Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 14:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
'lina-lite - version 005
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 549
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 01:15    Post_subject:  

Pupsaveconfig isn't giving me the save interval option like it did in Carolina or Saluki.
PupSave-Lite.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.56 KB
 Viewed   1218 Time(s)

PupSave-Lite.png

PupSave-Carolina.png
 Description   
 Filesize   28.59 KB
 Viewed   1212 Time(s)

PupSave-Carolina.png


_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 01:51    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:
Pupsaveconfig isn't giving me the save interval option like it did in Carolina or Saluki.


If you'll notice, the version numbers are different. Carolina-003 upgraded the PupSaveConfig to the latest version (at that time). However, since then Shinobar has posted that v.2.2.4 had a bug and has since released v.2.2.5. If you prefer the 2.2.2 version, you can download the pet here. However, you may want to try the v.2.2.5 as it works much the same as v.2.2.2. It'll be included in Carolina-004 when the time comes if a newer version isn't available by then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 549
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 02:14    Post_subject:  

Ya, I knew they were different versions. In Saluki or Carolina is doesn't matter which version, it gives me the interval option. In lite, no matter which version it doesn't.

Edit:

Boot without save file. Install v2.2.2, make save file. Reboot, no interval option.

Boot without save file. Install v2.2.5, make save file. Reboot, no interval option.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1435
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 04:39    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:
Ya, I knew they were different versions. In Saluki or Carolina is doesn't matter which version, it gives me the interval option. In lite, no matter which version it doesn't.

Edit:

Boot without save file. Install v2.2.2, make save file. Reboot, no interval option.

Boot without save file. Install v2.2.5, make save file. Reboot, no interval option.


It's working for me in Carolina003 on usb, sounds as if it don't know what mode it's running in

this gives me mode 13

Code:
PUPMODE=`cat /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE |head -n 1|cut -f2 -d=`;echo $PUPMODE

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 549
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 05:01    Post_subject:  

Thanks Geoffrey, it's was in mode 12. I'm using a sata frugal install, I changed isolinux.cfg to pmedia=ataflash and it's working now.
_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 350
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 11:52    Post_subject: xfce4-panel-mounter  

I added CD support to the rules. In order to do so I had to create a script, cddetect_xfce and run it from the rules. Put it in /sbin with the other cddetect scripts. Data cds only shown on the panel mounter. Pet attached for testing (this is the lite and wild side). It has the rules for both USB and CD.

Edited: Runs ok on my remastered Saluki023 also. It would be interesting to see how it does on Grays latest xfce4.10 NOP. I'll try that eventually but it means retrieving my sole PAE laptop. Back up first or just ignore the nag about overwriting existing 60-fstabd.rules. No changes made to pmount, desktop mount, or thunar, only to fstab filling used by the xfce4 panel mount plugin.

Edited: No go with Precise based NOP. fstab and fstab support gone in Precise, so xfce panel mount shows only devices mounted via desktop or pmount. Pretty quick look and back to the OK corral.

Edited: updated to version 002. More reliable creation of /mnt/sr?

Edited: Implemented as pure UDEV rules, no script, same action. Arrached below.

Edited: Pure rules now version 004. same action as 003.
UDEVrules_xfcemounter.pet
Description  Version 004. Same CD and USB support. Cleaner in that everything is within the UDEV rules. No cddetect_xfce script
pet

 Download 
Filename  UDEVrules_xfcemounter.pet 
Filesize  638 Bytes 
Downloaded  367 Time(s) 
cddetect_xfce.pet
Description  Version 002, CD and USB support for xfce4.10 panel mounter. Tested in 'lina=001 and Saluki023.
pet

 Download 
Filename  cddetect_xfce.pet 
Filesize  735 Bytes 
Downloaded  383 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2012, 00:23    Post_subject:  

I've updated the lina_xfce-4.10.pet in the repo with this. It certainly works better than the rule-set that was included. It may not be perfect as of yet, but it is progress. Also, with the update, when building a new adrive via the custom-builder, the panel mount plugin should now display no error, and allow mounting as well as un-mounting. I've also added a re-compiled notifyd, so that notifications should be working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 350
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2012, 00:34    Post_subject:  

I'm done now. Had a lot of chilling out time with the dermatologists so... Version 002 and 003 should work identically. In one sense 003 is simpler as no extra script is needed, but it galled me to have to put cd detection routines in the rules in 003 but NO udev attributes distinguish disk/nodisk/data/audio and it's not friendly passing variables. UGH

Nice to be be back to Saluki/Carolina land after my brief visit to Precise, even a Grayed Precise. Polished!

PS. on blacklisting filesystems in the panel mounter, It won't do wildcards so the list has to be /dev/fd0 /dev/loop0 /dev/loop1 . .. up to loop5 for me.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 549
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2012, 07:46    Post_subject:  

Gvfs-smb seem to break something in thunar. After install and restart x, thunar takes over 20 seconds to open and network is missing from the side pane. Using go>network from the menu bar gives network error. After uninstall thunar remains broken, back up your save file first if you try it.

Gvfs-smb works in carolina-003 though, which I am assuming is using the same lina_xfce-4.10.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 350
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 16:37    Post_subject: Main menu  

Noticed that Run Program... shows up both in the system menu body and in the Utilities menu. In my case I don't use either so I appended NoDisplay=true to the end of BOTH Run Program... desktop files in /usr/share/applications to hide them. Also moved Save to the main menu body since I run with an iconless desktop. Small'tings

And a big HURRAH for the non-nested main menu in 'lina vs the 'traditional' pup menu in precise etc. Can't think of anything offhand I can't get to faster with it.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 17:24    Post_subject:  

Hello elroy and Geoffrey,

Nice job in 'lina lite. I thought I'd give it a spin on my compaq-cq-60, intel cantiga graphics and it performs well from an USB install.

I didn't find a text editor.. (oh, you have MP) but I just think Leafpad would be a nice touch, or even MP with gtk. Of course I realise your goal is minimum apps so a user can customise. I guess you can ignore my request at will!

Just a slight OT, can you point me to the latest frisbee package you use please?

Thanks.
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   244.85 KB
 Viewed   757 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1435
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 18:33    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:

can you point me to the latest frisbee package you use please?

Thanks.


Hi 01micko,

Glad you like it, elroy will be pleased, I haven't even tried the lite myself yet Embarassed

the frisbee used is http://smokey01.com/carolina/pet_packages-carolina/Frisbee-beta-4.pet

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 350
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 16:21    Post_subject: More panelmounter  

To be able to mount internal drives using the panel mounter that have not previously been mounted via thunar/desktop using pup-volume-monitor. use the following as the custom mount command in the xfce panel mounter:

Code:
sh -c '[ ! -d %m ] && mkdir -p %m ; mount %d'


Just creates a mountpoint. As with pup-volume-monitor, once created they are persistent until reboot.

As an aside, elroy, A reinstall of xfce4.10 using the lina version didn't get me thumbnails. I then installed xfce-4.10-i486 and had thumbnails. I uninstalled it (seemed completely stripped using terminal to look) and then reinstalled using lina_xfce-4.10 from the repository. Had backed my panel configuration and it came back correctly. I now have thumbnails. I infer from this that a clean install of the lina version works.

Edited: OOPS. Didn't survive a reboot. Back to nothumbnails.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 350
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 21:31    Post_subject: rules.d location in lina_xfce-4.10.pet  

elroy, I was comparing this pet with the i486 one wrt thunar icons and noticed that the rules.d directory is directly in /etc. It should be /etc/udev/rules.d/60-fstabd.rules. Pure udev rules updated to version 004 in above attachment. All versions work the same.
_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 01:41    Post_subject: Re: More panelmounter  

Marv wrote:
To be able to mount internal drives using the panel mounter that have not previously been mounted via thunar/desktop using pup-volume-monitor. use the following as the custom mount command in the xfce panel mounter:

Code:
sh -c '[ ! -d %m ] && mkdir -p %m ; mount %d'


Just creates a mountpoint. As with pup-volume-monitor, once created they are persistent until reboot.

As an aside, elroy, A reinstall of xfce4.10 using the lina version didn't get me thumbnails. I then installed xfce-4.10-i486 and had thumbnails. I uninstalled it (seemed completely stripped using terminal to look) and then reinstalled using lina_xfce-4.10 from the repository. Had backed my panel configuration and it came back correctly. I now have thumbnails. I infer from this that a clean install of the lina version works.

Edited: OOPS. Didn't survive a reboot. Back to nothumbnails.


Very good stuff as always, Marv, but I have to ask...what lite version are you running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1005s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]