Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 12:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 24 of 99 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 12:10    Post_subject:  

You're the boss!
If you decide to go ahead with lite, non-pae, it would be worthwhile your effort to lighten it as far as possible, accompanied by an explanatory start-up page (text is an inconsequential resource requirement).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 12:24    Post_subject: Full or light version  

....."... one for the current carolina that provides a usable OOTB experience (and Puppy introductory distro) intended for new users, and the other that is the lite version...."

Just a vote for a complete version, more complete the better! Yes, I know it is big. Many folks have high speed internet and do not want to download a lot of extra. Most newer machines have tons of memory so that is not an issue either. If it is not to difficult to have both Lite and Full versions. I think this is most desirable. Wide range of users of Puppy!

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
okwellthen

Joined: 26 Oct 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 23:15    Post_subject: adjust backlight - is there any way  

...noob question: is there a utility for adjusting backlighting (dimming) like you can in heavy weight distros????



thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 23:37    Post_subject: Re: adjust backlight - is there any way  

okwellthen wrote:
...is there a utility for adjusting backlighting (dimming)
like you can in heavy weight distros????


Right click on the power icon in the lower right hand corner of the screen (depending on your setting, it'll either be a red, yellow or blue lightning bolt). In the popup that displays choose 'Hardware Control'. A dialog will show, and one of the tabs is 'Backlight'. From there you can adjust the setting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
okwellthen

Joined: 26 Oct 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 23:52    Post_subject: Re: adjust backlight - is there any way  

elroy wrote:
Right click on the power icon in the lower right hand corner of the screen (depending on your setting, it'll either be a red, yellow or blue lightning bolt). In the popup that displays choose 'Hardware Control'. A dialog will show, and one of the tabs is 'Backlight'. From there you can adjust the setting.


! very kind of you to answer, and so soon ! VERY EXCITED about that...


ONE MORE: [looking for pup that is very stable, decently configurable, for full time use] What kind of memory consumption with PAE should I be looking forward to (with Wine and VBox in mind)????

THANKS VERY MUCH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2012, 09:48    Post_subject: Version 0.0.3 is available  

Carolina-0.0.3 is now available. See the first post on this thread for details, in the 'News' section, and download from 'Links'. If you already have an ISO of 002, Geoffrey has provided a tutorial for using the Xdelta utility to create the 003 ISO from the delta file. The delta file is a considerably smaller download than the ISO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2012, 11:04    Post_subject: Desktop  

Puppy is a HAPPY, well designed and FUN OS!

How about a more upbeat desktop to greet a new user. The picture of night and full moon is very nice. But not as an advertisement for PUPPY.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2012, 14:21    Post_subject:  

when you drag a menu item to the desktop... it removes the item from the menu... as i recall... this happened on an earlier version of Saluki, too... but, was eventually fixed... OVERALL, Carolina 003 works quite well for me... THANKS AGAIN for a job well done...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2012, 14:47    Post_subject: Carolina
Sub_title: carolina 003 on hp desktop pc
 

Manual frugal install to hard drive.

Carolina, version 003 on Sat 10 Nov 2012
Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
nVidia Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 220] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GT216 Board - 0682vb12 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (411x263 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 220/PCIe/SSE2
Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 304.64
Direct Rendering Yes
Computer
Processor 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz
Memory 4146MB (410MB used)

I had this set up on a pc which had intel graphics and could only get
vesa for a driver, that was okay for a lot of things but not my
favorite shoot'em up games.
I copied the carolina 003 directory to a flash drive and then copied
to the hard drive on this pc and installed the nvidia driver, it's
working good now Smile
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.9 KB
 Viewed   937 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2012, 00:41    Post_subject:  

'lina-lite-001 has been released. It now has it's own thread on the Puppy Derivatives forum. Carolina will be for newer users looking for a great OOTB experience, while 'lina-lite will be for power-users that want to tinker and customize as much as possible. Please direct any subject matter concerning the lite version on it's thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2012, 02:17    Post_subject:  

Hi guys...

Thanks for the new releases

Got the standard lina 003 already loaded... been testing it since yesterday... no real troubles yet Very Happy

Works great... I like the new changes, the mixer slider, the new panel plugins Very Happy

weather update looks a lot better now Very Happy

I think the new panel features really suit my desktop setup style Very Happy

But what happened to the desktop notifications? they don't seem to have an entry in the control panel anymore... no notification pop ups either.

wireless works well, but I still have the same troubles with frisbee not being able to switch active interfaces, and the failed to set SSID error, since I also use an external usb wireless card (RTL8187).
SNS works well so far, no browsing issues.

Bluetooth works fine, had to install gnome bluetooth along with needed packages. ACPI tool hardware control is set to AIRPLANE mode whenever you turn bluetooth off... is that the normal behavior? Because sometimes airplane mode also blocks the wifi interfaces.

I get the same behavior with the networking ICON on the notification panel area like in 002... It selects whatever automatically when you right click... so you need to right click and hold to move through the menu entries.
right clicking with frisbee seems to work fine though.

Exit to prompt still gives me a black screen just like with lina 002 (gets fixed after installing ATI drivers), ATI - X conflict?

Panel sensor plugin doesn't seem to work... it says no sensors selected on the tooltip.
It doesn't give an option to select the sensors to display. it just shows acpi as sensor type in the preferences, but doesn't give you actual sensors to select with tick boxes.
On terminal... sensors seem to work fine though.


I'll also try and play with the light version later

Thank you guys Very Happy



by the way... is there an app for HOT CORNERS workspace/windows switching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 01:38    Post_subject: carolina 003  

had a hard time installing my ATI drivers on lina 003

I keep getting extraction errors... I had to import a save file that came from lina 002 which had my ATI drivers preloaded.

my desktop also gets misaligned whenever I restart x windows or get back from the prompt on lina 003 without the drivers.

Having the drivers installed and loaded seems to remedy those issues.

Its the same situation with the lina lite version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 350
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 01:50    Post_subject: desktop notifications  

Quote:
But what happened to the desktop notifications? they don't seem to have an entry in the control panel anymore... no notification pop ups either.


Try reinstalling xfxe4-notifyd from the repo. It should then show up in the control panel and notifications work. See my post in the Lite thread.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpup


Joined: 01 Nov 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 02:00    Post_subject: Re: desktop notifications  

Marv wrote:
Quote:
But what happened to the desktop notifications? they don't seem to have an entry in the control panel anymore... no notification pop ups either.


Try reinstalling xfxe4-notifyd from the repo. It should then show up in the control panel and notifications work. See my post in the Lite thread.


thanks Marv... yeah I just saw your post on the other thread

having no notifications can leave the user in the dark... I had to fiddle just to know whether I was already connected to wifi, etc.

I just hope I wont get any conflicts with software and other components since the savefile I'm using now came from a 002 setup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linux

Joined: 09 Oct 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 08:05    Post_subject:  

003 Working well so far. Thanks for including the firewall setup on start-up, I have also added the Firewall Status to my setup http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=57725 I also changed the single click on the Icons to a double, just my personal preference.I have also added Gimp and Audacity to my setup which then gives me a nice Windows alternative.

Having 2 versions of Carolina is a great idea, you then get the best of both worlds.

Thanks to all involved for another great job
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 24 of 99 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1009s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0194s) ][ GZIP on ]