Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 17:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 873
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 13:06    Post subject:  

Not sure if this is a woof bug or how you would track it down, but it happens with Precise 5.4.1 and also in the latest Slacko betas but not in 5.3.3 or Wary 5.3 or Lupu so I wondered if it has crept in recently.

If I compile the latest or previous Deadbeef it builds OK but when I run it it calls for an icon at /usr/deadbeef.png which is a very strange place for it to be hoping to find an icon. The build process does not install one there.

Without it there is no icon in the tray or icon in the taskbar button or top left of the GUI. Obviously I can copy an icon over there but it seems wrong to have to do that.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9108
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 14:42    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
If I compile the latest or previous Deadbeef it builds OK but when I run it it calls for an icon at /usr/deadbeef.png which is a very strange place for it to be hoping to find an icon. The build process does not install one there.

I could not duplicate this situation, but here was my test:

1. I built Deadbeef in the lastest Slacko and made a PET.
2. When I installed the PET, it did not register in the menus.
3. I fixed that by running "fixmenus" and "jwm -restart".
4. However, the menu entry in Multimedia was labeled Prev! The icon was correct.

[Edit] This problem has been resolved.

5. Clicking it worked correctly, including the entry in the system tray.

Quote:
it calls for an icon at /usr/deadbeef.png

Where are you seeing that message?

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:18; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 873
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:02    Post subject:  

Hello rcrsn51,

Thanks for responding to my post.

I do normally edit the .desktop file so it all displays in the menu fine. Maybe I am doing something wrong there but the same editing in the slightly earlier Puppies does not give this glitch.

The indication that it is looking for the icon file in the wrong location comes from running "deadbeef" in the terminal. After the lines about loading of the plugins I see:-

Code:
(deadbeef:21543): Gtk-WARNING **: Error loading icon from file '/usr/deadbeef.png':
Failed to open file '/usr/deadbeef.png': No such file or directory
connecting button tray signals

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9108
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:09    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
I do normally edit the .desktop file so it all displays in the menu fine. Maybe I am doing something wrong there but the same editing in the slightly earlier Puppies does not give this glitch.

Post your current .desktop file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:16    Post subject:  

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=665673#665673
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9108
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:18    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=665673#665673

My test build was with "--prefix=/usr" and there were no problems with the icon. My problem was with the label in the menu entry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
If I compile the latest or previous Deadbeef it builds OK but when I run it it calls for an icon at /usr/deadbeef.png which is a very strange place for it to be hoping to find an icon. The build process does not install one there.

Without it there is no icon in the tray or icon in the taskbar button or top left of the GUI. Obviously I can copy an icon over there but it seems wrong to have to do that.


I replied to this problem. And possible solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 873
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:03    Post subject:  

@ rcrsn51

Looking at the .desktop file as it gets produced by the complie I see that there is a load of clutter at the bottom about desktop shortcuts for Unity which has several "Name=" lines in it, one of which is "Name=Prev" so I guess the menu is picking up that line instead of "Name=DeaDBeef" which is at the top.

I just delete all those lines anyway.

Do we need the long "MimeType=...." line?

I just use:-

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=DeaDBeef
GenericName=Audio Player
Comment=deadbeef
Exec=deadbeef
Categories=AudioVideo
Terminal=false
Type=application
Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/deadbeef.png



Should I be adding something else?

The issue of installing .pets not running fixmenus is discussed elsewhere I think. Not sure why the icon path thing is working for you, looks like your icon cache is updated somehow or you are doing something which I am overlooking.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3287
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:36    Post subject:  

I don't know if it makes any difference but Barry k has made a
change in petget application. He uses 'jwm -reload' to reform the menu.

Code:

 JWMVER=`jwm -v|head -n1|cut -d ' ' -f2|cut -d - -f2`
 if vercmp $JWMVER lt 574;then # change from 547 to 574.
   jwm -restart
  else
   jwm -reload
  fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:14    Post subject:  

I do not think so.
# jwm --version
JWM vsvn-574 by Joe Wingbermuehle

This version of JWM supports -reload which means that there is no more flickering when you update menu.

I think that recent woof fixes many DOTdesktop problems. It did for me. I upload soon new woof build.

Last edited by pemasu on Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9108
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:15    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
one of which is "Name=Prev" so I guess the menu is picking up that line instead of "Name=DeaDBeef" which is at the top.

That solves that problem! Thanks.

However, I still cannot reproduce your problem with the icons. I have a vanilla build of deadbeef-0.5.6 in a frugal install of Slacko 5337. I can either use the original "Icon=deadbeef.png" or your full "Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/deadbeef.png". Either way, it works correctly.

I tried to reproduce your problem in Precise 541, but I couldn't get deadbeef to compile. There were problems with "ConvertUTF" that I couldn't resolve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:22    Post subject:  

Quote:
There were problems with "ConvertUTF" that I couldn't resolve.


Check ./configure verbose reports. I suppose you see that you have something like check for liconv.......no

It means you need iconv.h development header and maybe some others, like libcharset.h. I compiled libiconv in dpup for deadbeef compiling.

OscarTalks could tell how he did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 873
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 19:00    Post subject:  

I compiled Deadbeef 0.5.6 twice just now in Slacko 5377 but running live with fresh save-file in USB flash drive formatted ext2 and I never get the icon found unless I run the gtk icon cache update. I'm pretty sure it is something that happens within the build of the binary and not anything to do with the .desktop file.

(EDIT - Just experimenting with configure options and flags and looks like I may have it working now)

In Precise 541 (as with Lupu) I have to compile and install libiconv first otherwise Deadbeef won't compile (though I think the configure script runs to completion and the error only shows up during make).

Unfortunately there is still one small problem (in Precise) which is that the mms plugin shows a symbol error or something which relates to libiconv and I haven't been able to solve that. Pity because that is one plugin which I would like to have working (for wma streams). There are others which I don't think I would ever need.

_________________
Oscar in England


Last edited by OscarTalks on Mon 19 Nov 2012, 19:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 19:51    Post subject:  

Load devx sfs, copy to the safe /usr/include/iconv.h
It has been provided by glic_dev
Install your libiconv stuff. Copy back that iconv.h over the one installed by your libiconv package.

It might even work. No symbol errors at least when you use the headers from precise pangolin iconv.h.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9108
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 20:40    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
I compiled Deadbeef 0.5.6 twice just now in Slacko 5377 but running live with fresh save-file in USB flash drive formatted ext2 and I never get the icon found unless I run the gtk icon cache update. I'm pretty sure it is something that happens within the build of the binary and not anything to do with the .desktop file.


That's not my experience.

1. I finally built deadbeef in Precise. Initially, while in PUPMODE=5, I saw the icons problem. But once I made a savefile and ran fixmenus, it went away. Everything was correct.

[Edit] I went back to Precise with the devx unloaded. It also worked correctly in PUPMODE=5 after fixmenus.

2. I then ran Slacko 5377 in PUPMODE=5 and loaded the Precise deadbeef PET. The icons were fine, as was the menu after I fixed it. It was still correct after I made a savefile.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Tue 20 Nov 2012, 00:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1136s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0223s) ][ GZIP on ]