Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 07:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Precise 5.4.1 No desktop icons
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Claude Lavoie

Joined: 21 Nov 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 13:05    Post_subject:  Precise 5.4.1 No desktop icons
Sub_title: All icons on desktop show an exclamation point
 

Installed Precise Puppy 5.4.1 on Thinkpad T23, 512 Mb RAM.

Everything seems to be fine, except that when finished, all icons (on desktop, in directories, etc.) are the same, namely an exclamation point on a roadsign.

It is like there are no icons on the machine, and all icons default to the same image.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 13:35    Post_subject:  

What kind of installation procedure - full or frugal?

Was this immediately after completing the installation or after you had installed some software?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Claude Lavoie

Joined: 21 Nov 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 14:54    Post_subject: Precise 5.4.1 No desktop icons  

Happened right after installation.
Nothing extra had been added.

CL
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Claude Lavoie

Joined: 21 Nov 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 14:58    Post_subject: Precise 5.4.1 No desktop icons  

A more complete answer :

- frugal installation (light encryption of personal file, password-protected);
- no icons right after installation;
- nothing else installed on top of standard installation.

I should mention :
when I save the file for the first time (upon shutting down after installation), I got a message saying that for the reason of a bug, the password to the file had to be reentered, which I did. Apart from that, everything seemed to go smoothly.
Thanks in advance, CL
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 15:04    Post_subject:  

Thanks. For a patch to try, read here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Claude Lavoie

Joined: 21 Nov 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 16:01    Post_subject:  

OK thank you. Will try it tonight.
CL
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Claude Lavoie

Joined: 21 Nov 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 23:47    Post_subject:  

Finally, reinstalled 5.2.8 on the machine.
Might be that I am not knowledgeable enough (and I did not have more time to find a solution).

Thank you very much John for your help, I appreciate.
Regards, CL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 10:29    Post_subject:  

It is possible that the Service Pack for Precise Puppy would have solved your problem:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00042

Install the Service Pack PET before doing the first shutdown.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Claude Lavoie

Joined: 21 Nov 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 21:01    Post_subject:  

Retro Precise 5.4 did the trick. Everything now works fine.

I should have tried Retro long before ...
I had an other old laptop : when I tried to install Precise 5.4.1 (not Retro), I had a message saying that it needed the non-PAE kernel.

On this second laptop (the subject of this thread), I had no message when installing 5.4.1; I therefore wrongly assumed to be right with non Retro 541.

John and Barry,
thank you again.

Claude Lavoie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0504s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]