P) && break
done

function funcGTKDVGet() {
   GTKDV=( $($GTKDIALOG -v) )   
   GTKDV=${GTKDV[2]} 
   echo "Gtkdialog version: $GTKDV"
   GTKDV=( ${GTKDV//./ } )   
   if [ ${GTKDV[1]} -lt 10 ]; then GTKDV[1]=${GTKDV[1]}0; fi
   if [ ${GTKDV[2]} -lt 10 ]; then GTKDV[2]=0${GTKDV[2]}; fi
}; funcGTKDVGet

if [ ${GTKDV[1]}${GTKDV[2]} -lt "7021" ]; then
   xmessage "This application requires at least gtkdialog-0.7.21"
   exit

fi



I gave some suggestions here.
http://208.109.22.214/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80340&sid=434462b194afb2cc81adbf278265c8f0

____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 05:28    Post subject: stubborn old gtkdialog  

Thanks for your help so far

Yes, it is most likely a gtkdialog problem but how do I solve it? I have installed this new gtkdialog

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=662450#662450

and the new pmusic-3.0.2-1.pet

but still puppy uses the old gtkdialog.

see attached screenshot of package manager, pfind and the terminal
gtkdialogscreenshot.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  gtkdialogscreenshot.jpg 
Filesize  157.41 KB 
Downloaded  256 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 395
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 08:53    Post subject: Re: stubborn old gtkdialog  

Dromeno wrote:
I have installed this new gtkdialog
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=662450#662450
and the new pmusic-3.0.2-1.pet

but still puppy uses the old gtkdialog.

Good morning, Dromeno.

Perhaps the old gtkdialog is used because it is earlier in the path.

Copy the new gtkdialog to the earliest directory in the path, probably /usr/bin (after first renaming any gtkdialog which might be already there)

I did
Code:
env | grep  PATH

and among the results was
Quote:
PATH=/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11R7/bin:/root/my-applications/bin


And when I did
Code:
find / -name gtkdialog

the results were
Quote:
/usr/bin/gtkdialog
/usr/sbin/gtkdialog


Code:
/usr/sbin/gtkdialog  -v

gives
Quote:
gtkdialog version 0.7.21 (C) 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 by Laszlo Pere


while

Code:
 gtkdialog  -v

gives
Quote:
gtkdialog version 0.8.2 release (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 17:36    Post subject:  

Version 3.0.3
See main post

Changelog
- Add message to terminal if frontend fails to run.
- Bugfix: Allow gtkdialog executable to be a link rather than a file. Thanks to (Dromeno)
- Bugfix: Stop autoplayed music if frontend fails to run.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 17:37    Post subject:  

Dromeno
sheldonisaac is right, but please try 3.0.3 first. The best would be that pMusic itself fixes this....


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10942
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 22:37    Post subject:  

A few days ago I used Pmusic 3.0 to tag the mp3 files in an audio book that contained around 200 files. In previous versions of Pmusic, tagging would go through the files just once to do the job. In 3.0, it appeared to go through the tagging process twice, and got it wrong the first time. I re-entered the data and ran the tagging program again. Again it appeared to run through the files in the directory twice, but tagged them correctly that time.

The first time, I entered
Code:
exe:echo 'COUNT - 200'
in the Title window. Instead of tagging the first file '1 - 200' in the title, as it always had before 3.0, the title was '201 - 200'; the title of the second file was '202 - 200' and so on. After I ran the program again with the same input, the first track was '1 - 200' and so on.

Also, it would be very useful for the tagging window to show the metadata of the first file in the directory when the tagging window is opened with "Tag all tracks in source-list." I have to run
Code:
ffmpeg -i [file name.mp3]
from a console to be sure I see the metadata of an mp3 file now. That's how I knew Pmusic hadn't tagged the tracks right the first time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 04:44    Post subject:  

Dromeno
3.0.3 won't help you - my mind wasn't clear.

Please follow sheldonisaac's advice


Good luck
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 04:45    Post subject:  

Flash
Will check


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 06:07    Post subject: It Works!!!
Subject description: thanks loads and some suggestions
 

Suddenly everything works. Thanks all of you. gtkdialog --version still reports the old one but after a complete shutdown and reboot pMusic works. Only the equalizer not yet.

One more suggestion however: originally I wanted a working version of streamtuner2 then I was pointed to pMusic. They are similar in what they can do but streamtuner2 has a bigger selection of radio stations. (shoutcast, live365)

see the last screenshot here:

http://linux.softpedia.com/progScreenshots/streamtuner2-Screenshot-58812.html

is it difficult to add a button to those radio station repos?

also: a couple of years ago when I still only used windows there was a piece of software which enabled me to search for specific songs in a whole directory of radio stations. So it became possible to find the radio station which was streaming the song you were looking for, and then download it via streamripper.

I do not know of any proram which can do just that nowadays (and in linux) but it definately is on my wishlist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 12:08    Post subject:  

Dromeno
I have slowly put some code into a future 3.1.0 release, so suggestions are very welcome!

I don't fully understand your request of more radio stations.... pMusic has an index of about 11.000 radio stations. What are you missing? pMusic does not support wma-streams, but I don't think streamtuner can do that either. For what I know, that is a limitation in both streamripper and ffmpeg. But the luck is that most radio stations provide both wma and a supported alternative.

If your radio-stream is not in the index you can try play it by pasting the URL into the search-field and press enter.

When it comes to the wish of search for a specific song in indexed radio-stations, I think that is possible, BUT
--> searching 11.000 stations is to much. There had to be a way of narrowing the search.
--> I don't see the big deal, because when you find a station playing your favorite song, you most likely enter the stream in the middle of the song, and what is the reason to record that one?

Isn't it enough that all stations is categorized by genre.... ???


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 13:03    Post subject:  

Flash
I can't reproduce your error. It seems to work for me, or am I misunderstanding...


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5649
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 13:04    Post subject:  

Don570
Rather than a check in pinstall script, I have included a message in terminal if frontend won't load.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10942
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 13:22    Post subject:  

Sigmund: sorry, I meant from Music sources -> Tag all tracks in source list Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 99 of 122 [1820 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1210s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0324s) ][ GZIP on ]